Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: London

London Eye

Anyone ever been up on that thing? Going over to London at the end of October for the NFL game in Wembley. Missus wants to go on the Eye.

From what I gather it takes 30 minutes to. Queues should be too bad in October, would they?

Any help?

Might be better to book in advance, although shouldn't be too busy....if it's a clear day you'll have a fantastic view!

There are now several Street Artists, Human Statues etc alongside.....enjoy the experience!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Anyone ever been up on that thing? Going over to London at the end of October for the NFL game in Wembley. Missus wants to go on the Eye.

From what I gather it takes 30 minutes to. Queues should be too bad in October, would they?

Any help?
    It's pretty dull to be honest. Great views and all, but there's only so long it can hold your interest, by the time it gets back to ground it's a relief.

I pre-booked it online along with tickets to see Phantom of the Opera. Was worth it for the Phantom tickets, they were in prime location and saved a good few € on the package deal. I'm not big into musicals or anything but I have to say I'd go back to London just to see Phantom again, it was truly fantastic.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Might be better to book in advance, although shouldn't be too busy....if it's a clear day you'll have a fantastic view!

There are now several Street Artists, Human Statues etc alongside.....enjoy the experience!
    When I was there the museum beside it had a Dali exhibition on. Now that was well worth the entry fee.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Dont go its crap, takes too long to queue and go round and then when you get up you realise there really is nothing to see of London from that view. Go to tower 42, far more impressive, seriouslly, especially if you want to get a good view of the City and Canary wharf. Plus its cheaper Except the drink. BUt if you are bringing the bird its a great idea as it kills 2 birds with one stone etc.

When I was there the museum beside it had a Dali exhibition on. Now that was well worth the entry fee
    Do you mean the Tate or the Royal Museum? How they think that building is art ill never know, either of them actually, both are eyesores and one looks just like the M15 building.

GO to tower 42 ( they do meals too ), your missus will love it, your wallet wont though.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 17/10/2007 at 1:08 PM.

I was on it earlier this month actually. Queue's were ridiculous(granted that was a Saturday so I suggest going another day maybe) but you can pay an extra £10(each) to skip the queue and 'fast track' your way onto it, still have to queue that way but definitely cuts it down a lot. It's one of those things where you'll probably only go on it once because you're a tourist and just to say you were on it. I certainly wouldn't go back on it again anyway as I think it's both too expensive(£15 normal queueing or £25 'fast-track') and queue's too long. Gives you a good view of the city though, not that many places stuck out(bar Wembley, The Oval cricket ground and obviously Big Ben, which is right beside it)

46 Posts
    Didn't think much of it at all to be honest. Thought the height would scare me but it was fine. Th queues are ridiculous.I did it mid wek and there were massive queues but it didn't take long to get my ticket actually even though I thought it would. The queue to get in he capsule was crazy but for some reason again it didn't seem to take that long.

Think I paid 30 pound and it really wasn't worth it and I wouldn't bother with it again.Still its an experience. Hope you enjoy it.

I think its worth a spin.

I think it's one of the best attractions in London - (The fact that I got engaged at the top has nothing to do with this, I swear)

C.D.S.C

The copyright for this post is owned by AAD Enterprises and can be used at a cost.

Well worth doing it Dodge, especially if you can do it during the week and miss the Q's

I went on it at dusk - Really nice at that time of the evening. It is a glorified big wheel, but the views are great. Be sure to look out for the camera

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Go to tower 42, far more impressive, seriouslly, especially if you want to get a good view of the City and Canary wharf. Plus its cheaper Except the drink. BUt if you are bringing the bird its a great idea as it kills 2 birds with one stone etc.
    I'm confused about this Tower 42 buisness, do you pay to get drunk and kill your girlfriend and another girl, possibly with one big stone? Is it like London's equivelent to the hostel in Hostel?

Museum of London in the Barbican Centre is a hidden gem.
    When I was there it had a range of exhibits from stone age tools to Sex Pistols single sleeves.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    Museum of London in the Barbican Centre is a hidden gem.
    When I was there it had a range of exhibits from stone age tools to Sex Pistols single sleeves.
    eh...i dont know how open minded your GF is Dodge, but if i were you, id avoid the barbican if she isn't for now

I was walking across King WIlliam Street Bridge ( London Bridge ) the last day thinking about somewhere you should go, oh ya, London Dundgeons if ye buy tickets online for it you dont have to cue, and in fairness its a nice way to spend a couple of hours, its actually decent enough and its not that far a walk from the minellium wheel.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I was walking across King WIlliam Street Bridge ( London Bridge ) the last day thinking about somewhere you should go
    How very sweet/gay of you!

Cheers though.

I was walking across King WIlliam Street Bridge ( London Bridge ) the last day thinking about somewhere you should go
    I was meandering there, sorry

I know a few going to London in mid-January[Friday-Monday] and might go too, have to decide. What the nightlife like there? Is it good for a ****-up like?

Its not really, clapham is about the only area that has a good selection of late bars close to eachother. Central london a la leicester square and those areas are very very packed bar oneills/wardour street area everything else is small enough and quite packed, some good clubs there like depending on what you are into. House music is very big though over in london so most bars etc play that sort of music. West london is the other option that has lots of aussie/kiwi/Saffa bars, they are ok but the crowd in there can get annoying. The other option is cheslea/kensington/fulham, a lot of nice bars tehre, not the kind of places you can "have the craic" though plus the niteclubs are mainly "private clubs" etc so ye cant get in. The only real other two options are camden or shoreditch/old street and they are dependent again on your music types really. Old street is full of house/drum n bass crap, camden is full of hippies and crusties and lots of drug dealers.

So the options are great, but personally none of them anything too special, bar clapham where ye can have the craic and birds are friendly and up for a laugh and a bit of craic.

I was on the Manchester Eye last weekend, although not as big as the London Eye, it's rather boring and a waste of 5 minutes .
    Who Cares?!

Went on it yesterday morning. No queues at all. Pretty expensive but decent enough as tourist attraction. Did the London Dungeons too POS, and good fun they were.

Cheers for the help lads

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast