Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Caleb Folan

1,928 Posts
    That's the most I have ever watched of the MLS, HT now and bed time beckons.
    Folan will do well there, he works hard, runs the channels as they say, has the skill on the ball and can shoot.
    He probably can head as well but the Rapids haven't managed to float one ball over past the first man.

192 Posts
    The goal is available at the link below ... but no guarantees it will work outside the US. Click on "GOAL:Folan's Fancy Footwork leads to goal(1:60)"

http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter...ited-nid328378
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Casey was a surprise omission from the US World Cup squad. Granted they only have one proper striker, the mediocre Altidore, but he's a decent workmanlike forward in the Heskey mould.

3,501 Posts
    Goal available to view on mlssoccer.com here: http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter...ited-nid328378
    Click the "GOAL: Folan's fancy footwork leads to goal" link to view it
    Nice finish too

<EDIT>

Beat me to the punch EastTerracer, the clip is available outside the US
    The commentator seems to be pronouncing his name "Foe-Lawn"
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 04/04/2011 at 12:10 AM.

192 Posts
    I'm watching in Spanish and the commentators keep calling him Caleb Colman Folan! They did describe him as el Irlandese a couple of times as well.

His partner upfront, Conor Casey, has been injured and didn't look fit. He's gone off so Folan is definitely the focus of the attack now. Still 1-0 with half an hour left.
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 04/04/2011 at 12:26 AM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

192 Posts
    Another goal for Caleb to put the Rapids 3-1 up - a header this time. The goal is at the link below.

Goal 1: http://www.mlssoccer.com/videos?catid=114&id=13380

Goal 2: http://www.mlssoccer.com/videos?catid=114&id=13385

Folan subbed off with 3 minutes to go. Great start for him. Trap will presumably give him a call for the proposed US tour in June.
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 04/04/2011 at 12:54 AM.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Goal available to view on mlssoccer.com here: http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter...ited-nid328378
    Click the "GOAL: Folan's fancy footwork leads to goal" link to view it
    Nice finish too

<EDIT>

Beat me to the punch EastTerracer, the clip is available outside the US
    The commentator seems to be pronouncing his name "Foe-Lawn"
    Great goal, I have to add that is excellent quality video, probably the best
    I have ever seen, it seems very high resolution and clear.

3,501 Posts
    Nice headed goal for the second, although the keeper really should have saved it.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Great start for him. Trap will presumably give him a call for the proposed US tour in June.
    Actually, when I said that I thought Folan would fade out of view from our point of view, I had forgotten about the US trip.

great move for him, dont know what money hes on but i presume good, is he a designated player or what?

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    great move for him, dont know what money hes on but i presume good, is he a designated player or what?
    As far as I know Colorado do not have any designated players so I don't believe Folan is on mega-money. He probably wasn't on Premier League money at Hull so maybe the change isn't that significant for him.

yeah like i dont mean good as in he'll be rich but he'll be able to have a good life with decent money. give me the mls over some 2nd division team anyday for 3 times less money. if middlesboro offered me 20 grand and some1 like san jose earthquakes offered me 2 and a half grand a week, id take sj earthquakes easily...or mayb just spend a year with boro and then leave

if you were a middlesbrough player on 20 grand you wouldn't live in middlesbrough!

First post here lads, this is an interesting page though:

http://www.mlsplayers.org/files/augu...phabetical.pdf

Folan not there but interesting to see Chirs Birchall, formerly of Port Vale at $132,000pa minimum. Former Arsenal trainee Ryan Smith is on 125k pa over there.

Dubliner Danny Earls is earning 40k pa.

All this info comes from this site http://www.mlsplayers.org/salary_info.html, where they also show us that Ronnie O'Brien was on $240,000pa in 2008, the same season where Darren Huckerby was on $330,000.

So, try and extrapolate Folans salary from that!

19. Thanks From:

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OMTY View Post

Folan not there but interesting to see Chirs Birchall, formerly of Port Vale at $132,000pa minimum. Former Arsenal trainee Ryan Smith is on 125k pa over there.

All this info comes from this site http://www.mlsplayers.org/salary_info.html, where they also show us that Ronnie O'Brien was on $240,000pa in 2008, the same season where Darren Huckerby was on $330,000.

Cheers for that OMTY. I'd say Folan is on less than O'Brien personally. He had next to no profile going over there and O'Brien has been grafting away in the MLS for many years at this stage.

Interesting that Beckham is on $5.5 million... and 8¢. I also find it comical how the U.S. commentators were pronouncing Folan's name in the clips above: "And Foe-lahn takes the defender out of the play!"

Americans tend to stress the second syllable in words. It always use to drive me mad how they'd pronounce Mahoney's name in Police Academy.

edit: just looked it up and apparently that's not true. I have lied to you all. But I still think I'm right for some reason.
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 04/04/2011 at 11:09 PM.

162 Posts
    Caleb Foe-lawn!

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OMTY View Post

Darren Huckerby, by jaysus is that where he is gone?!? Now talk about a journeyman. He must hold the record for the no of times promoted and relegated.

675 Posts
    Faux-Lawn. Isn't that what they call the pitch?! (cymbal splash)
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast