Does he play for a club at the moment,anybody know?
osarusan - I'm reading between the lines. Why would anyone feel the need to defend reddladd's right to an opinion?
"If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals."
We've had Townsend, Houghton, Cascarino, Aldridge and others all play in the same team. They probably wouldn't have stepped foot in Ireland if they never made it in football. Onwubiko is living here years, has an Irish passport, Ireland is his home and he'll probably die in this country. I can't see any reason why you'd be OK with Aldridge and the lads playing for us but you'd stop following the team if "we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland".
I'd love to know how he'd have felt if Dave Rodgers got Irish citisenship and played for us. If he'd had made the same comment if this was a thread on Rodger's then I apologise.
Last edited by eirebhoy; 23/02/2007 at 1:04 PM.
Does he play for a club at the moment,anybody know?
Maybe you should just read the actual lines.
It is clear, I felt, from reading LTIDs posts that he did not support the point, but did feel that he (Redladd) is entitled to his opinion.
You said however, that he supported it in some way which you did not specify. The actual lines supported my view on it, I think.
Why would LTID feel he needed to defend it? I dont know, but given that people have recommended it be binned, some people seem to feel that opinions they dont feel comfortable with should be taken out of sight. LTID may well disagree with that.
Last edited by osarusan; 23/02/2007 at 1:09 PM.
Cheifo, he plays with Belvedere in the DDSL. He coulnd't be signed on any pro deal before Tuesday's decision (not being allowed to work and all).
Oh and of course redladd is entitled to his opinion, thats why its still here.
This was the original post.........
This was the reply...........
This is your comment.......
I dont think so. I think the joke is that lots of Irish players, such as those living in England all their career, would not have paid tax, and perhaps this guy would find a way to do likewise.
Either way, I dont see how it can be construed as racist.
But LTID, where are you?? You need to reply.
I knew I shouldn't have looked in the Ireland forum, just knew it.....
Anyway I think Osarusan has hit a hole in one on the point LTID was trying to make all along so there's no need for me to go on about it![]()
Now I know Galway fans hang on LTID's every word, but I think you'll find that if George Bush makes any unscripted comment it causes a reaction across the world, mainly because he's the President of the US, not because of the comment. LTID is a little bit off of having that kind of influence I'm afraid
If that's the case then fair enough. Certainly didn't read like that to me and still doesn't. He didn't mention anyone living in England. If Eircom league players are known for getting away with paying tax I didn't know that. Anyway, it's Friday. I'm finished with this debate.![]()
Last edited by eirebhoy; 23/02/2007 at 1:31 PM.
I found this sweeping statement just as insulting as Reddneck's.
You should sit down and read about the number of 'Plastic Paddies' that fought and died for the independence of your country
If you are going to throw such an emotional label around like that, it would help if you could spell it.Personally it's Reddneck's right to express an opinion, it's others to argue against it - just as I am happy to do with imbeciles like Rossi on the subject of 'Plastic Paddies' - not just call for the thread to be binned, or simply call him racist. The fact is he hasn't replied, shows that this wouldn't take much effort.
Good luck to Mr. Onwubiko. I doubt however we'll ever see an Ireland team full of 'Nigerians', which is more the pity following that sh*te in San Marino.
Ditto.![]()
Last edited by eirebhoy; 23/02/2007 at 1:35 PM.
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
To be honest I was on about the boy playing pro football in Ireland. The fuss seems pretty silly to me. Redladd made what could be construed as a racist remark about the boy and his ilk, LTID appeared to be acting the bollax when he really was just muddying the waters.
And while we're on the subject, Rossi, wtf was your post about? You'd rather 11 irish born nigerians than 11 plastic paddies? Whats the difference ffs? Its as if all of the irish born with irish ansestors here are better than the rest. Scratch the surface a bit and I'd love to see how many people would come back with attitudes changed.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
Thanks Dodge, will be interesting to see who the lad signs for especially if hes got a bit of quality.
Lads if this guys so good how come he hasn't signed for any decent club yet? I mean if he's quality wouldn't a scout for any decent English team have picked up on him by now?
Just to clarify a few points with regard to my post.
From the reaction on this board it’s certainly rattled most of you.
That post was my opinion, not yours so get over it and don’t take it personally which some of you seem to be doing judging by your reaction. I think the reaction from the various posters says as much about the respective poster as it does about me. It’s my view of things not yours!
There also appears to be a lot of you who know me quite well considering your well chosen words. I am a member of a right wing political party and I’m a ‘scanger’ to quote one intelligent contributor. A couple of other individuals using schoolyard type remarks like ‘give him a good kick up the hole’ also says a lot more about them and how they deal with someone else’s opinion.
Having looked back through some of the messages at least one poster sees that you are entitled to have an opinion without having the whole board attacking you. Sheep were mentioned but wolves are more appropriate.
If you are offended by my opinion you could choose to ignore it.
At no point did I insult Emelka Onwubiko personally or refer to his colour, though many of you imply that I did. I responded to a post about the likelihood of having an Irish international team of players whose parents are from countries other than Ireland. My opinion on that has not changed despite what the rest of the board thinks!
Lastly, I’ve seen it time and time again on this board where people are reminded to attack the post not the poster however it’s obvious, from this thread, that contributors are selective with this rule!
There'll be snow on that one.
I think it was pointed out he couldn't move country or work due to citizinship issues.
The comment Eirebhoy (Indeed) refers to was of course a joke about some of the ahem, shady accounting practises at some Eircom League clubs down through the years.
In fairness to him it could have went over the heads of many of the posters in the Ireland forumHe's still an idiot for accusing me of racism though
Thanks to all the Limerick fans for the support, I'll meet ye over on the ********** forum in an hour![]()
One person used the word scanger and that was me. And I didn't refer to you as a scanger. This is what I said:
I shouldn't have given the example of Robbie Keane. But I wasn't referring to you. Easy to lose the run of yourself and just say what you want. Your post was at best xenophobic and at worst racist. No doubt you have the relevant documents to prove you're 100% Irish all the way back through the years yeah?None of us gave a fcuk that Paul McGraths aul lad was a Nigerian. None of us gives a fcuk that Robbie Keane's folks are scanger Dubs. Once someone is eligible and gives his all playing for us thats more than enough.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!