3,489 Posts

Delaney Out t-shirt protest

As posted by IrishPraha on a different thread -

http://buzznet-63.vo.llnwd.net/asset...7113823812.jpg

I've posted a few suggestions on this as well elsewhere, which I'll put here too.

Front says "Delaney Out" as in the picture above and underneath "Not a Dundalk protest"

On the back, in list format, a list of Delaney's sins to date -

Communistic suppression of fans' opinions
    Shamrock Rovers' licence fiasco
    Appointing Stan
    Dublin City's licence fiasco
    The Genesis Report to the league and its white lies
    Shelbourne's licence fiasco
    Fines for criticising the FAI
    Screwing up the fans' section for Croker
    Awarding himself a 6-year contract.

If we get a load of these bought for the Wales and Slovakia games, it'll add a bit of public pressure to Delaney. It's not going to solve things, but it's nice to see the fecker squirm. Obviously if people wear them under the Ireland shirts, the stewards will never manage to get all of them. Maybe leak it to the press too and try and get some publicity.

Game's on on the 24th. It'd take maybe a week for shipping? So if we can get a design finalised by the 17th at the very latest, we can stick it up on some t-shirt website and get a few done up.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 11/02/2007 at 7:52 PM.

this lark again...god... does it never end...

Do ye think the t-shirt thing is a good idea? I'm not sure it would take off. I'm not knocking it or anything I just think there could be a more effective way of doing things. Also people are scabby when it comes to these kinda stuff. It would be a good way to get a protest inside I suppose but visually I cant see it being effective. Also its not a friendly its an important game. I would have thought a protest earlier in the week would have been better or perhaps in the build up. The protest at the czech game a couple of years ago was easy to do as there was nothing riding on it.
    Last edited by onenilgameover; 11/02/2007 at 11:08 PM.

3,489 Posts
    The flag is the best way I think, but they've cottoned on to that and they're a lot harder to smuggle in. I know they're important matches, but I don't think that should stop us trying to put some more pressure on Delaney.

Also, 11 t-shirts saying D E L A N E Y O U T is a possibility. Greats more of a visual impression. We can put them on a t-shirt website or just make them ourselves - buy 11 blank t-shirts for a couple of quid each and bring them down to one of those t-shirt printing companies. Or just use some paint.

11 shirts would be better I reckon but crokers a big place and would be hard to stand out and get in pictures without a good postion and the prior knowlege of the media. if ye need numbers/contacts in that regard let me know. I'm gonna stay out of this one if the protest is at the ground. I think something should be organised for the friday evening before the game at merrion square. i'd be well up for that. we could use the red card thing again or something like it. 20/30 people in a line all going up to the door and sticking their individual cards on there. green door red and all that. get all the papers down and yer laughin. that would be much more effective and easier to do.

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover View Post
    11 shirts would be better I reckon but crokers a big place and would be hard to stand
    Use flares?

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy View Post
    Use flares?
    anti-delaney/stan flares?

To get attention for the tshirts

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy View Post
    To get attention for the tshirts
    Right so gotcha...However I'd imagine flares at a serious protest with a serious point etc would look bad to the overall public along the same lines of poor ol' Maxi McAllister.
    Last edited by onenilgameover; 11/02/2007 at 11:09 PM.

Right so gotcha...However I'd imagine flares at a serious protest with a serious point etc would look bad to the overall public along the same lines of poor ol' maxi Maxi McAllister.
    Only if you do what Inter did and threw them en masse onto the pitch, maybe continued uefa fines will shift delaney

The flag is the best way I think, but they've cottoned on to that and they're a lot harder to smuggle in.
    I'd love to see it happen, expecially on the Hill, but security is very very tight in Croker.

161 Posts
    I would suggest contacting the Newstalk106 football crew. They will give this story legs. Delaney has to go. How about balloons with Delaney out. Tons of them released. Or a group of us here online getting a fund togehter to rent a small plane with an advertising trailer DELANEY OUT flying above Croker? Get it in the press whatever the idea is.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    I would suggest contacting the Newstalk106 football crew. They will give this story legs. Delaney has to go. How about balloons with Delaney out. Tons of them released. Or a group of us here online getting a fund togehter to rent a small plane with an advertising trailer DELANEY OUT flying above Croker? Get it in the press whatever the idea is.

a plane!!!! now your thinking....that would be class. I wonder how much that stuff costs....

I remember a group of fans protesting one year that brought out lots of black balloons. They really worked and looked rather spooky....

wow a plane....
    Last edited by onenilgameover; 12/02/2007 at 2:31 AM.

I reckon if the lads on the unofficial merchendice stalls sold delaney out tshirts they'd make a mint!!!

Would be handy if someone knew one of them
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

26 Posts
    Maybe you could get Fran Rooney to organise it for you

Hah ha

Sign me up ... where can i buy them !!

a plane!!!! now your thinking....that would be class. I wonder how much that stuff costs....

I remember a group of fans protesting one year that brought out lots of black balloons. They really worked and looked rather spooky....

wow a plane....
    €520 two years ago .... i am good for a few quid for it anyway, say €50

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Can we get a bouncy castle aswell......
    "I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916

I'd contribute to the cost of the plane. Best idea I have heard so far.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

i reckon the t-shirt protest would be far more effective if organised properly,an aeroploplane banner would allow delaney to use the "it was only the work of 1 or 2 bitter dundalk fans-the rest of irelnad is behind me",a t-shirt protest photographed in the papers with"john from cork " and"liam from dublin"etc will show everbody that it is not just a few dundalk fans

Formerly: wild rover
    possibly the best would be a delaney banner out at every game on the opening day....2 per ground..im sure if you alerted the media it would get some attention