Thread: Next Match: Sun 18th: V Cobh Ramblers (Home)

Next Match: Sun 18th: V Cobh Ramblers (Home)

Right our first home game of the new season...

After a good start into the league we can really hope the lads push on and build on it as no one expected the lads to get any points at all!!

I hope we get a home win.. will be great and really set the team alight!!

Start as they did in the 2nd half of the last match.. got to be a good sign

I am predicting a 2-1 win.

If someone can get pics of the ground and so forth I'd love to have some... being in England is a pain in the backside!!!
    www.fmformation.net FMFormation.net Admin Team
    Wexford Youth FC - International Supporters Club Member!

should be a good game as we were s***e against limerick how did ye play last week, were ye hounding down every ball our playing some nice passing football, did ye tarmac any parts of the ground yet do ye know for standing, our is it just the field to stand on,
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Hope to see a good game on Sunday, would think there will be a large crowd at it too seeing as its the first home game of the season. Should be a good game, the players will surely be up for it with a big crowd behind them.

I'll be out nice an early anyway for this one,well up for it

Was there any singing at the Mons game
    Mick Wallace's black and white army

Was out there at training tonight and the lads were saying that there's 500 temporary seats being put in along the pitchside - a small stand between where the 2 dugouts are.

The rest along that side and behind the two goals will be standing, and i doubt there'll be anyone over on the far touchline because it'll be mucky! Entry is only a tenner aswell - he wanted to put it at €8 but €10 is the minimum allowed. I dunno what the story on kids/concessions is.....

I'd say get out early if u want a seat because 500 should fill up quickly.

Should be a great experience for the lads aswell as the fans. A big crowd is what's needed to gee them up and hopefully record our first win.
    "People say football is a matter of life and death, I believe it is much more important than that".

My mate and I will be there, and we're bringing his brother-in-law, a Corkman, with us, so we'll have a banner to mark him out for barracking!

Really looking forward to this! Should be a big crowd and I'm expecting a good result.

Anyone any good excuses they can think up which I can give the wife for dissapearing for about 8 hours on her first 'mothers day'? Sooner I can get back to civilisation from Corkonia the better..Hoping to attend Athlone game though on way back from work in Tullamore if anyone will be up there.
    Who dares to speak of 98?

Mothers day comes EVERY year... and she will have loads of them..

Wexford Youths FIRST EVER home game ONLY happens once...

Shame I cant use that line of reasoning due to the Wifey would kill me and she'd notice I would have to make the long trip from England to do it lol...

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    424 Posts
    I was out with some friends last night and talkin bout goin to the game. One of them was dead keen but he's a big GAA follower and pointed out that he's already going to watch the hurlers in Wexford Park. That game is on at 3.30 so that might effect the size of the crowd. It's a pity the two games clash, it'll definitely reduce the potential crowd.

Still I can't wait. My da is definitely going, I'm sure we'll be very noticeable because we tend to get very loud on the sideline. I can remember lots of my team mates asking me to stop bringing my dad to matches because he got so loud! Funny thing is I'd never hear him when I was playing. I seem to have inherited the same inability to keep my mouth shut at a game. This was very evident at the friendly against Bray Wanderes, when I was shouting my support and gettting very into it but everyone else was very very quiet

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Hopefully the fact that the game is the first at home, the home crowd will get into the spirit of the occasion. It can make all the difference between a good and bad result
    "People say football is a matter of life and death, I believe it is much more important than that".

for those who are not aware.. kick off is now at 3pm

424 Posts
    Really? When did that change? Is that confirmed by the PR department?

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Taken from: http://www.irishfootballonline.com/n...hp?newsid=6096

The eircom League has confirmed a number of fixture changes or adjustments for the season.

This weekend's First Division game between Wexford Youths and Cobh Ramblers will now kick off at 3pm instead of 2:30pm.

Three matches scheduled for Saturday, 24th March have been moved to avoid a clash with Ireland's senior international against Wales. The games are Longford v Sligo Rovers - which moves to Friday, 23rd at 8pm, Athlone Town v Wexford Youths - which moves to Sunday, 24th at 3pm and Cobh Ramblers v Finn Harps - which also moves to Sunday, 24th at 3pm but also switches to Turner's Cross.

Dundalk's home game with Ramblers is now set for Sunday, 15th April at 3pm while return game in June will take place at Saint Colman's Park on Sunday, 24th June with a 2:15pm kick off. The third meeting between the sides is moved to Sunday, 12th August at 3pm and the fourth head-to-head will take place on Sunday, 21st October.

Shelbourne's home games with Finn Harps and Kildare County have both been switched by twenty-four hours due to clashes with Shamrock Rovers home games. Shels will face Harps on Saturday, 19th May and Kildare on Thursday, 12th July.

Shamrock Rovers home game against Derry City will now be played on Saturday, 4th August and the Hoops home game with Sligo Rovers is now set for Saturday, 27th October.

Shelbourne's home games with Limerick 37 and Wexford are also switched and moves to Thursdays, 30th August and 8th November.

424 Posts
    Thanks for the update Taz.
    Might have to adjust my plans for the day a bit.
    Mothers day dinner may be delayed

I sent an email earlier with a few Qs about Sunday
    seats, tickets and capacity. If I get a response I'll post it.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Seats = Bring your own!!
    Tickets = Print your own!!
    Capacity = The more the merrier!!!

ROFL!!!!! only joking... be great to find out more about that stuff

424 Posts

Foot.ie! Reply from Wexford Youths FC re Sunday

Thank you for your enquiry.
    The kick off is 3.00pm
    There is temporary seating for 1,000 people
    Tickets are on sale on the day only, adults Euro 10, Children Free.
    I dont think overall capacity will be an issue.
    Thanks for your enquiry and your good wishes.
    Hope you enjoy the day.
    Kind Regards,

Seating for 1,000 is better than expected. All sounds good to me. Fair play to them for replying too.
    Now I'm really excited.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Gonna be a top day out,I'm well up for it anyway.Everyone I've been talking to is heading out so I'm sure there'll be a huge crowd.

+ I get in for free
    Mick Wallace's black and white army

Thumbs up Nice one

That's great info lads, cheers for the update. Can't wait meself, should be a top day