Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Was Fair City on the telly?
    Nope

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday

May I put the poor crowd down to the general public not caring half as much about the league as we think they do*

*Coupled with the fact that going by the tv I would have put it at at least 3000

Recent matches missing -
    Limerick v Monaghan

115 Posts
    I'd say about 2500 on Monday.

Bohs fans don't seem to have much interest in the league now and the reality is Rovers have very few fans these days.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    The Star quotes an estimated attendance of 2000 for Bohs v Rovers.

This is the biggest football derby in Irish football so where was everyone?

I know it was a Monday but I really would've expected twice that amount.

Was Fair City on the telly?
    Damn right! And it was a super episode.

There was a great crowd, over 3500, at Dalymount on a Tuesday when we thrashed them 2-1 (at the start of the league) and well over 4000 in Tolka on a Friday (in the height of 'summer'). Think the semi-final where we thrashed them 1-0 with ten men was a Tuesday as well and there was an okay crowd at that.

I had a sprained ankle and no funds, but Monday is just a crap, crap, crap, crap, crap night for matches (and there wasn't even any television money for this one). The littlest excuse that would put you off making the usual effort to get to the game is magnified about twenty times on a Monday. Bohs drawing in Waterford was a fecking killer in that regard.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    I'd say about 2500 on Monday.

Bohs fans don't seem to have much interest in the league now and the reality is Rovers have very few fans these days.
    We had probably more there than the home club. 4-0 hitting you hard I see?

Erstwhile no excuse to miss a Rovers bohs game. Agree its a crap night to have it but your club had called off the original fixture cos 2 of your players MIGHT get a game for the U21s.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    You would have to wonder to people from Dublin really want domestic football !?
    It was probably over 4,000 if you include all the culchie guards on overtime, though.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

The Star are always WAY off with their attendances, I dont know how anyone can believe them. Its unbelievable sometimes how far off they are, it slike they just pick a random number and stick it down.

There was a a fair bit more than 2,000 in Dalymount Monday night.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    We had probably more there than the home club. 4-0 hitting you hard I see?

So do you think your attendances are good? You probably had about 800 in the Connacht St side on Monday and there weren't a whole lot more than 1000 at Friday's triumph!

You're second in the league and the only team who can realistically challenge Drogheda.

You're the new Shels, the only difference is that you're not spending money you don't have and have got into the position you're in through hard work and good management.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

So do you think your attendances are good? You probably had about 800 in the Connacht St side on Monday and there weren't a whole lot more than 1000 at Friday's triumph!

You're second in the league and the only team who can realistically challenge Drogheda.

You're the new Shels, the only difference is that you're not spending money you don't have and have got into the position you're in through hard work and good management.
    4-0 did get to you obviously. If you think we only had 800 there monday kudos. Thought maths was part of your job? Maybe not.

Never said our attendances were good. Ours along with everyone elses are a disgrace. Each club should be easily getting 5,000 a week but that's for another thread.

But we are renting in a ground that is unpopular on the wrong side of the city. The longer we rent in tolka the less our crowds will be irrespective of the results on the pitch.

Friday's triumph was attended by 1145 fans. That's on the attendance thread.

Your comparison with shels is on a par with your posts.

Explain to me how in honour of christ this makes them the new Shels?!?!?!?!

"You're the new Shels, except, your're like, completely different and stuff"

It was probably over 4,000 if you include all the culchie guards on overtime, though.
    Could have put your finger on something here

It'll doubtless take a Bohs v Rovers 20 pager of a thread to figure out what

3,491 Posts
    There'll be an official attendance figure in the next programme at least. Just need to get an independent body to verify what's printed.

It'll doubtless take a Bohs v Rovers 20 pager of a thread to figure out what
    I'm well aware of the connection, cheers.

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by Erstwhile Bóz View Post
    Damn right! And it was a super episode.

There was a great crowd, over 3500, at Dalymount on a Tuesday when we thrashed them 2-1 (at the start of the league) and well over 4000 in Tolka on a Friday (in the height of 'summer'). Think the semi-final where we thrashed them 1-0 with ten men was a Tuesday as well and there was an okay crowd at that.

I had a sprained ankle and no funds, but Monday is just a crap, crap, crap, crap, crap night for matches (and there wasn't even any television money for this one). The littlest excuse that would put you off making the usual effort to get to the game is magnified about twenty times on a Monday. Bohs drawing in Waterford was a fecking killer in that regard.
    Another reason for the small crowd is the fact that Rovers didn't bother advertising this match. Unlike the League Cup match, where we were due a share of the gate.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic View Post
    Another reason for the small crowd is the fact that Rovers didn't bother advertising this match. Unlike the League Cup match, where we were due a share of the gate.
    What was the crowd for that semi-final, do you know, as a matter of interest?

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic View Post
    Another reason for the small crowd is the fact that Rovers didn't bother advertising this match.
    Do you need to advertise a Rovers-Bohs game?

222 Posts
    Terrible attendance at Dundalk-Kilkenny last night, 600-700

Drogs Derry 1,700 or so.

3,491 Posts
    UCD-Waterford - 257

238 Posts
    Harps- Cobh 3,100.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Harps- Cobh 3,100.
    Great crowd Heggy and great result, look forward to renewing the big Northwest Derby next year. The league needs the likes of the Derry Harps and Sligo derbies

Page 65 of 80 FirstFirst ... 1555636465666775 ... LastLast