Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: A Rant!

1,025 Posts
    Ok, lets look at it this way.........

When a person decides to go to an eL game, to give it a shot, because they saw highlights on TV and it actually looked ok, or whatever reason............

What will make that person want to come back?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post

When a person decides to go to an eL game, to give it a shot, because they saw highlights on TV and it actually looked ok, or whatever reason............

Well personally I started going to City games nearly 3 years ago now. Had always loved football but honestly barely even knew City existed.

Got dragged to the first game(vs Malmo in the intertoto). Had no expectations.

The ground was full, the atmosphere was brilliant and the football was good. I loved it and have been hooked ever since. The passion, the highs and lows you just cant beat it.

Saying all that if my first game had been against Longford on a wet dreary night i dunno if i'd have come back. But once I was hooked it kills me to miss any game now.

reder
    For the first time ever I got in a verbal arguement with an irish lfc fan on sat. As each game passes by they are starting to get on my nerves more and more. I think the EL is better off without people like these!!!!

The whole day was just a disaster. On the flight over, there was me a genuine fan (born and bred scouser), an elderly dub who is also a season ticket holder who has been since the late 70's (never misses a home game and knows more about lfc than me) and about 50-60 morons travelling on a package deal which cost €445 per person. For that money, they got same day return flights, a restricted view match ticket in the anny lower and a coach up and back to anfield from the airport (obviously the train is beneath them!!).

Anyway I took my seat on the flight beside mr. and mrs twenty something engaged (typical snobby pair of twits) and struck up a conversation. I started asking them about the game. It turns out this is their first game and their first ever trip to Anfield. He himself is a Liverpool "fan" but his otherhalf payed €445 " to go and see what its like". Anyway the conversation ebbed and flowed and it was pretty clear that this guy knew nothing about lfc but then the conversation switched to Tuesday night. I was asked if i was going, to which i replied that i was. They then asked me how i got my ticket and i replied that i attended the qualifier and all the group games so i got mine from the club.

Then it started. It turns out that mr and mrs clown had also booked a trip to the game on tues with same company for €550 but alas due to the fact that the tickets are impossible to get it was cancelled.

He then said that he felt that it was very unfair that their trip was cancelled as they had payed a lot of money. He then proceeded to tell me that the club should make tickets available for people like them. As the conversation went on it became VERY clear that he expected people like me to be left without a ticket (cos we get to see the team every week) to allow people like him to get to the games like that. I got off the plane walked along beside him and gave him what for in a very controlled manner. The cheek of some people!

The only programme I actually watch on tv is eircom league weekly on tv3. Never even knew TG4 show EL games, although it would be hard watching the EL on that channel as I only have limited irish.
    Last edited by reder; 05/03/2007 at 2:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post

Some people will be taken in by the atmosphere, some by the quality of football, some by the few pints before and after and a bit of banter
    And some won't enjoy it and never come back - But thats the same with football everywhere

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post

Got dragged to the first game(vs Malmo in the intertoto). Had no expectations.

The ground was full, the atmosphere was brilliant and the football was good. I loved it and have been hooked ever since. The passion, the highs and lows you just cant beat it.

Saying all that if my first game had been against Longford on a wet dreary night i dunno if i'd have come back. But once I was hooked it kills me to miss any game now.
    The ground was far from full v Malmo.
    Was only 2 or 3000 at that game.
    They all came out of the woodwork then for the Njimegen game
    low lie the fields of Bishopstown......

on a ground level lads if you can get people to go to home games they will be taken in by it. When I started going the main reason was for the laugh we had at the games, wanted Limerick to win, but it didn't affect me much either way. Thats the base point with all new fans, if they have fun at the matches they will keep on coming and will develop a bond with the club quickly and become 'proper' fans.

As for EL coverage on TV, well the grounds do need to be improved, but if RTE/TV3/TG4 are serious about their EL coverage then they will have to pump more money into production costs, because at the present standard (especially with TG4) they could show a game from Croke Park and it would still look like an interpub game

[QUOTE=reder;636271]For the first time ever I got in a verbal arguement with an irish lfc fan on sat. As each game passes by they are starting to get on my nerves more and more. I think the EL is better off without people like these!!!!

The whole day was just a disaster. On the flight over, there was me a genuine fan (born and bred scouser), an elderly dub who is also a season ticket holder who has been since the late 70's (never misses a home game and knows more about lfc than me) and about 50-60 morons travelling on a package deal which cost €445 per person. For that money, they got same day return flights, a restricted view match ticket in the anny lower and a coach up and back to anfield from the airport (obviously the train is beneath them!!).

€445 for a day trip??? Holy sh1t. These barstoolers are more brain dead than I thought. Must get into the package deal business

Does the elderly Dub go to any games in his own country?

112 Posts
    Only last Thursday was in the pub after my weekly 6 a side game...usual stuff listening to the rst of the guys going on about whether their team would win at Anfield.... as usual my only contribution was to say how much I'm looking forward to the ko of real football (next Friday)... that sort of comment always gets to the rest of them because I know that they know I am a member of the Rovers 400 c etc and have a lifelong affinity to a local club...so in many ways I kind of embarass their cosy Man U illogiical worshiping as I talk about in a real meaningful way opf how we (Rovers) have come back from the dead and how great it is to be part of a real community of fans ..... one of the guys summed it up (and I've been friends with him for ocver 30 years) when he asked in a smart as manner "..have you not got Rovers out of your system yet.." and I replied "...what so I can get a replica Sunderland shirt like you wore tonight.."

Red&White
    As for bullying people into going to games thats not what I do. Its more a case of you talking to people and when they see how excited and ethusiastic you are about your club and the eL they mite start to get interested too. For example I have been tryin to convince a mate of mine for years to come to games. He is a massive Man Utd fan and every season I ask him will he come out to the Mons sometime. He always says no. Last nite he said he will come out to the first game and see what its all about and he has committed to coming on one of our infamous ROADTRIPS. It may have taken me 5 seasons but eventually he is giving in!

so basically, just show them how much you love it, your passion will eventually ignite their curiousity!
    You said it. We have to play to out strengths and as people have been saying in this thread time and time again one of those is the strong sense of community, the feeling that it's "your" club, the fact that your support means something and stuff like that. That youtube video that did the rounds last week (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vzqGB4WLkY) was a bit cringey but that's what it's about.

I live with a French PSG fan, and two English West Ham and Chesea fans and all of them have been to see Derry play, know when the fixtures are on and know the team. Another friend from London who's in Spain for a year is wowing all the Irish out there with his indepth knowledge of the team and latest news. It's by constantly talking about your love for the team that makes them stop wondering when you're going to support a 'real' team, and makes them see what it means to you. They know I mean it when I say that I'm looking forward to this weeks football- Champions League on Tues and Wed as should be exciting and worth watching, but they're the warm ups for the real deal on Friday night, which I'm far more excited about. They loved the cup fibal last year.

The most annoying and embarressing thing is the facilities though. Last year I spend ages persueding a friend to come on a Friday night to Richmond Park (I'd never been before) and to this day I still cringe when I think about what he must have thought about sitting in that 'stadium' with what looked like two overgrown junkyards at either end and a decrepit stand opposite (no offence to Pats fans, its just an example, Brandywell isn't much better). The people in charge of the league, and the clubs themselves have got to realise that SPECTATORS ARE CUSTOMERS, paying for a product in the same way you pay to see a film for example. I know it's not something that can be fixed overnight, and I know some clubs are taking steps, but for me it should be priority number one for everyone involved in the league for he next year or two.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White View Post
    The most annoying and embarressing thing is the facilities though. Last year I spend ages persueding a friend to come on a Friday night to Richmond Park (I'd never been before) and to this day I still cringe when I think about what he must have thought about sitting in that 'stadium' with what looked like two overgrown junkyards at either end and a decrepit stand opposite (no offence to Pats fans, its just an example, Brandywell isn't much better). The people in charge of the league, and the clubs themselves have got to realise that SPECTATORS ARE CUSTOMERS, paying for a product in the same way you pay to see a film for example. I know it's not something that can be fixed overnight, and I know some clubs are taking steps, but for me it should be priority number one for everyone involved in the league for he next year or two.

It's even worse than that Red & White, there's only one stand in Richmond. the rest is just terracing

I take your point though. Richmond could be a lovely neat little ground, but it need serious work. At the Portadown game last week the place had been given a bit of a cosmetic facelift (new paint job etc) but it's not nearly enough. I have some sympathy with the clubs though. It's hard to keep a competitive team on the pitch (which fans demand, whether they admit it or not) and put major money into upgrading facilities at the same time. The key to me is grant aid. As an example, Pats were awarded a grant of around £1m to build a stand at the Inchicore end, but weren't given the money, as they had to find about 25% of the amount themselves. I think this is most unfair. Pats eventually had to use the money for upgrading required to gain the licence last year as far as I know. I'd love to know the figures of what grants clubs have got over the years in comparision to the various GAA grounds. And I know that the GAA have raised a lot of money themselves,but remember, they don't have to pay their players.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Passion and excitement are contagious. Keep plugging away and if everyone on here is able to convince one or 2 people to come to some games this season, we are turning things around.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Passion and excitement are contagious.
    So is the clap but try to give that to anyone and they'll run like hell.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

123 Posts
    I can remember been lifted over the turnstiles, boveril at half time,the long walk to a bus stop miles away, terrible pitches, no ground safety, soaking wet toilet floors with no bulbs bloodly hell last season was terrible
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

No room for tv gantry on the "small side" of Turners Cross. That stand is not very deep. The gantry used for tv cameras is quiet large & doubles as a tv studio so no need for tv companies to setup their own.

I think Richmond park could be improved similar to Turners Cross with small amount of funding. I think sometime eL clubs wait too long to build grand stands when covered seating would boost attendances a bit.

Dalymount is the only ground that is welcoming in Dublin (we are allowed access to the main stand) so while it may not be pretty to look at is still comfortable.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    So is the clap but try to give that to anyone and they'll run like hell.
    And I get accused of smut!!!

reder
    [QUOTE=NY Hoop;636317

€445 for a day trip??? Holy sh1t. These barstoolers are more brain dead than I thought. Must get into the package deal business

Does the elderly Dub go to any games in his own country?

KOH[/QUOTE]

He actually went to rovers games for many years but when the club started ground sharing etc he stopped going. Also he is elderly now and tries to avoid situations where there could be trouble. He never attends the the derby (everton games) and leaves the city immediately after games like saturday to avoid hassle.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    I take your point though. Richmond could be a lovely neat little ground, but it need serious work. At the Portadown game last week the place had been given a bit of a cosmetic facelift (new paint job etc) but it's not nearly enough. I have some sympathy with the clubs though. It's hard to keep a competitive team on the pitch (which fans demand, whether they admit it or not) and put major money into upgrading facilities at the same time. The key to me is grant aid. As an example, Pats were awarded a grant of around £1m to build a stand at the Inchicore end, but weren't given the money, as they had to find about 25% of the amount themselves. I think this is most unfair. Pats eventually had to use the money for upgrading required to gain the licence last year as far as I know. I'd love to know the figures of what grants clubs have got over the years in comparision to the various GAA grounds. And I know that the GAA have raised a lot of money themselves,but remember, they don't have to pay their players.

grants are a dodgy area if you get one it will only be between 70 and 80%, and you must get the rest yourself which to me seems fair, we had to do it to get our grant for our new stand, and will have to do it again for the other stand we plan on building next year, and hopefully another one the year after which is suppose to cost E1,000,000 plus, but there is only so much available and the clubs who are willing to put into it will be rewarded with nearly 80% of the funding to imporve there ground, the GAA clubs were the same but it was a lot easier for them not havin wage to pay, but you cant have one rule for one lot and another for us, we have been rewarded for our new stand with a premier licence and a suplliment for our promotion officer which will hopefully improve the image of the club, and it will pay for itslef in the long run, if not we just have to rely on good old fundraising, 3-4 years of debt is worth it in the long run really, i think anyway
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    I'd love to know the figures of what grants clubs have got over the years in comparision to the various GAA grounds. And I know that the GAA have raised a lot of money themselves,but remember, they don't have to pay their players.
    It's all in the public domain.
    As they say, do the maths. http://193.178.1.186/grants_funding/...al_review.html
    My home town village GAA club has received about €330,000 to build facilities costing around €2.5m. The balance is raised by members and generating income with the facility (including a small sideline in renting out one of the allweather pitches to the soccer club)

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by incident View Post

It just doesn't make any sense to me. There's nothing wrong with travelling to see a match or a foreign side (hell, I've got 3 trips booked for Bohs matches this season), but what really really annoys me is that so many Irish fans can be so snobbish about their domestic product yet they'll happily spend time and money travelling to see something that's arguably inferior..
    Think you said what I was trying to a lot better!

Quote Originally Posted by charliesboots View Post
    I was a Man United fan until I was about 13 or 14 and then actually realised that Manchester United didn't actually give a **** about me, that I couldn't contribute to them in any meaningful way and that there isn't really a reason to support a club in a different country who I could identify with in no way other than they were on tv every week.
    The very same thing happen to me when I was 13.
    Who Cares?!

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast