Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers Fans Defamation on 2FM

So it was a discussion about the GAA, IRFU and Republican Sinn Fein and they put Alan Hunter on the air to make stuff up about Shams

A new low for RTE! Even worse news for Shamrock, as a new club to the Premier Division the last thing they need is to get into a war with the largest supporter's group in the country.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Lads, Rovers have already gone legal on this and it's the only way we might get satisfaction.

There is something we can all do as listeners - make a complaint to the Broadcasting Complaints Commission. Unlike the papers, broadcasters are accountable.

As Irish football fans, Hunter is misrepresenting himself as some kind of voice for us. We all know that's rubbish and RTÉ need to be told as much officially. Tell the BCC - http://www.bcc.ie/how_to_complaint/index.html

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

It makes you wonder though If a nutter like Hunter and his pseudo supporters assoc. can get this much attention from RTE then what the hell were the NLSA during their short lived existance. Surely had they approached RTE in the way Hunter does they too would have been given Airtime to make legitimate points and be as they stated at the outset the voice of Irish Football Fans

Thumbs down

RTE Audience Council

RTE: Purpose

The public interest tests that RTÉ sets for itself include:

- Fairness
    - Accuracy
    - Impartiality
    - Objectivity
    - Independence from vested interests and freedom from political control or influence
    - High quality schedules available to all (i.e. free to air)
    - A significant proportion of programming originating in Ireland
    - Schedules that include programming for minority groups and interests
    - Schedules that respect the views of the audience and enhance their cultural expectations
    - Programming that recognises regional interests and cultural diversity
    - Programming that encourages understanding and tolerance
    - Programming that is imaginative and original.

All of these tests are in the interest of the audience, and are open to comment and feedback by the audience; the Audience Council facilitates this communication and these topics form the basic agenda for each Council meeting.
    Are RTE meeting their self described purpose?

the first three letter read as FAI.........you just know you're in trouble even before you begin with that lot so....

You should read the NUJ charter. Very lofty standards they set themselves very rarely adhered to.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

So now I'm really confused...am I meant to riot tomorrow or what ?
    "I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    You should read the NUJ charter. Very lofty standards they set themselves very rarely adhered to.
    A bit like Bohs of late...

Quote Originally Posted by Jamjar View Post
    So now I'm really confused...am I meant to riot tomorrow or what ?

IF IN DOUBT.... RIOT....YOU KNOW THE DRILL

Is RTE legally responsible for whatever guff their callers come out with, unless they offer the aggrieved party a reply or something like that. Didn't they have to cough up some cash to Martin Cullen and Monica Leech for comments made on Liveline? I doubt Hunter has much cash to pay out on claims against him - he looks like the type who'd eat his own shoes.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

57 Posts
    RTE are well aware and have been reminded on many occasions who Alan Hunter really is and that he only represents himself.

They continue to ignore th etruth and pretend he speaks for Irish football fans.

I hope Shamrock Rovers FC sue them for a serious amount of money.

TBH, it's more likely at the moment that Rovers fans would organise a counter demonstration protesting that the Brits only plugged 14 Muldoons.http://foot.ie/images/smilies/eek.gif

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    RTE are well aware and have been reminded on many occasions who Alan Hunter really is and that he only represents himself.

They continue to ignore th etruth and pretend he speaks for Irish football fans.

I hope Shamrock Rovers FC sue them for a serious amount of money.
    Unfortunately true.

They have this gombeen on speed dial simply because he is controversial.

They even interviewed him on tv when Bertie was in trouble with Paddy the Plasterer ffs!

Interviewing normal fans or any fans group is not on their agenda.

We have a great case IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Must........resist.......union........joke....

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    I doubt Hunter has much cash to pay out on claims against him - he looks like the type who'd eat his own shoes.
    Yes .... yes he does !!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Must........resist.......union........joke....
    No Pete, go for it. Its no less than I expected.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Rovers really really have an opportunity here to show this guy up for what he really is, an idiot.

And they have a chance to sort out RTE aswell.

You have to take it ....... we wont get a chance like this again. People ..... complain, its your right to do so as it effects the whole league.

Two birds, one stone and the odds are savage, do it .... do it now !!

Could the NLSA serve a purpose here or will they be bested by Alan Hunter, the opposition??

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Could the NLSA serve a purpose here or will they be bested by Alan Hunter, the opposition??
    Did you mean to ask "could the NLSA serve a purpose.?"

I think they about as representive as Hunters ficticious organisation.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Two birds, one stone and the odds are savage, do it .... do it now !!
    I'm not sure how you make that out. I too long for the day when this imbecile slips up and gets banished from the airwaves, but this isn't it.

I know paper tiger threats of litigation which subside once they've served their purpose are the stock-in-trade of Shamrock's PR operation, but I'm at a loss as to how even the most painstakingly honed victim complex perceives a genuine opportunity for redress here, assuming the statement reported in the original post was a faithful account of what Hunter said. No named or directly implicated individual has been libelled or defamed. A reference was made to comments attributed to "supporters" (a meaningless term for legal purposes; if he'd said members there might, MIGHT, possibly be grounds for action) of a particular club.

In order to disprove this allegation, it would be necessary to demonstrate (by recourse to recordings of every broadcast relating to this topic within the timeframe mentioned) that no such comments had been made by persons identifying themselves as supporters of Shamrock Rovers, or that any such persons were not also supporters of Shamrock Rovers. Even then, it's doubtful whether Shamrock Rovers as an entity could be deemed to have suffered defamation.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

No need for Rovers to worry about this evening as I'm sure Aberdeen/Bohs fans could be making headlines in tomorrow's rags.
    Who Cares?!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast