Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: First Division Predictions

397 Posts

Dunno about the camp but my mood is one of pessimism which only a visit of Dundalk can bring. Even very good Limerick sides (and this one isn't very good) never beat Dundalk

LTID - Looks like our spell of doom continues over you................if its any consolation we haven`t beaten Rovers in over 10 years in a Lge game, the only win being a 4-0 Fai cup semi final in 2002, then again that was a bit tasty

What was the game like ? heard crowd was 1,500 ?

100 Posts
    1,514 was the official attendance. About 60-70 Dundalk fans I'd say.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Where do you like - cuckcoo land?
    followed by:

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark
    Harps have the strongest first division team ever I would say. It is better than most premier division teams. They will walk it.

Why do people think Athlone will push for it? What is the basis for this?

As for Shels it would be a miracle if they don't finish bottom.

1st Harps
    2nd Dundalk
    3rd Monaghan
    Tonights result:

KILDARE COUNTY 1-0 FINN HARPS

Yis had better hope kilkenny dont get a result tomorrow night!!!
    dear o dear....

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    What was the game like ? heard crowd was 1,500 ?
    Was pretty entertaining stuff

Your goal was ridiculously poor from our point of view. Basically our left back tucked in to defend a free and our left winger never tracked back leaving your right winger a free run in to square it. Real schoolboy stuff.

Second half we had an awful lot of the ball and an awful lot of territory but never really looked like breaking you down. Could have punished us on the counter attack a couple of times but for some good saves by our keeper.

Having seen everyone bar Shels and Monaghan so far I reckon ye will waltz the division tbh. Some good players and very well drilled. For our part, depending on what happens in July we will be comfortably mid-table, possibly challenging for a play-off IMO.

Crowd as mentioned above was 1514 with about 70 impecably behaved but clearly drunk Dundalk fans

Any of ye know who your no.6 was the other night. Had the decency to clap the Limerick fans for there efforts at the end before heading over to the Dundalk crowd. Fairplay

im on target for the top two alright, good win over shel last night, ther'e a hard team to play against i hope they dont get anyone in the transfer window could make things difficult in the second half of the season,
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

397 Posts
    LTID - Thanks for your views there, as honest an account as are your posts ! I wouldn`t get too dispondent, there are still around 30 games left, this time last year we were mid table and seemingly going nowhere, so although we are 4 pts clear, its a very long ong way to go. However, with Finn Harps obvious collapse (FH Fans - this must be down to player attitude, as you have a very good team) and Shels now just a name, Athlone (Ash - its just hot and cold with you lot so far - when will the real athlone appear ?) - it leaves IMO Cobh and Lims our closest challengers, and remember its 3rd v 2nd for the play off final (v 11th in premier) this year so everything to play for.

ps dom ram - i told you cobh were the best team we played so far - our local rag said as much, your goals against will back this up - LTID - tighten up your defence and you`ll be top 3 no probs.

Not sure who our no 6 was in limerick, i`ll find out and let you know. PS re the drunken fans, maybe this was the shed bhoys on tours, they usually run buses to most away games, but maybe Liemrick was too far and they just made a bit of a day of it ? anyway glad they behaved.

123 Posts
    Think the number 6 was paul marney the goal scorer, he was playing centre mid with williams and think he generally wears 8. I could be wrong though

Fair play to the Dundalk players for going towards the stand and applauding the Limerick supporters at the end-it was a nice touch. I taught the atmosphere was brilliant btw.....
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

Quote Originally Posted by pearse4t3 View Post
    Fair play to the Dundalk players for going towards the stand and applauding the Limerick supporters at the end-it was a nice touch. I taught the atmosphere was brilliant btw.....
    I'd echo that fair play to them

IMO Cobh and Lims our closest challengers, and remember its 3rd v 2nd for the play off final (v 11th in premier) this year so everything to play for.
    Genuinely all comes down to July for us

why what is happenin in july, ye lot keep sayin it, that only a hlaf way marker
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    We can strenghten our squad with a few players, two we have in mind in particular

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post

Well u see we have no real squad yet. we rused together 18 odd players but only 7/8 are up to scratch. To have 12 points at this stage of the season is a welcome surprise. So there are one or two junior players who can come up to LOI first division standard we should be signing and in July (senior transfer window) we will be signing a striker to two.

100 Posts
    I must say I had a great time down at the game. The final whistle couldn't come quick enough to be honest. There was a lot of heart in mouth stuff in the second half but I thought we defended well and definitely derserved the win more than you did but it's true that we probably wouldn't have been too disappointed with the draw. You on some nice stuff for sale in the club shop, I particularly liked the Limerick 3:7 t-shirt.

P.S. Number 6 was Paul Marney by the way.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Limerick fans we excellent, fair play, hope us go up.... in play off obviously after we come 1st...

Great night out in Limerick aswell
    One team in Louth, DFC

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    There is no doubt that all these guises of Limerick Senior soccer are the one club, only one or two berudgers and non educated foreigners think otherwise.
    While not considering myself a begrudger or a foreigner I should note that I think the above statement is completely false. This is a new club and anybody who believes otherwise is clinging to history for purposes I can't even fathom. Having just discovered this thread now this is my prediction (which may be edited to add some details later but for now will just be a list):

1. Dundalk
    ^
    ^big gap
    ^
    ^(2-6 could finish in any order)
    2. Athlone Town
    3. Cobh Ramblers
    4. Limerick 37
    5. Finn Harps
    6. Shelbourne

7. Monaghan United
    8. Kildare County
    9. Wexford Youth
    10.Kilkenny City

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    While not considering myself a begrudger
    In all fairness man your both a begrudger and all round awkward snarly b ollix of epic proportions

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    However, with Finn Harps obvious collapse (FH Fans - this must be down to player attitude, as you have a very good team)
    A very insightful comment. Dundalk fans had the privlege of seeing us play the only decent bit of ball we played all season, the first 50 minutes in Oriel.

Finn Harps fans are a sad and most of all confused bunch at the minute - we got the manager we all wanted, got most of our transfer targets, and had what preseason looked a good, well balanced squad, if maybe lacking a backup centre half and striker.

We looked decent and played decent football preseason especially against Derry and Galway and for half a match against Dundalk looked like we might be serious title contenders. We got a man sent off and Dundalk took three points when we deserved (even according to most Dundalk fans) at least 1. And since then we have been pure $hite playing the worst kind of hoofball (the kind that not only ain't pretty but also ain't effective).

Ask a Harps fan what went wrong and few have any kind of answer at this stage. If this team starts to play we could still have a respectable end to the season, otherwise God knows!

In all fairness man your both a begrudger and all round awkward snarly b ollix of epic proportions
    True true. However I'm also right.

397 Posts
    [QUOTE=Mr_T;671714]A very insightful comment. Dundalk fans had the privlege of seeing us play the only decent bit of ball we played all season, the first 50 minutes in Oriel.

Finn Harps fans are a sad and most of all confused bunch at the minute - we got the manager we all wanted, got most of our transfer targets, and had what preseason looked a good, well balanced squad, if maybe lacking a backup centre half and striker.

We looked decent and played decent football preseason especially against Derry and Galway and for half a match against Dundalk looked like we might be serious title contenders. We got a man sent off and Dundalk took three points when we deserved (even according to most Dundalk fans) at least 1. And since then we have been pure $hite playing the worst kind of hoofball (the kind that not only ain't pretty but also ain't effective).

MR T - I sincerely hope you do turn it around as this division is in danger of losing any competitive edge if we continue to pull away. The div needs a strong finn harps (+ athlone, limerick and cobh for that matter), all are more than capable of attracing decent crowds and all from football mad areas. I honestly thought harps would be our closest challengers followed by athlone, then cobh/limerick. Still time for harps to turn it around, but you need to sort it out and quick. The players you have are better than the last two results ? is it fitness issue do you think ?

I still say cobh are the best we have faced so far. (but i personally cant speak for limerick as i haven`t actually seen them play yet but heard from a few who have that they are also very decent)

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_T View Post
    A very insightful comment. Dundalk fans had the privlege of seeing us play the only decent bit of ball we played all season, the first 50 minutes in Oriel.

Ask a Harps fan what went wrong and few have any kind of answer at this stage. If this team starts to play we could still have a respectable end to the season, otherwise God knows!
    No heart or determination in much of the squad if you ask me.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast