Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Supporters Club Thread

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    In fairness lads, some of the stuff thats been roared out at matches through the years has been fairly brutal. Granted most of it has been hiarious, but if I had a kid the last place I'd want to bring him/her would be right beside the lads caling the keeper a c**t and tellin us what his wife was doin last night.
    Thats grand for us lot but families should be welcome in jackman park to support Limerick 37. It's just about havin a bit of respect and cop on.
    Otherwise the general public will stay clear of the place and we'll never grow as a club.
    Seriously cop on to yourself man

It's a football ground. May I suggest the Magners League for the wonderful warm fuzzy feeling for you and the kiddies. There'll even be loads of room what with it not being the Heiniken.

The way someof the poster on here go on you'd swear the ground was packed to the rafters with acid tongue wielding neo-Nazi skinheads

It's our club, our ground, we shall say what we like

It's just about havin a bit of respect and cop on.
    I think tis yourself needs to have a bit of respect and a large dose of cop on saying things like that to the bread and butter fans

Some patronising $hits on here sometimes

Quote Originally Posted by Old keeper View Post
    That's a good point but we really do need to improve attendances and if the athmosphere is one of foul and abusive chants a lot of people will not come back.
    And is that how you would describe the over-riding athmosphere at Limerick games you've been at??

Because I'm sure you've been to 100s Ger........

I hope we can all find middle ground on this one
    Well we're standing in the Shed. You can put the easily offended wherever you please

Agree with Old Keeper about chanting crap.. Just because it is done by morons at other clubs it does not make it right... cop yourself on ltid...
    point of fact.... It is not your ground.....

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    cop yourself on ltid...
    point of fact.... It is not your ground.....
    Oh dear they're everywhere

Anybody who complains about the language at a football game seriously needs to go away and get a life.

Nice to see the confraternity spirit is alive and well in Limerick
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 30/03/2007 at 8:57 AM.

the only body who needs to get a life is yourself...anybody who thinks that to enjoy and participate in sport, you need to shout abusive and sad crap at people, needs help. peoples actions define what type of people that they are. What a good example to give to the kids ,the future of whatever sport you would support.

Any chance we can reclaim this thread for the purpose it was intended for? im gonna set up an 'infighting' thread so you can argue on that.

the only body who needs to get a life is yourself...anybody who thinks that to enjoy and participate in sport, you need to shout abusive and sad crap at people, needs help. peoples actions define what type of people that they are. What a good example to give to the kids ,the future of whatever sport you would support.
    Oh Please, spare me the patronising ****, even on my worst day etc, etc

The point I'm makin (I'll type this slowly so you can try and grasp it) is as follows:

The..........athmosphere..........at.............. games................in..............theJacks..... ........is.................bad............enough.. ...............as.............is............withou t...............the..................God.......... ..........squad...........coming............on.... .........here....................... and............. telling ................people................. what.................. they............ can .................and............ can't........... say......... Football....... is....... a........... working........ class........ game,....... occasionaly......... there........ will.......... be......... some ........coarse...... language........ By .....and.... large........ it'.....s .......not....... at....... all.... bad...... Anybody......... who........ complians...... about..... the........ occasional...... swear....... word .........or......... rude........ chant...... needs........ to...... get........ a........ life....... big....... time....... I........ stand .......over....... that....... and......... I'm....... certain......... I'm........ in........ the ........majority....... too........

Oldkeeper: Telling people where they can and can't stand and what they can and can't say is ludicrous, is only going to bring you bad will and smacks of mini-Hitlerism of the worst kind. By and large we're good people who are passionate about our club.

If you want to set up your own little fiefdom in the Jacks just say so and we wont go to home games

Also would appreciate if you had a problem you would at least come out and say it straight

And People Wonder Why Senior Football In Lims Was Dying ....

25 Posts
    For god sake
    I think its obvious what oldkeeper is on about. They are trying to attract families, i.e. make MORE money for L37. He believes that if families with young children are stood beside chants that involve cursing(Not that this is wrong or anything) that they may well not come back again. You have a go at him then for trying to get more people to games just because it means you can't stand under a piece of corrugated metal for 90 minutes.

And People Wonder Why Senior Football In Lims Was Dying ....
    Brilliant reply there

I think you'll find it had as much (maybe even more!!!) to do with a succession of dodgy owners than people like myself who give or take a few haven't missed a home game in 14 years

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    He believes that if families with young children are stood beside chants that involve cursing(Not that this is wrong or anything) that they may well not come back again.
    Nobodys tying them up

Big huge ground there

The way people go on you'd swear there was several 100 who go to our games purely to curse, rape and pillage

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Any chance we can reclaim this thread for the purpose it was intended for?

It's far too late

25 Posts
    Nobodys tying them up
    The way people go on you'd swear there was several 100 who go to our games purely to curse, rape and pillage
    Its all about perception really, I see it as OK trying to bring in the numbers in a way he believes this is possible, you see it as the SC being censored and victimised.

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    Its all about perception really, I see it as OK trying to bring in the numbers in a way he believes this is possible, you see it as the SC being censored and victimised.
    By all means do (a)

But don't do it while also doing (b)

25 Posts
    You won't find any disagreements with anyone. Nobody wants the SC to tone down or stop the chants, OK is merely trying to get across the fact that parents won't want children exposed to cursing etc and it may well mean they won't return if they are exposed to it. Its about reaching a balance between the two for him.

Question fro LTID, if you had kids or maybe a girlfriend and wanted to bring them to see an E/L matc, Would you like to have a moron behind you shouting abusive and foul language at the playing area. Wouldn't it be fun trying to explain some of the terms to the kids... oh sorry , in your perfect world neither would be at the match or if they were they would be in their own little enclosure.. maybe you would like to see us go the way of our uk friends and have kids shouting abusive and vile crap from a young age...
    you must be fair stupid enough to support a team even though you know that it is owned and run by corrupt people. by supporting the club you are suppoorting THEM, thus continuing their reign.

Roadend,, just saw your post...

spot on, even though it will probably fall on deaf ears...

This seems to be an argument about nothing.

I think a family area is a great idea. I also think an Ultras area is a great idea. It is better for chanting fans to locate together to feed off each other, when they are spread around the ground there is no chanting and very little atmosphere.

I've stood in teh shed with a lot of the 'hard core' posters on here. Some of the chants and abuse hurled at opposition (and sometimes our own) players i haven't agreed with. If I did bring my nephew or another kid to the ground I would not stand with the 'hard core' support if there was a lot of abuse and/or swearing. It would be good to have another area of the ground where supporters with kids could stand together. I think it's impossible to avoid swearing completely at a football match (at any level) - but there are degrees.

The problem is the lack of covered facilities. In time thsi problem will be gone and we can, like most clubs in the eL, have a dedicated, covered family enclosure. Until then I don't think it is unreasonable for the club to designate a section of the stand as a family enclosure. The future of the club is kids being brought and becoming die-hard fans later.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I'll try and lighten the mood with a little story.

A couple of years back I brought a friend and his kids to Aston Villa.

We were in the North Stand (family area).

Well, duly, late in the game the Holte End started a chant of 'The referee's a ******'.

Nastaha asked me what they were saying - All I could come up with was 'The referees a Willy Wonka'.

Maybe we could use that as a chant at Jackman.

Any other sanitised versions of classic chants out there?!!

Cheers.

Question fro LTID, if you had kids or maybe a girlfriend and wanted to bring them to see an E/L matc, Would you like to have a moron behind you shouting abusive and foul language at the playing area. Wouldn't it be fun trying to explain some of the terms to the kids...
    Suffer the little children

It's only a little bit of cursing, I reckon they'd get over it

oh sorry , in your perfect world neither would be at the match or if they were they would be in their own little enclosure..
    Ya when the ground is developed (any word on our new stand??) they should have their own enclosure

maybe you would like to see us go the way of our uk friends and have kids shouting abusive and vile crap from a young age...
    WTF??

you must be fair stupid enough to support a team even though you know that it is owned and run by corrupt people. by supporting the club you are suppoorting THEM, thus continuing their reign
    Absolute garbage of the highest degree, so stupid I'm not even going to try and explain myself

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast