Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: London

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Went on it yesterday morning. No queues at all. Pretty expensive but decent enough as tourist attraction. Did the London Dungeons too POS, and good fun they were.

Cheers for the help lads
    Good to know, ya Monday was the smart choice and it was the only good day over the weekend so the view should have been decent!!!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Its not really, clapham is about the only area that has a good selection of late bars close to eachother. Central london a la leicester square and those areas are very very packed bar oneills/wardour street area everything else is small enough and quite packed, some good clubs there like depending on what you are into. House music is very big though over in london so most bars etc play that sort of music. West london is the other option that has lots of aussie/kiwi/Saffa bars, they are ok but the crowd in there can get annoying. The other option is cheslea/kensington/fulham, a lot of nice bars tehre, not the kind of places you can "have the craic" though plus the niteclubs are mainly "private clubs" etc so ye cant get in. The only real other two options are camden or shoreditch/old street and they are dependent again on your music types really. Old street is full of house/drum n bass crap, camden is full of hippies and crusties and lots of drug dealers.

So the options are great, but personally none of them anything too special, bar clapham where ye can have the craic and birds are friendly and up for a laugh and a bit of craic.
    Agree with Paul. I destest the centre of London on weekends. Packed with large groups of 18-21 year old idiots who've come in from the outsdkirts for their big night out, everyone's had far too much to drink, everywhere is packed with big queues, the bars are very average, the clubs are poncey and expensive, the music is sh!t, the birds are hugely unfriendly etc etc.

The Swan in Stockwell is where it's all happening these days people.....!

And so it has it appears for the last 10 years!!!!!

My god you must get VIP treatment in that place now!!! Just like my oneills loyalty card!
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    And so it has it appears for the last 10 years!!!!!

My god you must get VIP treatment in that place now!!! Just like my oneills loyalty card!
    Agree with Paul. I destest the centre of London on weekends. Packed with large groups of 18-21 year old idiots who've come in from the outsdkirts for their big night out, everyone's had far too much to drink, everywhere is packed with big queues, the bars are very average, the clubs are poncey and expensive, the music is sh!t, the birds are hugely unfriendly etc etc.
    So its not just me....and nothing to do with age either then
    Last edited by sligoman; 05/11/2007 at 3:27 PM. Reason: merge

LONDON- Getting around

Hey guys. Going to london in april and staying In area Tower Bridge.
    Few questions

1) From there is it far to walk to Oxford Street, the place where all shops are.

2) If not how much is a taxi roughly?

3) From Tower BRidge what station would i get on and what to get off to get to Oxford Street?

Thanks
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

634 Posts
    I've been to London once for a week, and the only time I used a taxi was when the Tube closed at night, and even then I think we only used them twice.
    Can't help with any directions but the tube website is handy.
    http://www.tfl.gov.uk/gettingaround/1108.aspx
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by KR's Post View Post
    Few questions

1) From there is it far to walk to Oxford Street, the place where all shops are.

3) From Tower BRidge what station would i get on and what to get off to get to Oxford Street?

Thanks
    Oxford Circus tube station is what you want for Oxford Street. Honestly, the tube is so easy to work out, you'd do very well to actuctally get lost.
    Best of luck!
    Last edited by stiofain; 08/02/2008 at 9:41 PM.

Few questions

Thanks
    Staying in the Ibis London City by any chance?

You'd easily walk that anyway.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Staying in the Ibis London City by any chance?
    No the Premier Travel Inn Tower Bridge Road!
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Is it far to walk and from Tower Bridge if i was getting a Tube, what station do i get on at?
    Last edited by sligoman; 09/02/2008 at 12:41 PM.
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Hmm, maybe better off with the tube. Thought I walked it in about half this time before
    http://www22.mappy.com/sido8Pk8IsJLy...cv5=&x=26&y=12
    But maybe thats geared towards fat americans.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Geta weekend tube pass. Its expensive enough (about £20) but it'll save you so much time. Go the Lonton transport website and geta tube map. Everything in London is near a tube station. Its easy enough to figure out. I stayed near Tower Bridge and ot the tube to the centre (from Aldgate)

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    ya you'd walk it if you haven't a woman with ye! otherwise id advise you to get the tube from tower hill ( district line ) and then change for the picadilly line at embankment then its two/3 stops or so to oxford circus/picadilly circus from there. thats off the top of my head so you might want to look that up

A taxi would cos ye abou £10 or £12 buts its not really worth it if your going at a busy time.

60 Posts
    Few questions

Thanks
    If you have the post code or street name, this site will be useful. I stayed there once before I moved over, and I discovered that there is a fair walk with luggage to the nearest tube - buses might be in order.

Also there are loads of Night Buses (NOT like Vomit Comets, far nicer) which seem to serve everywhere.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234