View Poll Results: Who will win the Setanta Cup in 2007 ?

Voters
111. You may not vote on this poll
  • Derry City

32 28.83%
  • Drogheda Utd

19 17.12%
  • Glentoran

1 0.90%
  • Linfield

18 16.22%
  • Cork City

13 11.71%
  • Dungannon Swifts

2 1.80%
  • Portadown

0 0%
  • St. Patrick's Athletic

26 23.42%
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Who will win the Setanta Cup?

57 Posts
    Derry to hold three Cups at once.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Fancy Dungannon to beat them tonight.
    Good bet though, Swifts H/T, Cork F/T 25-1 (PP)
    I seen that on the Bohs forum so I want with it - also, Gary O'Neill to be top scorer!
    Who Cares?!

21 Posts
    I think the cup could go back north again - possibly to Linfield

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Whats with all this Pats bitterness towards City.
    Not to mention Shels! Why? Oh, I forgot, we robbed all your best players every time you did well .
    Then we also made sure ye didn't win the league simply coz Big Pat said ye should ( regardless of the rules ).

BTW Pat is looking very slim these days judging on the last photo I saw of him.

All I'll say to ye Pat's is good luck in the competition and I hope ye play well and do the league proud. Ye were magnificent representatives for a while when ye were playing in Europe -until FC Zimbru of course ( Oh well, I suppose every club has a few bad days in Europe ). I'm quite happy ( delighted in fact ) to see ANY eL team do well in non-domestic competitions.

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman View Post
    Not to mention Shels! Why? Oh, I forgot, we robbed all your best players every time you did well .
    Then we also made sure ye didn't win the league simply coz Big Pat said ye should ( regardless of the rules ).

BTW Pat is looking very slim these days judging on the last photo I saw of him.

All I'll say to ye Pat's is good luck in the competition and I hope ye play well and do the league proud. Ye were magnificent representatives for a while when ye were playing in Europe -until FC Zimbru of course ( Oh well, I suppose every club has a few bad days in Europe ). I'm quite happy ( delighted in fact ) to see ANY eL team do well in non-domestic competitions.
    Finding it very difficult not to burst out laughing reading this. Actually finding it very difficult to take anybody seriously who defended Ollie (and actually believed it) when everybody was warning what was to come!!

Can't wait for the Setanta tonight - real football again.

where's the final being held this year? up north?

I voted for Drogs but i want Linfield to win it.

21 Posts
    I think the cup could go back north again - possibly to Linfield

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    where's the final being held this year? up north?
    Depends who's in it. If there's a Northern team involved it'l be up north alright I'd say

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Shels fans talking about the Setanta
    What I find funnier is 21% of people think Pat's will win it.

246 Posts
    What I find funnier is 21% of people think Pat's will win it.

Speaking of bitterness
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Speaking of bitterness
    How many people voted for Sligo
    SIGNATURESCOPE

With 6 games in the group allows Cork City & Pats to start slowly, win your home games & you qualfy for the semi finals.

Drogs are screwed now after losing at home & Derry & Linfield are in firm pole position in that group.

Didn't see much of last nights game but i fancy Linfield although they may need to get a home semi final draw.

Drogs lost two group matches last year although this year they're in a tougher group.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    With 6 games in the group allows Cork City & Pats to start slowly, win your home games & you qualfy for the semi finals.

Drogs are screwed now after losing at home & Derry & Linfield are in firm pole position in that group.

Didn't see much of last nights game but i fancy Linfield although they may need to get a home semi final draw.
    How could Pats winning 3-0 be described as starting slowly?

How are we screwed ? we went to the brandywell and windsor and beat them both last season .We are well capable of getting positive results up north .We deserved a draw last night .Only for that cork langer of a ref robbed us again Great result for you against the mighty dungannon

246 Posts
    Well, it did take us 41 minutes to score the first goal.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Drogs are screwed now after losing at home
    Eh....5 out of 6 games left to play ?

Wink

Fair enough, but it WAS Portadown you were playing ( ****e last year and obviously ****e this year too ). Fair play though and congratulations. I've always wanted to see Alan Kirby playing for one of the big clubs as he's a class act.

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    How are we screwed ?
    Maybe screwed is strong term but definitely up againts it. Linfield & Derry are strong at home so while you might win there the odds are against you. The Setanta Cup is all about winning your home games. While Glens might potentially be the weakest in the group a win in the Oval won't be easy so Derry have had good start.

In any group competition a loss especially at home in the first round puts a lot of pressure on teams. If Drogs lose to Derry City away they will be more or less eliminated.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast