Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Emelka Onwubiko

Quote Originally Posted by Reddladd View Post
    J

If you are offended by my opinion you could choose to ignore it.

!
    I dont think ignoring opinions that offend oneself are the way forward. Opinions that are offensive should be challenged etc not ignore. My opinion was that your comment was disgraceful and I stand by that. Do you have a right to post on this forum and give this view, of course you do but up to a point that it becomes clearly racist and then I am sure the mods or the gardai could be brought into it as freedom of speech is not universal and there are restrictions. I dont know if you are a racist but I think your comments were disgraceful but I also think reaction was over the top. This was not helped by a clear WUM in LimtilIdie. You have given a reaction to other peoples reaction to your comments but I think it may be helpful if you justified your initial comment to maybe give some reason or background to why you think this.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    This was not helped by a clear WUM in LimtilIdie.
    Oh Dear

Want to go have a look at the previous page where osarusan and jebus managed to decipher the deep and hidden meaning behind my posts??

On a lighter note......

2 black lads walk into a bar................
    This joke has been interupted on behalf of all right thinking citizens, please move towards the main forum whilst we isolate this problem, thank you for your cooperation.
    "I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916

The comment Eirebhoy (Indeed ) refers to was of course a joke about some of the ahem, shady accounting practises at some Eircom League clubs down through the years.
    ok, apologies. Jamjar, do you seriously not think my interpretation of the joke is racist? Stop with this political correctness gone mad rubbish.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 23/02/2007 at 2:38 PM.

This one caught fire nice and quick. And redladd your opinions they may be and you're entitled to post them but don't expect people to just ignore them. Whatever way you try to dress it up now its clear that being Irish to you does not involve being born in this country and is more about were your parents come from or maybe something else. Whether you like it or not thats the way this country's going and I'd suggest you'll have to get used to our national side being represented by African/Irish, Polish/Irish, Romanian/Irish etc, and its no different to being represented by the likes of Townsend, Cascarino, Morrison or McAteer, in fact I'd suggest someone born and raised in the country has every right to call themselves Irish despite colour or creed.

LTID is not being racist but I feel he is making a mistake in feeling he needs to defend Redladd. Redladd has the right to make a racist comment just as we have the right to tell him to go _______ himself. Redladds post was not deleted or binned so no one was taking away that right.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

386 Posts
    Anyways....

I think we'll find in the years to come that a lot of Irish-born players with an immigrant background will not declare for us.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    LTID is not being racist but I feel he is making a mistake in feeling he needs to defend Redladd. Redladd has the right to make a racist comment just as we have the right to tell him to go _______ himself. Redladds post was not deleted or binned so no one was taking away that right.
    No, but the idea of a deletion / binning was been mooted. This was what LTID objected to.

He not defending Redladd, just freedom of speech, no matter how unpopular, and in this case, wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Anyways....

I think we'll find in the years to come that a lot of Irish-born players with an immigrant background will not declare for us.
    What would make you come to that conclusion.
    "I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Whats wrong with my comment then.
    I see what you mean. Bad posting on my behalf. I meant the post by Rossi as much a disgraceful comment as Reddladd's, not yours.

...At no point did I insult Emelka Onwubiko personally or refer to his colour, though many of you imply that I did...
    Oh come on. What exactly were you trying to say about a team of 'Nigerians'. If they were Ghanaians, would they be better? Even if they were fine role models for both black and white? I don't know many white Nigerians (mixed race another thing), do you?

I'd describe your statement as racist - because it clearly is that - but I wouldn't demonise people who show concern for immigration. There are numerous good reasons to question immigration - just as there are good reasons for it. Trouble is you've gone in with boots flying without arguing the rights and wrongs.

BTW, lads. Could we stop the sh*te about the Garda being dragged in. No one's advocated racial hatred and I'm sure the Garda have better things to do.

Quote Originally Posted by Nailer77 View Post
    ...Whatever way you try to dress it up now its clear that being Irish to you does not involve being born in this country and is more about were your parents come from or maybe something else...
    I think the players (of foreign ancestry) may also think of themselves as foreign. I remember an article in the Sunday Times about the Italian community (along with the Chinese, only one of note in Ireland back then) supporting Italy against Ireland in the 1994 WC.

I wouldn't want to get caught up with this team of the future. What is more important is learning the mistakes of Britain, France and Holland regarding immigration and multi-culturalism.

What's also clear is, close the gates to the rest of the world tommorow and I guarantee in a century, there'd be no black people, just the Irish would have got slightly more tanned.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Anyways....

Fecking rascists!!!

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamjar View Post
    It is quite common that players with an immigrant background chose to play with their parents/ grandparents country of birth.

Quote Originally Posted by Jamjar View Post
    The same thing that makes me, and many other 'plastics', plenty who post on this forum, do not feel any affiliation with the country of our birth.

At no point did I insult Emelka Onwubiko personally or refer to his colour, though many of you imply that I did. I responded to a post about the likelihood of having an Irish international team of players whose parents are from countries other than Ireland.
    Can I just ask what reason you think Onwubiko wants to play for Ireland and not Nigeria?

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    I I think the players (of foreign ancestry) may also think of themselves as foreign. I remember an article in the Sunday Times about the Italian community (along with the Chinese, only one of note in Ireland back then) supporting Italy against Ireland in the 1994 WC.

I wouldn't want to get caught up with this team of the future. What is more important is learning the mistakes of Britain, France and Holland regarding immigration and multi-culturalism.

What's also clear is, close the gates to the rest of the world tommorow and I guarantee in a century, there'd be no black people, just the Irish would have got slightly more tanned.
    Some might, most probably wouldn't though an article in the Times from 1994 is hardly hard evidence, the countries changed a lot since then. Uts an irrelevant point anyway, someone born and raised in this country is Irish until they choose otherwise.

52 Posts
    Reddladd has the right to express his views as he has. But we also have the right to question them. In my view his comments are racist. If the lad was a white kid with the last name of Murphy, Kelly or O'Brien but his parents happen to be from Boston, I doubt he would have made the same comments as he did about Onwubiko.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Some might, most probably wouldn't though an article in the Times from 1994 is hardly hard evidence, the countries changed a lot since then.
    Its evidence that certain people's identity is never necessarily with their country of birth.
    Uts an irrelevant point anyway, someone born and raised in this country is Irish until they choose otherwise.
    You obviously missed the referendum of December 2004.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars View Post
    Reddladd has the right to express his views as he has. But we also have the right to question them. In my view his comments are racist. If the lad was a white kid with the last name of Murphy, Kelly or O'Brien but his parents happen to be from Boston, I doubt he would have made the same comments as he did about Onwubiko.
    No, he would have said this.

If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Murphys, Kellys, or O'Briens playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    Its evidence that certain people's identity is never necessarily with their country of birth.
    Which is why I said 'some might'. And regardless of a referendum I said people born and raised in this country will likely consider themselves Irish and rightly so and as such can represent our national side without feeling like a foreigner, they certainly have as much right to do so as someone who had a granny from Mayo.

So no its not evidence and its less valued when you consider its 13 years old and that since 94 the country has changed beyond belief.

He must be good

His threads already way bigger than the David Connolly one

Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast