Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Predictions For Cork

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Can't see us losing to ye lot lads, sorry.
    Whatever about Healy and Farrelly (fingers crossed), 45 minutes of John O'Flynn should do the job.
    2-1 City.
    Wow. Thank you Risteard for having the confidence in GUFC to score a goal at Turners Cross. Now all we have to do is stop ye scoring. Simple?

Nobody knows us, we don't care

75 Posts

I think if Gary is back we could easily get a result.Friday night was a wke up call for everyone especially the players so expect a battling performance on friday night.

Funny game soccer waterford manager is dreaming of Europe while half our fans are getting ready to commit Hari Kari.

Lets hope we are loud and proud on friday night and remember lads that Cork are very strict on Alcohol as we know from our last visit down there.

Disagree with Saigon - Thought Pats were full value for the win. Kirby & O'Neill were brilliant - Pats look the real deal.

Expect O'Flynn to start and a torrid night for Reggie.

Drogheda are getting terrible stick on the other boards for their boring outings so far - no doubt they're relying on Friday week to "get their season started"
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    I think if Gary is back we could easily get a result.Friday night was a wke up call for everyone especially the players so expect a battling performance on friday night.

Funny game soccer waterford manager is dreaming of Europe while half our fans are getting ready to commit Hari Kari.

Lets hope we are loud and proud on friday night and remember lads that Cork are very strict on Alcohol as we know from our last visit down there.
    cup replay win for cork a couple of seasons ago still sticks in my throat a bit and we will get revenge one day so why not friday as they are off to a mingin start to the season.
    agreed reilly had a mare against sligo but nobody really played well. murphy maybe and wesley got pass marks so i think the players will have somrthing to prove to cousins and gufc fans.
    gutted im not going to make it to the match as am in kinsale for a wedding where i know there will be a big crowd of cork fans. will find a tv to see most of the match though and predict 1-1 but hoping for 1-0.
    cant see cousins making too many changes as im sure the pre season was all about getting his best 11 and i cant see him changing it so early in the season

Quote Originally Posted by scotsbeer View Post
    hoping for 1-0.
    Sorry for being a pedantic Pat but dont you mean 0-1 Scotsbeer!!!!!
    I'm not sure how to call it neither team has had a great start City are sure to be favourites as they were in Waterford but a lot of teams have had poor starts so hopefully we can at least put in a good performace. Any one have any money on this match yet any odds?
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Looking forward to this game, many of ye coming down?

Difficult one to predict with so many variables. City have a new defence that will take time to gel and our midfield is lacking if the new boys don't get clearance from FIFA...
    Still O'Flynn coming back is bad news for ye, he was probably the best City player in Waterford for his 15 min cameo and won MOTM at the Cross ( ) for a similar amount of time. If he can put in 60 min and O'Donovan cops himself on then your defenders will be in for a hairy time ...

However they might not get any service until the last 10 minutes

Anyway, enjoy the game and I really hope ye're gracious in defeat

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    Sorry for being a pedantic Pat but dont you mean 0-1 Scotsbeer!!!!!
    I'm not sure how to call it neither team has had a great start City are sure to be favourites as they were in Waterford but a lot of teams have had poor starts so hopefully we can at least put in a good performace. Any one have any money on this match yet any odds?
    aye.. 0-1 with united scoring first !!!!!

dont think sligo were that good - and they bet us 2-0 - if tony sticks out the same team - against an experienced cork side at home - we will lose 2-0
    more water!

Gough/Rogers
    Reggi
    James Billy Wes McKenna
    O'Flynn Murphs Lester O'Brien
    Armstrong

O'Flynn has played on wing for Derry.Need his Experience in Cork.
    McKenna is a gamble but can't be any worse than O'Reilly.
    If it doesn't work,Cork are that bad or they feel very lucky, Reggi can go to rb, James to mid &
    Murphs or O'Flynn can go up front.
    Is Gamble suspended for this game? Straigh red in Setanta cup game.

Then that means a Setanta Cup suspension surely.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

FAO gufct,

is gary back?i thought he was not allowed play till June but you said he might be back.was just wondering have utd appealed it or something and are awaiting a reply???

75 Posts
    The FAI are appealing the ruling today in switzerland rather than ignoring it like the finnish league. Seems an absolutely crazy rule what with stupid transfer windows and freedom of contract. Mr. Bosman has a lot to answer for.

I'd like to see Tony try a 3-5-2 something like this:
    ------------------------Rogers---------------------------
    ----------- Billy---------Wes--------Regi---------
    -----Derek ---Murphs-----Foley-----Lester------Tracey
    --------------- O'Flynn--------Armstrong---------------------

We'd be banking on Derek and Tracey doing a bit of defending but having the two big lads up front would make us dangerous on the break. I'm staying confident I'll go for a 0-1 United win. COME ON UNITED!
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 14/03/2007 at 8:47 AM.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

46 Posts
    Some intrestings odds on Cork game
    Utd to win 15/2
    game to be draw 11/4
    Utd to win half time / full time 14/1
    1 nil win for utd is 14/1
    2 nil win for utd is 40/1

personaly I think 1 nil is a great bet worth a small punt

5 eway on united to win 1-0 !!

Quote Originally Posted by scotsbeer View Post
    5 eway on united to win 1-0 !!
    each way??....
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I'd go for the draw.

Gary will not be back this week.

it turns out that the FAI wont be meeting U.E.F.A about the 3 club rule till the 21st/22nd(next week) and a decision might not be made till the following week.so it looks like we will be without him for another 2 weeks at least.
    this is more shoddy leadership being displayed by the FAI,they should have really pushed for a decision to be made this week or at least for a meeting(specifically about the rule) to take place.
    more evidence for my vote of no-confidence in them.

is it true united lost 1-0 to salthill devon last nite in a friendly played at shiven rovers ground!thats what i heard,it could be bull,if not it's going to be one long season if we can't even beat a junior side!
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

123 Posts
    yip thats true

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast