3rd Shels
    4th Athlone
    5th Cobh
    6th Limerick
    7th Kildare County
    8th Monaghan United
    9th Wexford Youths
    10th Kilkenny

Looking at the squads, Harps and Dundalk seem to have the strongest squads. Athlone look very strong this year as well and will push for a play-off spot. Shels squad is starting to take shape, but the fact they haven't played together yet might mean a slow start - but I reckon they will finish strong. Cobh have lost a few players while Limerick are under new managment and could take time to settle. I think the other four could finish in any order in the bottom four to be honest.

This season 1st goes up automatically while 2nd and 3rd play in a one-off play off match at the home of the team that finishes in second place. The winner of this play-off then plays the 2nd last team in the Premier. Can't understand why the FAI have decided to have a one-leg semi-final to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post
    This season 1st goes up automatically while 2nd and 3rd play in a one-off play off match at the home of the team that finishes in second place. The winner of this play-off then plays the 2nd last team in the Premier. Can't understand why the FAI have decided to have a one-leg semi-final to be honest.
    What a crappy, two bit system

Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post

In case Shels finish third?

Back Four: Brian Buckley, Paul Finucane, Pat Purcell, Nigel Keady......... That's why

Still a Junior side?? Don't comment on a team you obviously haven't a clue about

Expecting too much.......... You think Cobh will finish second

We should struggle for the first two weeks after that we'll be grand, don't worry
    well second our third as i said where did you finnish last season? below us and and your club dissapered, we lost two players of a bad defence so thats not bad, how many players have you taken form the former club you supported, where are all these eircom league expierienc players comin from, im being realistic last year we were fourth and two teams above us were promoted, dundalk are the strongest, we all agree on that, harps bought player but will they gel that is why we may finnish third, shels wont do great they owe money a lot of money (sorry if that a bad comment but its fact) so where are they gettin money for a challengeing squad, id like to know so i can go and get it myself,
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    well second our third as i said where did you finnish last season? below us and and your club dissapered, we lost two players of a bad defence so thats not bad, how many players have you taken form the former club you supported, where are all these eircom league expierienc players comin from, im being realistic last year we were fourth and two teams above us were promoted, dundalk are the strongest, we all agree on that, harps bought player but will they gel that is why we may finnish third, shels wont do great they owe money a lot of money (sorry if that a bad comment but its fact) so where are they gettin money for a challengeing squad, id like to know so i can go and get it myself,
    Are match days in Cobh still gonna be doubling as the free local creche by the way?

well second our third as i said where did you finnish last season? below us and and your club dissapered, we lost two players of a bad defence so thats not bad,
    Cobh Rmbs
    In
    Jamie Nolan (Cork C)
    Brian McCarthy (Cobh R)

Out
    David Breen (Waterford Utd)
    Anthony Fennelly (Free)
    Robert Brosnan (Waterford Utd)
    Willie Bruton (Waterford Utd)
    Packie Holden (Waterford Utd)
    Darren Murphy (Cork C)

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Are match days in Cobh still gonna be doubling as the free local creche by the way?
    Now, now, jebus, the sailors promised those single mothers the world only to abandon them

Let them have their Saturday nights off, the kids are alright

Cobh Rmbs
    In
    Jamie Nolan (Cork C)
    Brian McCarthy (Cobh R)

Out
    David Breen (Waterford Utd)
    Anthony Fennelly (Free)
    Robert Brosnan (Waterford Utd)
    Willie Bruton (Waterford Utd)
    Packie Holden (Waterford Utd)
    Darren Murphy (Cork C)

ya recheck you said i knew notin of your squad which is bs, you know absoulutly notin of our squad there are only two regulars gone breen wasnt all that and murphy got sent off to much, they were the defence which was s***e last year ill say that, as for the others fennelly didnt play, brosnan went on loan just as we got good last year bruton didnt play, holen was a rotating keeper with McCarthy, any more for me to clear up for ya

and jebus doenst matter if its a cresh its not even a cresh its the under age teams and there friends, some are the older supporters kids to, as long a speople are supprotin the team i dont care some kids run amoke that was always the way but the teens follow the team, there the future support for the club, wheres yers, wnet up there last year not as many as was at our ground, and thats a fact

Oh dear.......

Cobh schoolboy supporters, if ever there was an advertisement for introducing ASBOs in Ireland.....

ya recheck you said i knew notin of your squad which is bs, you know absoulutly notin of our squad there are only two regulars gone breen wasnt all that and murphy got sent off to much, they were the defence which was s***e last year ill say that, as for the others fennelly didnt play, brosnan went on loan just as we got good last year bruton didnt play, holen was a rotating keeper with McCarthy, any more for me to clear up for ya

The In Column would bother me if I was a Cobh fan sonny

It matters that it's a creche because they're all running around like apes as opposed to watching the game. Could you not get a cage for em or something??

Anyways........... Any idea where your playing your first game yet??

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo
    lets follow waterford ramblers ill be buyin my season ticket tomorrow
    its a disgrace that nobody has come in to replaace half the first team, the club needs money they threw everything at it last year and got notin, a gamble that they lost and now there strapped for cash, notin we can do about it were talkin two our three bad seasons
    Recognise this post from the Cobh forum??

Oh Dear

Does our signing Steve Feeney change anyone's minds?

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    In a word....no....

What's a Steve Feeny

115 Posts
    Having been paying close attention to these matters until very recently, it is my carefully considered opinion that:

1. Dundalk
    2. Harps
    3. Athlone
    4. Monaghan
    5. Shels
    6. Ramblers
    7. Limerick
    8. Kildare
    9. Wexford Youths
    10. Kilkenny

Will be the final day table.

Dundalk, Athlone and Mons have signed good players.
    Harps have kept hold of good players.
    Ramblers (despite what Don Ramo says), Shels (duh) and Kildare have lost good players.
    No scratch side can walk into a league and do well first time out, sorry.
    And Kilkenny are Kilkenny!
    I may be talking through me arse though...
    more bass

30 Posts
    If you can get him fit and keep him that way he'll be a great signing for ye.
    He's stationed in Dundlak so Mons would suit him better than travelling
    down to Athlone

Lims lads...u will know what a Steve Feeney is when it hits ya in a few weeks!

Recognise this post from the Cobh forum??

Oh Dear
    dont think our team is as weak as first thought really, though given what players we lost we would proably win this year with last years squad, athlone i dont think will do that well (as they say what is it based on), shels have no squad might get some players in mid seaosn and make a push up the table but more than likely not, dundalk have the strongest squad without doubt and can only lose it themselfs really, harps may jump us depending on how the new players settle, but id say the top three will be the top three just maybe not that order, same goes for the bottom two
    ya as i said its actually not as bad as i first thought that was only posted on "this" thread yesterday dont bother goin back months when i thought it was bad, waste of your time, i did make a mistake in judgein to early i can admit that,

oh and if the young people wont support the club, runin around our whichever (only up ta about 15 years old mess about and after taht its a place to meet up, better then hanging about street corners and the likes) thats where limerick went wrong a strict no children policy, so now there banning kids from ground good way to get to the community,
    and that is what your complainin about so you have no defense

and finally from what i have heard our first game in the league will be ye lot in your place, jackman park is it, the fixture was reversded, from waht ive heard
    Last edited by don ramo; 28/02/2007 at 4:56 PM.

1.Dundalk
    2.Athlone
    3.Harps
    4.37 Muppets
    5.Shels
    6.Monaghan
    7.Cobh
    8.Wexford
    9.Kilkenny
    10.Kildare
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

I have reserved my predictions for the league and thank fully so,because this is a big loss to athlone and a big gain for mons.
    He should fit into the team perfectly and will get the team passing and playing good football.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast