Page 58 of 80 FirstFirst ... 848565758596068 ... LastLast
Results 1,141 to 1,160 of 1597

Thread: eircom League 2007 Attendances

Between 80-100 Rovers fans there last night. Terrible conditions for a game.

Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    620 total attendance at Waterford United v Sligo Rovers as per a journalist on btid.Some people must have decided to stay at home and watch on tv in comfort rather than go to the game in the rain and wind.
    There needs to be a review of what games are shown on tv. Minimum crowds must be considered.

Cork City v Kilkenny 1,500

Guessing about 1700 for Bray v Pats last night - say 1250 for the greenhouse stand, 300 of us out in the elements and 150 or so behind the goal.
    Revenge for 2002

100 Posts
    There was about 5,000 at the Drogs V Helsingborgs game.I know it wasnt the league but ts still a good showing
    You've got no fans.

Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    620 total attendance at Waterford United v Sligo Rovers as per a journalist on btid.Some people must have decided to stay at home and watch on tv in comfort rather than go to the game in the rain and wind.
    Crowd looked bad on Tv whats the story down there I rembember much larger crowds at Kilcowen won't critise those who went as a lot of them will be in the showgies on tuesday.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    There needs to be a review of what games are shown on tv. Minimum crowds must be considered.
    How will that work?
    We sometimes dont know what the attendance was after a game,how in heaven's sake will the TV companies know what the attendance will be beforehand?

If they took a guess or used last year's figures Finn Harps still wouldnt have a game televised.

Quote Originally Posted by Saint MacDara View Post
    How will that work?
    We sometimes dont know what the attendance was after a game,how in heaven's sake will the TV companies know what the attendance will be beforehand?

If they took a guess or used last year's figures Finn Harps still wouldnt have a game televised.
    Anyone with a half-decent knowledge of the Eircom league could've looked down that list of fixtures and seen that the Harps-Derry game was clearly the tie of the round, was guaranteed to get the biggest crowd, and would have the best atmosphere.

If you couldn't foresee that - well, then I guess you musn't be following the league that closely or for that long.....

Here's some unedited footage of what atmosphere looks like, for those who had to suffer the live game on Friday :

Last edited by pete; 19/08/2007 at 6:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by londonred View Post
    won't critise those who went as a lot of them will be in the showgies on tuesday.
    Very much doubt that.

Drogs v Waterford was around the 1,500 mark.

Drogs v Pats was around the 2,500 mark.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    I can't remember the last time i watched a football match on TV to look at the crowd usually more interested in the game itself.
    The atmosphere is part of the package, and as we can't compete with the English and Scottish product on footballing quality - all we have to attract fans to our game is local pride/identity and atmosphere. Remove one part of that, and we're left with very little.

As stated on another post, my first Derry game was a woeful spectacle of First Division football, where we lost 1:0 to the mighty EMFA on a freezing Sunday afternoon in December. Was it the fluid football that got me hooked that day ? Was it ****. It was the atmosphere and the craic on the terraces. Had that game been played in a near empty stadium with no atmosphere, I doubt I'd have gone back.

How will we ever get curious people off their armchair and into a stadium if it looks and sounds like EL games are played in a library...?

238 Posts
    around 5000 at Finn Park last night.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    around 5000 at Finn Park last night.
    WOW!!!
    How did ye get that out for a 3rd round tie??? For a team in first division thats brilliant!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    WOW!!!
    How did ye get that out for a 3rd round tie??? For a team in first division thats brilliant!!!
    a) Local derby. One that has the ability to attract bigger crowds than the much-hyped Bohs-Rovers derby, that is the only one anyone seems to think is of note in the league..

b) 2,000 away fans might've helped a bit methinks......

BTW - 5,000 was a sell-out crowd. There'd have been more if the capacity was higher (I know that there were Derry fans who couldn't get tickets at least).
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 20/08/2007 at 11:23 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    a) Local derby. One that has the ability to attract bigger crowds than the much-hyped Bohs-Rovers derby, that is the only one anyone seems to think is of note in the league..

b) 2,000 away fans might've helped a bit methinks......

BTW - 5,000 was a sell-out crowd. There'd have been more if the capacity was higher (I know that there were Derry fans who couldn't get tickets at least).
    Ya but still for 3rd round in the cup thats brilliant attendance.

First competitive game in 2 years between us might have helped.

82 Posts
    Tickets were still on sale for Harps v Derry outside the ground before the game.

I'd have estimated the crowd nearer 4,000 but still very impressive given the awful weather.

Good banter between both sets of fans aswell.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Tickets were still on sale for Harps v Derry outside the ground before the game.

I'd have estimated the crowd nearer 4,000 but still very impressive given the awful weather.

Good banter between both sets of fans aswell.
    Obviously I was being kind to the culchies in giivng them the benefit of the doubt re sales to their own fans

Did we not sell out our allocation at least anyway ?

82 Posts
    Obviously I was being kind to the culchies in giivng them the benefit of the doubt re sales to their own fans

Did we not sell out our allocation at least anyway ?
    We definately sold our allocation, but with the river end open there was a lot more space for Derry fans so not surprised they sold more tickets. COvered stand looked jam packed and town end about half full.

It really was dire weather as well. Cold, wet and very windy. At least 4 inflatable sheep ended up meeting a grizzly end in the Finn......although it was probably a kinder way to go that if we'd left them to the locals

50 Posts
    So what make you more sophistcated since both your clubs are in the middle of nowhere

Quote Originally Posted by pateen View Post
    So what make you more sophistcated since both your clubs are in the middle of nowhere
    Everywhere is the middle of nowhere to someone else.......

Page 58 of 80 FirstFirst ... 848565758596068 ... LastLast