Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: Supporters Club Thread

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    The problem is the lack of covered facilities. In time thsi problem will be gone and we can, like most clubs in the eL, have a dedicated, covered family enclosure. Until then I don't think it is unreasonable for the club to designate a section of the stand as a family enclosure. The future of the club is kids being brought and becoming die-hard fans later.
    Would agree with most of that but..........

The stand there now isn't exactly colossal. All you need there is the wind blowing in the wrong direction and BAM lots of kiddies ears corrupted

The solution?? The fellas that stood in the Shed in Rathbane (along with anyone else who wants to join them) stand in the shed in the Jacks and the people with small kids stand wherever they see fit without having to have their children nannied for them by ridiculous ground regulations

I grew up a "hard core" fan despite my poor ears being subjected back in Rathbane

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    You won't find any disagreements with anyone. Nobody wants the SC to tone down or stop the chants, OK is merely trying to get across the fact that parents won't want children exposed to cursing etc and it may well mean they won't return if they are exposed to it. Its about reaching a balance between the two for him.
    I understand fully that he is trying to boost attendances and I'm fully supportive of that...........

However, condescending to the fans you already have is completely the wrong way to go about it

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    That line of thought may go down well in Thomond Park, but honestly this is football, anyone bringing their families there know what football and football crowds are like. We're gonna be abusive to the opposition players, whether it hurts the kid's ears or not. If we had a designated area that the people who want to chant could meet up at the ground then the families would soon get to know to stay away from that area, as it is we're broken up all over the ground so there's going to be abusive language wherever you go
    I must be out of touch.I dont ever remember the specific occasion when football people decided as a supporter(one who supports something) to hand over the sporting and fairplay mantel to rugby people.I take great exception to anyone who suggests that it is ok for people in my sport to swear and curse in front of kids and families and that it is not in Thomond Park.I suggest that you are the one who is seriously out of touch.Are you aware of the new laws regarding unsocial behaviour ??Someone else must agree with me and not you in that these new laws are enacted.
    Perhaps you should join the British Army where that sort of behaviour is quite acceptable,as in cursing like a trooper.But then would you have the guts to shout and roar at someone who was in a position to do the same back to you?

So this is what we the Irish ,who are famed all over Europe for our support of our team and not the abuse of the opposition,have come to.
    Last edited by shelbourne1904; 30/03/2007 at 4:11 PM.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    I must be out of touch.I dont ever remember the specific occasion when football people decided aes a supporter(one who supports something) handed over the sporting and fairplay mantel to rugby people.I take great exception to anyone who suggests that it is ok for people in my sport to swear and curse in front of kids and families and that it is not in Thomond Park.I suggest that you are the one who is seriously out of touch.Are you aware of the new laws regarding unsocial behaviour ??Someone else must agree with me and not you in that these new laws are enacted.
    Perhaps you should join the British Army where that sort of behaviour is quite acceptable,as in cursing like a trooper.But then would you have the guts to shout and roar at someone who was in a position to do the same back to you?
    This misses the point so spectacularly it's hilarious. New laws?? "Unsocial" behaviour?? Good grief

As for your comment on the British army - So far out of leftfield it worries me

So this is what we the Irish ,who are famed all over Europe for our support of our team and not the abuse of the opposition,have come to
    So pathetically twee that I actually laughed out loud

This misses the point so spectacularly it's hilarious. New laws?? "Unsocial" behaviour?? Good grief

As for your comment on the British army - So far out of leftfield it worries me

So pathetically twee that I actually laughed out loud

Ok lads

Just a few things

I don’t think the suggestions made at any stage were condescending to the long term fans, but you must accept that the object here is to make the “undecided” welcome and to try and keep them in the ground on a long term basis. We did say that the experiment was for the first two home games and as the finn harps game will be the 3rd game we will be revisiting the idea. We have noticed the lack of atmosphere for long periods and want to reach a happy medium that can accommodate all sides. In relation to the foul and abusive language, we all have experience of playing or supporting a game where the vocal few can create a tense atmosphere but for the most part all the support is good natured.

Please don’t take offence when new ideas are tried as if we don’t try to inject a new stream of fans, the club will not thrive.

So lets have a few Ideas instead of dissecting the ones put forward.

This post is not aimed at anyone in particular
    "When faced with total negativity, a smile is a weapon of mass destruction"

Well said Shelbourne 1904. We live in a more nuanced and sophisticated society and moronic behaviour is not as attractive as it was.
    Many sports are thriving without resorting to abuse of opponents - what parent would bring children to listen to that crap (or is it true that soccer is a gentleman's game supported by bowsies?).

Well said Shelbourne 1904. We live in a more nuanced and sophisticated society and moronic behaviour is not as attractive as it was.
    As opposed to the good old days when moronic behaviour was all the fashion???

Kind of upsetting watching you trying to be clever

Many sports are thriving without resorting to abuse of opponents
    Yawn

- what parent would bring children to listen to that crap
    Isn't it obvious?? An EVIL one

(or is it true that soccer is a gentleman's game supported by bowsies?).
    There's that word again

Seriously cop on to yourself man

It's a football ground. May I suggest the Magners League for the wonderful warm fuzzy feeling for you and the kiddies. There'll even be loads of room what with it not being the Heiniken.

The way someof the poster on here go on you'd swear the ground was packed to the rafters with acid tongue wielding neo-Nazi skinheads

It's our club, our ground, we shall say what we like

I think tis yourself needs to have a bit of respect and a large dose of cop on saying things like that to the bread and butter fans

Some patronising $hits on here sometimes
    I'm not trying to be patronising at all. You're talking about the bread and butter fans as if i'm not one of them, is my opinion on this not vald too?
    I've stood in the shed in Rathbane and roared my fair share of abuse, I just think if we are to grow and leave the small time behind we need to open the club up to all people in Limerick. That includes people who want to bring young kids in to watch Limerick compete in Irish Football, nothing wrong with that. We've got youth set-ups now, we're starting to get a presence in schools, kids are going to want to see these matches. I think its just common decency not to scream abuse when your standing right beside them thats all. If thats patronising its genuinely not meant to be.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    I've stood in the shed in Rathbane and roared my fair share of abuse, I just think if we are to grow and leave the small time behind we need to open the club up to all people in Limerick.
    In fairness when has people roaring abuse at opposing players ever stood in the way of a club growing? Oddly enough you hear all kinds of abuse being roared by all kings of fans in every football league in the world. If the parents want to bring their kids to support Limerick 37 they will, end of story. Anyone who is put off by a bit of bad language doesn't support, and won't support the club in the long term, which is what we should be focusing on. And anyone who doesn't expect a bit of bad language at football grounds has either a) never been to a football match before, and/or has drifted over from Thomond Park, which brings me nicely to.....

I must be out of touch.I dont ever remember the specific occasion when football people decided as a supporter(one who supports something) to hand over the sporting and fairplay mantel to rugby people.
    It just happened over a couple of decades where we followed the British model of working class people going football matches, and middle class people going to rugby. Those lines have been blurred these days but the overall feeling of rugby fans and players being more respectful than their football counterparts is one that has been in place for years. Do you not watch sports on TV, go to games live or read newspapers that you don't see this?

I take great exception to anyone who suggests that it is ok for people in my sport to swear and curse in front of kids and families and that it is not in Thomond Park.I suggest that you are the one who is seriously out of touch.Are you aware of the new laws regarding unsocial behaviour ??Someone else must agree with me and not you in that these new laws are enacted .
    When did I ever say they're not allowed to swear in Thomond? They just don't, mainly because 75% of their supporters are bandwagon jumpers who really don't give a toss how Munster get on outside of their Heineken Cup nights out. As for your anti-social laws point.....I really don't know how to respond to something as idiotic as that. What next, a few players pushing each other on the pitch is assault? Our manager cursing when we concede from a set play sees him being led away in cuffs?

Perhaps you should join the British Army where that sort of behaviour is quite acceptable
    I have a friend in the British Army and I took 'great offence' at you labeling him a mindless thug, surely there is some law that doesn't allow you do this!

But then would you have the guts to shout and roar at someone who was in a position to do the same back to you?
    But then how would I express my inner rage? I mean if they could shout back at me then I'd feel less of a big man right? Grow up for heaven's sake would you?

So this is what we the Irish ,who are famed all over Europe for our support of our team and not the abuse of the opposition,have come to.
    Are we famed for that? I thought we were famed for being a bunch of drunks whose antics are laughed at, more than with, but sure thats just a difference of opinion isn't it?

Anyway as I said in my second post on this matter, it's easily solved if we can find a section for the hardcore and a seperate one for the families. During the, hopefully dry, summer months I'd happily move behind the goals, or near the dugouts and the non-existant families (I've seen very little so far) can have the Stand

L37 V Dundalk

Supporters club members & fans meeting in The Still house on Thomas Street from 6 on Friday.

See ye all in the Still shortly, i think i would take a draw if i got it for tonights game.

Come on the Blues!

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456