Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Top 10 Sitcoms?

Father Ted, Only Fools and Horses, Red Dwarf. Another one that I didn't watch at the time but enjoy it when I see it now is The Vicar of Dibley. It's on Living TV lately and I've found it enjoyable when I watch it.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    Father Ted, Only Fools and Horses, Red Dwarf. Another one that I didn't watch at the time but enjoy it when I see it now is The Vicar of Dibley. It's on Living TV lately and I've found it enjoyable when I watch it.
    Forgot about the many teenage years spent watching Red Dwarf in the graveyard shift on RTE2, quality show

Father Ted
    I'm Alan Partridge
    The Office
    Blackadder
    Frasier
    Friends
    Scrubs
    My Name is Earl
    Simpsons
    South Park
    Last edited by gustavo; 01/03/2007 at 1:00 PM.

1) Seinfeld
    2) Seinfeld
    3) Seinfeld
    4) Seinfeld
    5) Seinfeld
    6) Seinfeld
    7) Seinfeld
    8) Seinfeld
    9) Seinfeld
    10) Porridge

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Don't like putting order on these things so

- Simpsons (Of course it counts!)
    - Seinfeld
    - Arrested Development
    - Phoenix Nights
    - Curb Your Enthusiasm
    - The Office (UK + US = 1 show for these purposes)
    - Father Ted
    - Larry Sanders Show
    - Only Fools + Horses
    - South Park (again IT COUNTS )/I'm Alan Partridge - couldn't decide...

Other notable mentions - Futurama, Cheers, Blackadder, Fawlty Towers, Black Books, One Foot in the Grave, Bottom.

Man, we're all very unoriginal aren't we - goes to show that some shows are just universally loved.

Here's a few great ones that haven't been mentioned

Going back a bit - Dad's Army, Steptoe & Son, Porridge, Police Squad!, that Andy Richter one

Here's the BBC list from a few years back:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sitcom/winner.shtml

THE TOP 10 SITCOMS

Only Fools and Horses (22.2%)
    Blackadder (18.3%)
    Vicar of Dibley (13.8%)
    Dad's Army (11.3%)
    Fawlty Towers (11.2%)
    Yes Minister (8%)
    Porridge (pictured) (6.1%)
    Open All Hours (4.4%)
    The Good Life (2.6%)
    One Foot in the Grave (2%)
    Vicar of Dibley (13.8%)
    - Seriously, what the f is going on there?
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    In no particular order.

Curb
    Cheers
    Frasier
    Seinfeld
    The Office
    Fawlty Towers
    Only Fools & Horses
    Father Ted

In one half of a Christmas Tree order, you mean.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Those crazy BBC people only putting in BBC comedies.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Ab Fab is simply awful IMO. Thats taste for ye. Different strokes for... Whatchyou talkin about willis?

Third Rock was pretty funny in a goofy sort of way.

I've never seen Arrested Developement, Kath and Kim or Black Books.
    Indeed t'wood be a bit dull if we all agreed on everything, this place would be a morgue. I accept my hatred of Friends borders on the irational, moving the box set from the Comedy section to drama in HMV was the all time low.....

Check out Kath & Kim it's Australian but the bbc have picked it up, I find it very amusing, Black Books is Dylan Moran if you like his stand up stuff you'll like it otherwise I'd skip it personally I love it.

Think he was pointing out Vicar of Dibley being ahead of the likes of Porridge and Fawlty Towers

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Think he was pointing out Vicar of Dibley being ahead of the likes of Porridge and Fawlty Towers
    Fr. Ted was No. 11 in the voting - how convenient...

The Beeb's pride and joy, The Office, was a long way down the list surprisingly enough. People forget that it got far, far less viewers than BBC1 rubbish like that Ardal O'Hanlon superhero thing or My Family (as alluded to on Extras)
    SIGNATURESCOPE

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    The Royle Family, great stuff while it lasted.
    God, that was one of the biggest loads of drivel I've ever spent about two minutes watching! Load of knackers sitting around the telly farting. Didn't watch much more than that, to be honest...

No order again (although most have been mentioned by now) -

Blackadder
    Father Ted
    Red Dwarf (hugely underrated show)
    Fawlty Towers
    Mr Bean?
    Up Pompeii is good craic
    Don't see why The Simpsons and Family Guy aren't sit coms. The Simpsons is mentioned as an example numerous times in the Wikipedia article on sitcomes, for instance.

Not a big fan of American comedies as a general rule though.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Everyone Loves Raymond must be the best example of hit US show that could never attract a UK-Irish audience.
    Each to their own but I find it funny, especially the quips of the hen-pecked father (the actor died recently).

What about Rab C Nesbitt? I used to enjoy that as well when I could understand what he was saying.

Cheers I could watch without finding it hilarious.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Any of ye watching 'heroes' at the moment? Ive watched the series online and its a cracking show. Tipped to be the next big thing over here...
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Anyone ever used to watch Sgt.Bilko/The Phil Silvers show on BBC? Still quality comedy despite it being 50 years old

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Anyone ever used to watch Sgt.Bilko/The Phil Silvers show on BBC? Still quality comedy despite it being 50 years old
    Brilliant stuff. One of the greats and still hilarious 50 years later.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

I generally like non-mainstream comedy & eventhough I have Arrested Development a chance I could not stick with it.

With a few exceptions the US still produces the best sit-coms probably due to vast quality of shows the produce rather than anything else as theres a massive amount of rubbish out there too.

1,025 Posts
    Only fools and horses
    Fawlty Towers
    Cheers
    Frasier
    The Office
    Fox News

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Gah! Knew I was forgetting something - take one of my top 10 out and stick the Phil Silvers show in instead.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Happy days watching Bilko with my Grandad as a little pup. Timeless indeed.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Scrubs (easily my number one)

others in no particular order:
    Arrested Development
    Everybody Loves Raymond
    Oliver Beene
    Frasier
    Open All Hours
    Fawlty Towers
    Shameless
    I'm Alan Partridge/Knowing Me, Knowing You
    Father Ted
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast