That works.

kdjac

3,501 Posts
    Try this: http://www.redkawa.com/mediacenters/ps3mediacenterx/
    Haven't used it myself, but it looks to be what you're looking for

Failing that, you could try installing Linux on the PS3 to get it to play AVI's

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Try this: http://www.redkawa.com/mediacenters/ps3mediacenterx/
    Haven't used it myself, but it looks to be what you're looking for

Failing that, you could try installing Linux on the PS3 to get it to play AVI's
    i was reading a little about linux , is it basically a windows type program for it , any idea how to install to a ps3 ? does it require a lot of arsing about

ill try the redkawa nice one .

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    i was reading a little about linux , is it basically a windows type program for it, any idea how to install to a ps3 ? does it require a lot of arsing about

ill try the redkawa nice one .
    Good lord, don't say things like that, Adam will have a heart failure
    Linux is an alternative operating system to windows, completely different. It can be tricky enough to install on to a PC or laptop. With the Ps3 though, Sony have (supposedly) made it simple enough to install and use.
    If you're not technically minded though, then I wouldn't do it, could be a lot of hassle for something you're only going to use for playing media.

There's some threads on installing Linux on the PS3 on boards.ie, check them out and see if you think it'll be worth it

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Cheers gav but i think the Wii is terrible its allready outdated , the games look no better than ps2 or xbox .
    i wouldnt agree with you to that extent that its out dated, if anything as the CEO of sony has admitted, the ps3 is ambitious even at this stage, but if graphics are your thing yeah you're better off with an xbox 360 or pc. i've a fairly good graphics card and will be getting another one shortly to handle the directx10 generation of games for windows vista. pro evo + wireless PS2 controller on a 60 inch projector with PC graphics is some experience!
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    i wouldnt agree with you to that extent that its out dated, if anything as the CEO of sony has admitted, the ps3 is ambitious even at this stage, but if graphics are your thing yeah you're better off with an xbox 360 or pc. i've a fairly good graphics card and will be getting another one shortly to handle the directx10 generation of games for windows vista. pro evo + wireless PS2 controller on a 60 inch projector with PC graphics is some experience!
    60" mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

I reckon a good pc would be better but im not going to get a top end pc for 600 euro !! plus all that swaping graphics cards etc goes over my head .

While i can justify spending 600 on a ps3 i cant justify spending over agrand on a pc just to play football manager

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Good lord, don't say things like that, Adam will have a heart failure
    Linux is an alternative operating system to windows, completely different. It can be tricky enough to install on to a PC or laptop. With the Ps3 though, Sony have (supposedly) made it simple enough to install and use.
    If you're not technically minded though, then I wouldn't do it, could be a lot of hassle for something you're only going to use for playing media.

There's some threads on installing Linux on the PS3 on boards.ie, check them out and see if you think it'll be worth it
    so its the same only different

ill have alook it sounds like it will be worth it cheers for that , by the way that ps3 video 9 ye mentioned is working away fine converting my reno 911 as i speak .

Cheers lads that ps3 video 9 works a charm now to get converting my back catalogue of south park 11th season now !!!its going to be time consuming

Well i've had it for a week now so i said id do a little comparison between it and the xbox since i have both.

On the machines themselves , the PS3 is miles better some of the plus points

You can store your mp3's , video etc unlike the xbox .
    you have a decent controller for sports sims but the xbox controller is much better for shooters
    60 gb hard drive V 20 on xbox
    You can hook up your external USB hard drive to PS3( so mine now has a 310gb harddrive !!) and you can play all your video's etc directly from there .
    you can get on the internet on the PS3 not available on xbox .
    You can play blue ray disks much better than dvd on xbox
    wireless internet access on PS3 you have to buy a wireless adaptor for the xbox which is 100 euro
    you can download most PS2 and PS1 games ( it also plays lots of the old games ) You can also do this on xbox
    on PS3 to play online is free its 7 euro a month on xbox .
    The PS3 controller is movment sensitive like the Wii with out having to put a sensor on the front of your tv like the wii , xbox has nothing like this .

But most importantly the games on PS3 there is F*** all the Godfather is ok and tiger woods is good but thats it a kick in the stones to fork over 700 euro rush home then have nothing to play on it .But they are coming pro evo 7 , grand teft auto , metal gear solid , assasins creed , resident evil 5 , army of 2 etc and the graphics are better than xbox .

On the xbox ( it has been out for 1 1/2 years though ) you have classics like Gears of war , Ghost recon 2 which is the best game ive ever played ( and 1), Splinter cell double agent ,rainbow 6 etc etc .

Price wise the PS3 appears more expensive at 630(650 when you buy the HDMI cable as well) but looking at the xbox

xbox 400
    wireless adaptor 100
    HD DVD drive 200
    controller charge kit 25
    and a 85 euro for xbox live for a year

you are talking 810 euro for xbox verses the 650 for PS3 (for similar machines [blue ray v HD DVD]although the ps3 has 40 gb more on the hard drive), add in your xbox has a major chance of breaking down ( 2 out of my mates 3 died ) and the PS3 will last for 10 years (tech wise ) the PS3 is starting to look the better.
    Last edited by anto1208; 30/03/2007 at 4:53 PM.