Thread: Sligo 1 - Galway 1

Sligo 1 - Galway 1

Sligo Rovers 1-1 Galway United
    Bragging rights were shared as Colin Fortune’s second half goal earned Galway a share of the spoils against Sligo Rovers at the Showgrounds.

Sligo took the lead with a fine individual goal from Sean Flannery when he fired home from distance.

Galway pressed to get back into the match and Eric Lavine failed to make the most of a chance from the edge of the box. The visitors’ chances improved shortly afterwards when Sligo lost Paul McTiernan after the striker received a straight red card.

However, Galway lost that advantage 12 minutes into the second half as Nigel Keady was red carded.

The equalising goal came shortly afterwards when Fortune finished to the net to earn the visitors a share of the points.

Sligo - O’Hara, Cretaro (Curran 89), Low, MacNamara, Burns, O’Grady, Foley (Feeney 78), Kudozovic (Brown 66), Flannery, Tiernan, McCann.

Galway United - Gough, Keady, Casey, Cleary, Keane, Crawley, O’Reilly, Fortune, Devine, O’Dowd (Goldbey 81), O’Brien
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

I heard the stewards were an absolute disgrace and the Sligo fans never sang at all not 1 song. At the end of the day I think we need to take the positives out of the game as Sligo are an excelent side and all we really expected was a draw as Sligo are top of the league and we have suffered a VERY dissapointing season. This club needs a revamp

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron GUFC
    I heard the stewards were an absolute disgrace and the Sligo fans never sang at all not 1 song. At the end of the day I think we need to take the positives out of the game as Sligo are an excelent side and all we really expected was a draw as Sligo are top of the league and we have suffered a VERY dissapointing season. This club needs a revamp
    Sligo are not an excellent side and are by no means home and dry.We could have won yesterday but a draw was a fair result.The players showd no lack of passion either

Europe's Big Club.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Sligo are not an excellent side and are by no means home and dry.We could have won yesterday but a draw was a fair result.The players showd no lack of passion either
    In all fairness if it had of been Sligos day they could of hammered us ffs we lost 3-0 in Terryland to bloody Dundalk and Conor u have to agree it has been a majorley dissapointing season, just look how much the attendance has dropped.

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron GUFC
    In all fairness if it had of been Sligos day they could of hammered us ffs we lost 3-0 in Terryland to bloody Dundalk and Conor u have to agree it has been a majorley dissapointing season, just look how much the attendance has dropped.
    Ya but in all fairness to you Aoran Sligo haven't won many games of late and we should have net them in Terryland and possibly last night too.It has been a dissapointing season but that doesn't mean if Sligo were good they would have hammered us.We matched them all through out the pitch last night.

Europe's Big Club.

No ye didnt.we were all over ye pressing for a second til McT got sent off and that changed the game in your favour.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    No ye didnt.we were all over ye pressing for a second til McT got sent off and that changed the game in your favour.
    Mct got sent off just before half time ...we dominated the second half bar one or two scares.Lavine should have scored with that header.

Europe's Big Club.

sure post it somewhere else aswell Vinny

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    At the end of the day Conor, after 4 attempts of trying, ye failed in all, against a "poor Sligo side"

Whos Oliver Davey? Is that the steward with the beard? I heard one person is considering pressing charges against him

I wouldn't bother ...

... pressing charges, being assaulted or attacked in the Showgrounds is par for the course.

The first time I have ever seen an Event Controller kick and punch away supporters. God help Sligo Rovers when (if ?) they get to the Premier. If Davey had attacked Rovers or Bohs fans, he'd probably be in intensive care now.

The less said about this nasty incident, the better.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    being assaulted or attacked in the Showgrounds is par for the course.

thats a very unfair statement.

Quote Originally Posted by Vinny
    not after some sligo morons broke the window of our bus
    It's still unfair. For every 1 bad Rovers fan, there's probably 200 good ones. If ye did something like that, would it be fair to call all Galway fans scumbags?

Sorry lads

but in the last two years we've had windows smashed on our bus and have been assaulted by your event controller.

The vast majority of Sligo Rovers supporters are extremely sound, salt of the earth Irish football people.

However, there is a certain element at the Showgrounds that cannot handle the fact that sometimes the opposition may not loose the game. Their reaction is to attack (verbally or physically) their supporters.

Its not good enough. Your event controller can't punch and kick away supporters. If the event controller at Tolka Park had done the same (for example) there would have been a riot, the FAI would have fined Shelbourne heavily and criminal charges would have followed.

If the same thing happened in Terryland, I would personally ensure, as would others, that the individual involved would be removed from his post. Its no wonder that there is zero away support in the First Division !

I would prefer if SRFC dealt with this issue themselves. You are a "proper" football club, unlike many in the division. Its a shame you allow an element within your club enable outsiders label you scumbags. But you can't blame us.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    but in the last two years we've had windows smashed on our bus and have been assaulted by your event controller.

The vast majority of Sligo Rovers supporters are extremely sound, salt of the earth Irish football people.

However, there is a certain element at the Showgrounds that cannot handle the fact that sometimes the opposition may not loose the game. Their reaction is to attack (verbally or physically) their supporters.

Its not good enough. Your event controller can't punch and kick away supporters. If the event controller at Tolka Park had done the same (for example) there would have been a riot, the FAI would have fined Shelbourne heavily and criminal charges would have followed.

If the same thing happened in Terryland, I would personally ensure, as would others, that the individual involved would be removed from his post. Its no wonder that there is zero away support in the First Division !

I would prefer if SRFC dealt with this issue themselves. You are a "proper" football club, unlike many in the division. Its a shame you allow an element within your club enable outsiders label you scumbags. But you can't blame us.
    Well said Pd.

Europe's Big Club.

Quote Originally Posted by Vinny
    Terry, Oliver Davey is a scumbag steward and i saw a picture of him in the sligo program, hes about 50-60 years old, he's fat and looks like santa claus, Terry i wouldn't disagree with pressing charges against him he assaulted Galway United fans and from the sounds of it Sligo fans don't like him either, i hope the eircom league representative saw it and some action will be taken against him or Sligo.
    LOL santa claus beats up ppl and hes a scumbag thats pro tbh hahaha

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post

Just want to bring back this post as last night a few Galway scumbags(about 16yrs old) "challenged" our fans at the bus after the game(Conor H will vouch for this). They tried starting a fight with a few young fellas on our bus and then ran off. Then they came back firing stones at the bus. They were then chased away.

I know the majority of Galway fans are grand and cause no trouble but we're not the only ones who have scumbags going to our games.
    Last edited by sligoman; 10/03/2007 at 5:03 PM.

The same morons were those involved in my wallet theft and all the other trouble in Section A last year.

It's only a matter of time before they're barred or better still given a slap!

Europe's Big Club.

theres a serios problem with under 16's coming to terryland,going to section A and just causing trouble-there was numerus teens drinking in section A last night-there not real supporters they dont even sing!
    Yes you can have my autograph

Quote Originally Posted by galway-united5 View Post
    theres a serios problem with under 16's coming to terryland,going to section A and just causing trouble-there was numerus teens drinking in section A last night-there not real supporters they dont even sing!
    ya there awful little sh*ts, they make ya feel like a paedophile been up section A because theres only 20+ over 18yrs of age!. they be walking around talking not even watching the match!.

sure saw one ask the galway united page on bebo was 16 now not 10... ''will a season ticket get you into an all ticket game??''.... i rest my case
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D