You mean like 'Anyone Watching heroes on Sci/fi -Channel 6' or 'Super Bowl Half Time Show (Prince)' or - Oh, I really love this one - 'Help on a Crimbo Pressie please'.![]()
(Yes I like my smileys, Nailer)
If you need to post about me going on about the 2G then at least get off your a*se and find a thread that I did talk about it on (Tour de France I think you'll find I got banned for something not concerning the platic paddies)
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
There is an under 14 side playing in the DDSL where all of the players are non Irish born. All of them consider themselves both Irish and of their native country. Some are here as refugees, some as economic migrants and no doubt some may return to their country of birth while others cannot psossibly ever do so.
However, it was interesting speaking with them that they all considered themselves, at this point in their young lives, as Irish.
I posed the question that if it came to it which country would they play for and to a man it was Ireland first provided they were still living here and their country of birth only if they ever returned. Interestingly half of them have now Irish citizenship and others while born in the now enlarged EU would take out Irish citizenship if possible.
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
but they are all in off topic.....for a reason...whats wrong with that?
(altho dont remember putting anything in the xmas pressie one.)
There is a current affairs forum for a reason as well.
the tour de france one was the finest example ever of someone pushing their own agenda into a thread regardless of wheter it was relevant or not.
It appears that Emelka is no different
from http://www.unison.ie/fingal_independ...issue_id=13209
"I'm improving a lot, I wasn’t much good at the start but I’ve improved my talent, every time you play for your country it gives you confidence"
Sorry, but to quote you, you said 'try talking about football on a football forum', if you said 'thread' it would have been more clearer. Basically, if people stick to talking about the footballing qualities of Mr. Onwubiko, that's fine. People start talking sh*te about emmigrants and their offspring, then I'm going to set the record straight. If that p*sses you off, then all I can do is have a big laugh at your expense, because you're not the one that's going to send me packing.
Now why doesn't surprise me?I thought I'd press the find your posts button to see what stuff you discuss on this forum not concerning football, and there was you on a thread asking about Christmas presents.
Wow! You should change your name to 'Billsb*llocks'.I had two posts on that thread, the first which was in response to Dodge suggesting that an American rider (initially first at the Tour) was less likely to cheat than a Spanish one (second). I'm interested to hear what exactly Bill's b*llocks, sorry, thoughts are on my agenda there?
However, you're right about one thing though. I do have an 'agenda'. That is to do the job that your teachers at school should have done. Teach you the full story of your country's history.
lets get this thread moved to current affairs so-it is a topic people like to argue and debate over but it has been done to death on the ireland forum so mods maybe switch it and let the debate go on...
I
There are two aspects of the debate. Should someone born outside Ireland (usually non-white) be able get Irish citizenship or should only those of at least one Irish (i.e. homogenous Irish) be allowed it. The other is should one over the other above (or both IMO) be allowed to play football for Ireland. One's an off topic/current affairs topic, the other is a football one.
Both unfortunately overlap each other because of the history of Ireland since the 1830s at least. Best of luck in seperating the two.
another story about Emelka: http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=13587
His first name is spelled "Emeka", and the thread title (and several linked stories) have it as "Emelka" - can anyone confirm the correct spelling?
His name is spelled EMEKA here in Metro Eireann in this article
http://www.metroeireann.com/dynamic/...ryid=23&page=0
See I knew you like your stats and correct too.
Wow obviously touched a nerve given the tone of your reply.....
Im grand on the history front altho where I ever mentioned it is another thing altogether.....
I do however live in Ireland so I dont really need to look at history book to know what is going on here.
I think the point about the football forum is still valid no matter how you cling to your little pedantry.....
Oh and heres my xmas present thread.......very agenda driven....god forbid I would try and help someone out...
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=588309#post588309
And likewise neither did I! 'will likely' is hardly definitive now is it? You're being a little pedantic there lad.
Jesus, nothing like a bit of hyperbole is there? Maybe a more realistic, reasonable and not no nonsensical example would have been the players of colonial heritage playing for Holland/England/France/Portugal etc
As far as I'm aware we haven't launched a genocide against any of our immigrants just yet! Maybe you're getting ahead of yourself a little lopez but jeez you might be right maybe they wouldn't want to play for us in those circumstances and I don't think I'd blame them. Still I suppose I'll leave you with that little hope.
You making this up? I can't find me saying 'will likely' anywhere (which isn't the same as 'always')
I said that 'I believe' what happens at home will 'always outbid' the state. If parents instill in their kids a refusal to see their new country as their own - undermined anyway in all EU countries by a universal jus sanguinis method of citizenship - then 'I believe' that will be the dominant factor. You on the other hand seem to think that family is irrelevent and that the kids will regard themselves as Irish regardless.
Ireland's challenge is to make immigrant parents want their children to at least see themselves as partially Irish. Good signs from certain areas. Examples: No colonial past; racism not as bad as France and Britain when they first had mass immigration; and the case in 1998 of Irish neighbours sticking up for an African family harrassed by the Garda. I do hope 1998 isn't too far back for you, though.
The holocaust as hyperbole. Rarely see that outside **********.org these days.![]()
Ah the 'multicutural dreamers' answer to those nasty racists. A football team. Well, like Bill, you obviously think that the world revolves around a leather ball, but I'd point to the riots in France last year and Dutch islamophobia as more significant of the future. As for England, I'll be here for hours. Nice to see you keeping abreast of current affairs, though.
Silly me. I forgot. We have an immigration problem at the moment not an emigration problem.A statement like is proof - not that I needed some - of your ignorance.
Ahh, call it what you like Bill - 'touching a nerve' 'chip on your shoulder' etc. - point is you don't like it, you too should form your own forum where - just like history lessons in the free state education system - the E word is banned.
Nice to see you remembered your crimbo post - was it about football? I'm more interested in my agenda on the Tour de France. If Bill has any thoughts, could he post them on the tour thread rather than here.
You may read that again pal, it was a reference to what I'd said not you.
Far from it! Why would I think family is irrelevant? Again your putting words in my mouth. And your 'always outbid the state' comment is about as final as my 'will likely' comment which I had the good grace to retract and admit that something less definite would have been more prudent. So again as I've said its a case that some might, some might not. But I'll give you an example :
Say a kid of Rwandan/Nigerian/Congolese/Albanian etc extraction is born and living here. They go to school here, they play football locally. Then they get picked up by a professional outfit. They play football at quite a high level, they get recognised by our national team scouts. They're asked to represent us. Do you think they'll just turn us down flat out? Or might they consider it given the bonuses that come with being an international footballer and given that they were born and raised here they might, just might, consider themselves Irish and not even have to think about it. If you can't see that that may be a possiblilty then you've a pretty limited black and white view of the world and discussing this any further with you is pointless.
Or a nice and recent example, Australia v Croatia in the WC. The Croats had an Aussie born player lining out for them and vice versa. Hardly conclusive but its a pretty relevant example.
I agree and no 1998 will do as an example. Again hardly irrefutable evidence
Did I say the holocaust was hyperbole??? Really?? Again read it properly (you seem to be having a bit of difficulty in that department). They're some pretty twisted words to be trying to out in my mouth lopez.
I said it was blantant hyperbole of you to choose that as an example when there were far more moderate examples in the French/English/Portuguese/ nationals sides. Doesn't do much good to your extreme arguement though, but it might be an idea to leave muck like that out of the discussion.
And finally no I don't think I multcultural team is the answer to the racists, I don't recall saying anything of the like. Its you that seems to want to bring the politics of immigration into it. All I'm saying is that I've no problem with POSSIBLE future citizens of this country representing our national side regardless of their ethnic extraction.
It would appear its a problem for you though or is it? It'd help if you'd clear that up one way or the other.
Last edited by Nailer77; 08/03/2007 at 1:55 PM.
mods, seriously. i see a distant light, it may be the topic - so that would make where we are, far from the topic. sort it out, if lopez, billsramblings want to argue about race, holocaust denial and nationalities in the 21st century, let them do it on their own time.
my two cents... i moved here to Canada last year with my canadian fiancee. Her surname is Brcic and, probably obviously, she comes from a Croatian family. Both her parents left Croatia in the 70's and settled here with their eldest daughter who was aged 6/7 at the time. They had 3 more daughters while living here. The eldest is 40 and the youngest is 25.
All four of them consider themselves both Croatian and Canadian. They all speak Croatian pretty much fluently. The only boys in the family are their cousins who live in B.C. and they are fiercely Croatian, extremely nationalist. They insist that their future kids would play sawker for Croatia and not Canada. Ive mentioned to herself that if i have kids born here, theyll play for Ireland - not Croatia and deffo not Canada. Shes not concerned. Nice wan.![]()
But i guess the point i am making is that the desire (or otherwise) of the next African-Irish generation and the generation after to play for Ireland will have alot to do with their parents and how their parents feel about Ireland and their experience integrating with Irish people and Irish culture and of course Irish people accepting certain aspects of African culture.