Thread: 2-2

48 Posts

2-2

Well, I'm just back from the game.

We played neat stuff for the first 60 minutes or so, then the team lost their composure and Shels outplayed us in midfield for the last 20 minutes or so. Overall I think a draw is a fair score. We were a shambles for the last 20 mins and paid the price.

Gary Walsh looked the works down the right wing, while Amond and Gorman played well - with Gorman getting injured early in the second half.

Overall an encouraging display against a Shels squad that I can see challenging this year.

We have to improve at defending crosses and Dean Barrett has to improve a lot on that performance - they are the negative aspects!

Sad to see some crap carry-on at the game. Austin was sculled with a coin it seems, whilst a pint glass was flung onto the pitch at a County player - the fourth official picked it up.

A football was also thrown in a County players face by a Shels schooligan as he went to collect it to take a throw.

Shels can expect a few fines on their way I'd say, which is a pity. Don't see why some of their fans carry so much aggro...

Decent enough crowd too.

Roll on Mons.

230 Posts
    Good away result I suppose. Thanks for the report.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

You Forgot to mention there was a glass thrown onto the pitch too....

I was happy with the 1st half performance, 2nd half we were to laid back and let them attack us and come the end we were really looking to concede.
    Cmon County!

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    We could have/ should have picked up the three points sooooo close but happy to get something on the league board.

Great performance in the first half, Philly Gorman got injured in the second and our attack just appeared to loose the edge and we let them dominate.

Some of the lads looked devastated at the end. Hope Gorman is back for the Magic Mons.
    Everyone needs something to believe in, I believe I'll have another beer.

48 Posts
    And I knew McKenna would score.

Just typical!!

I keep thinking about that, I laugh, then I cry, then I laugh again.

So so close to three points....

I see Cooling scored for Waterfrod tonight as well and Wexford Youths pulled out a draw against the Mons

48 Posts
    Yea Cooling off to a flyer.

Good for him.

We've got our Walshy to replace him

Yeah ture enough Walsh was very good, L'estrange, Donnelly and Amond had good games as well. O'Neill pulled an excellent save in the second half still not sure what to think of him or Barret yet to be honest.

Looking forward to seeing the new signing and Cronin in action.

48 Posts
    Cronin will be class when he gets up to the pace of things. He's too used to US soccer right now.

Crowd attendance tonight was 1572 very good for Division One. I hope they bring that many to Station Road. Was nice to see a good County support out as well.

Apologies for the behaviour of the schooligans. An absolute embarrassment. I thought they'd have ****ed off and died after our relegation but absolutely no luck on that front. You played well for the first 70 minutes or so tonight guys. We could have knicked it in the end though. See you in Station Road

48 Posts
    Yea I hope you sort those schooligans out. Created an intimidating atmosphere for a few of our young fans and also sculled our keeper....

Your real fans were dead sound though, very friendly.

You played superb near the end. Good luck for the season see yas at Station Road. You guys will have your own stand for it!

Quote Originally Posted by Philly View Post
    A football was also thrown in a County players face by a Shels schooligan as he went to collect it to take a throw.
    (i) It didn't hit him in the face

(ii) The chap who threw it is not a skoolie

(iii) It was one of the funniest incidents I have ever seen at an eL ground in fact!

As said above you lot played well for the hour or so and then seemed to run out of steam. Looking forward to the away game, the pubs better be ready for us
    Who Cares?!

48 Posts
    Newbridge has one pub for every 0.5 people. You'll have plenty of options

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post

(iii) It was one of the funniest incidents I have ever seen at an eL ground in fact!

As said above you lot played well for the hour or so and then seemed to run out of steam. Looking forward to the away game, the pubs better be ready for us
    Your easily amused.

The funniest thing I ever saw in an eircom league ground was Sean Connors loosing what looked like his false teeth when he was shouting to one of the bohs players in the County V Bohs friendly at Station Road last month.

Quote Originally Posted by steno View Post
    Your easily amused.

The funniest thing I ever saw in an eircom league ground was Sean Connors loosing what looked like his false teeth when he was shouting to one of the bohs players in the County V Bohs friendly at Station Road last month.

You cant forget about 2 seasons ago when a dog ran onto the pitch against cobh and all the players were chasing it, then the keeper slipped trying to tackle it!
    Cmon County!

Quote Originally Posted by Philly View Post
    Yea I hope you sort those schooligans out. Created an intimidating atmosphere for a few of our young fans and also sculled our keeper....

Your real fans were dead sound though, very friendly.

You played superb near the end. Good luck for the season see yas at Station Road. You guys will have your own stand for it!

We couldn't stop laughing at those scobys as they passed us by when they were getting kicked out by the one Garda. They made their way up into that area for the only reason to hassle the young lads with the drum. Like all bullies they seemed to lose their tough pills when the guard came over to them.

And fair play to the Shels fans who also had a word with them as they passed by.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post

Will any of your fans by old enough to get served in a pub, Tolka seemed to be like a giant kindergarden on friday night.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by sylvo View Post
    Tolka seemed to be like a giant kindergarden on friday night.
    It sure was, that's the most I have ever seen at a game! And the yuff 'firm' have grown in size over the break, also heard they did a snatch and grab on an offo in Fairview before the game.
    Who Cares?!