Thread: Fans Plan to save Shels?

I was genuinely not trying to wind anyone up. Was hoping some Shels inform that something happening...

It just goes to show BD say they are an Ultras group but when their club needs them...

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    What clubs will Shels fans migrate to, if their own goes bang?
    Why would you think we would migrate to any other club?

Also it's not like you can just show up in Dalyer and start cheering on Bohs. I'd support my local AUL club i suppose - Liffey Pearse.

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8 View Post
    It just goes to show BD say they are an Ultras group but when their club needs them...
    ......What?

Have you any idea what BD have done for Shels during this time? Have you any idea how many members BD have? Have you any idea how many people give money out of their own pockets to fund BD?

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    ......What?

Have you any idea what BD have done for Shels during this time? Have you any idea how many members BD have? Have you any idea how many people give money out of their own pockets to fund BD?
    So they will give money to fund an ultras group but not money to save the club? is that what you are saying?

We have a system put in place via the SSDG where people pay money in monthly, which is a damn sight better organised than the idea of taking a 5 grand loan and handing it over to a club. So to answer your question, yes Shels fans went and formed a Development Group which other fans can join and contribute to. Now you can ignore the fact that this group exists and continue to say that Shels fans did nothing, or you can acknowledge that a bunch of fans are trying to get fans to pay monthly sums and raise money via a number of avenues, as well as taking over parts of the club like the programme and running it successfully.

But then you can continue to ignore this..

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=563
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by BulmersKid View Post
    So they will give money to fund an ultras group but not money to save the club? is that what you are saying?
    No thats not what i'm saying. Check your PM's because i won't be drawn on this here.

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    We have a system put in place via the SSDG where people pay money in monthly, which is a damn sight better organised than the idea of taking a 5 grand loan and handing it over to a club. So to answer your question, yes Shels fans went and formed a Development Group which other fans can join and contribute to. Now you can ignore the fact that this group exists and continue to say that Shels fans did nothing, or you can acknowledge that a bunch of fans are trying to get fans to pay monthly sums and raise money via a number of avenues, as well as taking over parts of the club like the programme and running it successfully.

But then you can continue to ignore this..

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=563
    HOW CAN ANYONE IGNORE THIS!

Started laughing when I read it it. To quote one brilliant part :

As funds where re-directed to other areas, it is noticeable that Tolka Park, lacking its usuak sparkle, requires attention. A ground maintenance team will look into the possibiltity of refurbisihing certain areas, depending on how much longer th current Board of Management envisages us residing in Tolka Park

Yeah WexfordNed, a laugh a second.

In fairness I can see what you are trying to do & I say fair play. But perspnally as a non-shles fan when I read that statement after all the money Ollie squandered away, as a nuetral it sounded like something Bertie & his cronies would come out with in the dail to explain all his f**k ups

Wexfordned are you suggesting we gather as much money as possible and just hand it over to the club and not ask where it's going and have no say because of it?

I don't think anyone is suggesting that, so it's a pointless question.

The point is raising money would give you bargaining power, which could be used to change club structures and perhaps precipitate at least part ownership of the club by its fans. Decent idea no? You could discuss it with the board and say "if we raise X amount, we want X say in the club", they could take it or leave it.

Also Gareth & the other Shels fans volunteering to work/raise funds, you deserve serious respect for it and you're the only reason I hope Shels don't implode.

Wexfordned, make up your mind. On one hand you laugh at the fact no Shels fans are doing anything (which is incorrect), and on the other hand when you read that there are movements to help the club, you say do we really expect fans to help out after what Ollie did. I am confused now.

Quote Originally Posted by fauxhemian View Post
    The point is raising money would give you bargaining power, which could be used to change club structures and perhaps precipitate at least part ownership of the club by its fans. Decent idea no? You could discuss it with the board and say "if we raise X amount, we want X say in the club", they could take it or leave it.
    Thats exactly what the SSDG are doing though and yet Wexfordned decided to laugh at their attempts,thats why i asked the question that you deemed "pointless"

Where did I say that? You don't have to be a financial whizkid to know that you might as well gamble your money on a three legged horse at Cheltenham rather give any money to the shels board based on their financial management strategies.

Shels as a company are so deep in debt they are almost worthless. Also as Ollie apparently wants out surely he would accept any sort of reasonable offer from the fans for his shares. Surely the club can get enough fans to contribute to create some sort of members club based on the Bohs & more recently Rovers models.

What I was laughing at was the re-directing of funds line, being a slight understatement. I have no doubt Gareth that you & a few other fans give an awful lot of your free time voluntarily to help the club. It would seem to me & maybe a few others that you however seem to be in the minority. Time will tell I guess...............
    Last edited by wexfordned; 24/02/2007 at 11:06 AM.

Thats exactly what the SSDG are doing though and yet Wexfordned decided to laugh at their attempts,thats why i asked the question that you deemed "pointless"
    No one with even a solitary functional brain cell would even suggest handing over a sum of money without wanting something in return, be it a simple guarantee or a say in the club.

But if someone was suggesting it, they are better ignored/locked up. Hence using the word "pointless"

The SSDG seems like too much of a club mouth piece. Have ye thought of trying to gain control of the club yourselfs?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    The SSDG seems like too much of a club mouth piece. Have ye thought of trying to gain control of the club yourselfs?
    Have you read up on the SSDG Pete? If you have you would realise that "a club mouth piece" is exactly what they are not.

Every other league fan has been laughing at the fact that Shels fans are not doing anything to help the club,here is the visable proof that the fans actually are helping the club and it's being competely ignored and dismissed(the fact that a lot of fans are doing everything they can behind the scenes and it's not being publicised,is also lost).

Fans plan to Save Shels?

I personally hope Shels survive in some shape or form. It's better to be in the First Division than not to be in existence at all. If the worst comes to the worst Shels fans should support UCD for a number of reasons shown below .
    1/ We play passing football the way it should be played......... just like Shelbourne .....
    2/ Shels fans your team used our Home colours as your away strip this past few seasons. So you can turn up in Belfield wearing your Shels away shirts and you will fit right in
    3/ Shels were founded in Dublin 4 ,...... UCD are in Dublin 4.
    4/ Shels were founded in 1895 , just like UCD.
    5/ There have been many players down through the years who played for both clubs e.g.
    Brian Lenihan, Tony McCarthy, Dave Tilson,
    6/ Shels Legend Theo Dunne is our honorary Vice President
    7/ You can still be supporting the best team in Dublin
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 25/02/2007 at 9:26 AM.

It really is a doomed if you do and doomed if you dont. We get the fans to create a body to invest time and effort into running the club etc and how its a mouthpiece. Its really very difficult to see exactly what you all are talking about us doing?