Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: New Eircom League of Ireland Website

I better be careful when extratime launches. I better dot the i's and cross the t's. Hey at least its up before a ball is kicked in anger lads. They got it up for the first game!!
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

I'd be more worried if they were directing people to the wrong site or something. With new things you will have teething problems, not everything will be 100% right straight away. If you think otherwise, then you've never done anything in your life. They have the basis of a good website there, fair play to them. With the crest errors, get in contact and let them know. Don't just sit back and have a go.

Same thing with people getting on their high horses over the Shels/Rovers fixture clashes. These things will happen. Compliling a fixture list is a pretty big job and mistakes will happen. As far as I'm concerned, as long as the league doesn't end up being decided/threatened to be decided in the court this year that'll be the start of an improvement for me.

It's too easy to take a pop at the FAI for every little thing. They will make mistakes along the way but so far, personally, I think they've done a good job with the league.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Our old crest too, but in fairness not sure we sent them our new one yet.

I like the click on the match and see the preview bit. Easy to navigate.

Just me or is the no preview thing there now? taught it was Firefox first but didn't work in IE either...

Quote Originally Posted by padraicoc View Post
    Just me or is the no preview thing there now? taught it was Firefox first but didn't work in IE either...
    I see it now, it's not on the front page

Quote Originally Posted by padraicoc View Post
    I see it now, it's not on the front page

"Dundalk V Finn Harps

Dundalk go into this fixture as favourites for the First Division title, but Harps also have their backers.

Oriel Park boss John Gill was delighted when star striker Philip Hughes pledged his future to the Lilywhites, and Hughes will be the star man for Dundalk this season. First Division Player of the Year last season, Hughes notched an impressive 21 goals during 2006.

Harps will look to improve on last season and there is no better stage for them than an away fixture against Dundalk. Harps fans will hope that Jonathan Minnock steadies the ship at the back.

Team news to follow"

when do they plan to give the team news?!? would that not be a preview?

Quote Originally Posted by barney View Post
    With the crest errors, get in contact and let them know. Don't just sit back and have a go
    They have the proper Rovers crest!

Without going in to details - I know that for a fact.

But when you get some eejits on work experience doing your website.....

No obvious link from that site to fai.ie

No obvious link from fai.ie to that site

You'd swear that both weren't even connected

Is it really the official league website run by the FAI ??

How do we even know that its them who have made it ??

Maybe it isn't made by the FAI at all, it could be just someone posing as them, an impostor if you will.

To the admin of that site -> "Who are you and what have you done with the FAI? "

Ah ..... you have to laugh really

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    A face look down

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    A face look down
    Ah but you see i did say obvious

Sure they're only hiding it down there like

Same thing with people getting on their high horses over the Shels/Rovers fixture clashes. These things will happen. Compliling a fixture list is a pretty big job and mistakes will happen. As far as I'm concerned, as long as the league doesn't end up being decided/threatened to be decided in the court this year that'll be the start of an improvement for me.
    I agree with you about the crests but the fixtures clash was a medium sized mistake. Moving the games to Thursdays will cost Shels at least a few grand in gate receipts.

The more worrying thing is that the mistakes are still happening in the new, better run, league. The season started today and it was only a couple of days ago that someone spotted a problem with the registration of 30 or so players. We came very close to a trip to the High Court there.

Quote Originally Posted by Student Mullet View Post
    The more worrying thing is that the mistakes are still happening in the new, better run, league. The season started today and it was only a couple of days ago that someone spotted a problem with the registration of 30 or so players. We came very close to a trip to the High Court there.
    Surely not ... i mean you must be mistaken no? The FAI after turning over a new leaf n'all

I agree with you about the crests but the fixtures clash was a medium sized mistake. Moving the games to Thursdays will cost Shels at least a few grand in gate receipts.

Fair enough, I'll go with you on the fixture thing, but I still think these things are going to happen in a new set up.

The registration issue? Should a lot of the responsibility for that not lie with the clubs as well as the FAI?

It probably does, I don't know the details of how a player gets registered. Whoever is at fault, the point still remains that this new league came within a whisker of a major cack up this week. The mistake was spotted before it happened, which is an improvement on previous years but we still came much to close for comfort.

Fair point then, I'll give you that one. I reckon that's a bit more serious than a crest on a website not being 100% right.

Christ I'm starting to post like an FAI employee.

It seems to me that there's no reason why this registration issue would only have come up this year. Should players have fallen foul of this before?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    It seems to me that there's no reason why this registration issue would only have come up this year. Should players have fallen foul of this before?
    Quiet! We're all pretending that's not true.

I really dont see how the FAI can get around this one. I really hope they do tho!

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    No obvious link from fai.ie to that site
    surely the massive eircom League of Ireland link on the right hand side of the page on www.fai.ie - which looks strikingly like your avatar btw - is an obvious enough link. or do you want a flashing red arrow pointing to it saying 'link'

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    surely the massive eircom League of Ireland link on the right hand side of the page on www.fai.ie - which looks strikingly like your avatar btw - is an obvious enough link. or do you want a flashing red arrow pointing to it saying 'link'
    LOL I reckon some people on here want the league to be the usual farce just so they can say "I told you so" and have a pop at the FAI. Exactly the small minded attitude that's holding our league back.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    That was a link to an application form yesterday. Maybe they are reading this thread and sorted it out??

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast