Thread: Cork City to play Hibernians in Jan

Cork City to play Hibernians in Jan

yes kids cork city are set to announce a match against Hibernians (of Scotland).

Match pencilled in as Monday Jan 13th at Turners Cross

to be confirmed in a few days

[SIZE=1]*and remember kids ye read here first.. not on sillynet or in da echo from noel spillage that said of course spillage will probably break that exclusive tomoro having read it first here *[/SIZE]

772 Posts
    Cork City F.C. should not be organising friendlies against crap Scottish teams for the end of the season. The close season is going to be fairly short and the players should rest up and be fresh for next year. Last season the team were incredibly flat all season due to playing pre season matches 6 weeks before the start of the season and that inter two bob cup. Cop on Murphy will ya.

Pity it isn't an actual cup game as it would be interesting to compare the standards. I'm all for a Scottish - Irish Cup. It would make all the Irish Celtic fans realise that there is good football on their doorstep and not to bother buying a Celtic Jersey but to buy a Cork / Galway / Derry etc jersey instead!

Its not at the end of the season, it is 2 weeks before the end of the season, to co-incide with the Scots winter break.

Its better playing Hibs than Celtic anyway.

Should be good, as i reckon it will give a good idea of the difference of standard.

That shows a remarkable lack of ambition. Surely Cork should be looking to be in with a chance of Europe at that stage of the season. Why are they playing a friendly when they should be concentrating on the league?!

Its Cork City FC Schumi! When do you expect them to show any common sense. After all, the most important thing to them is the almighty Dollar (euro)!

fonzi
    no people wouldnt be mopre intrested in buying city/derry/bohs jerseys cause theyd be buying celtics jerseys more than ever.
    remember the freindly against celtic?
    how many people were wearing theyre city jerseys?
    not many.
    and it would be the same like that every time.

Originally posted by Schumi
    That shows a remarkable lack of ambition. Surely Cork should be looking to be in with a chance of Europe at that stage of the season. Why are they playing a friendly when they should be concentrating on the league?!
    I have to agree with you there. I thought it was good at first but when i thought of the time of the year doesn't seem to make sense. People were slagging $hel$ off for similar friendlies last year.

btw Europe is long gone (or at least will be by this weekend). Qualification for el floppo cupo will probably be ensured or lost on the friday before that scottish friendly anyway.

Hibernians are probably usingtbeh match as a scouting mission as well.

citylove
    I think it isn't too bad playing this friendly.... why not?? Maybe we can use it as a scouting mission ourselves

The fixture may have been influenced by outside interests.
    Le Coq Sportif are the kit sponsors for both clubs.
    Carlsberg sponsor Hibernian FC, Guinness sponsor Cork City FC.
    Not sure about Scotland but Carlsberg distributed by Guinness in Ireland.
    But hey who am I to deny you all the chance to have a dig at Murphy!

Originally posted by Peadar
    But hey who am I to deny you all the chance to have a dig at Murphy!
    getting a bit repetitive alright

listen lads liam murphy had nothing to do with this
    hibs contacted cork city a few weeks ago with the idea

afaik ccfc are yet to oficially confirm it but the 13th is penciled in.

Originally posted by James
    listen lads liam murphy had nothing to do with this
    hibs contacted cork city a few weeks ago with the idea
    I can't really see why people would think this is down to Murphy. He is a complete l@nger and is responsible for a lot of the bad things which happen to our club but this is nothing to do with him.
    But to be honest I can't see anything wrong with this friendly. We are out of the running for the league so it is not like it will wreck our season, it is a bit of extra cash for the club and Hibs are a team that we should be capable of beating.
    Champions!

Originally posted by COLM
    But to be honest I can't see anything wrong with this friendly.
    I can't see any harm in it either.
    One thing's for sure though if they ever invite us over you would all be well advised to go.
    Beautiful city, great people, buzzing pubs and it's not Glasgow.

have to concur with peader there. try to go for hogmanay
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

Originally posted by fonzi
    no people wouldnt be mopre intrested in buying city/derry/bohs jerseys cause theyd be buying celtics jerseys more than ever.
    remember the freindly against celtic?
    how many people were wearing theyre city jerseys?
    not many.
    and it would be the same like that every time.
    Yes, but what I was saying is that if Irish clubs played Scottish clubs competitively every year and Irish Clubs started beating the Scottish ones ( bar Celtic and Rangers ) on a regular basis then Irish Celtic fans might think twice, especially if it was a cup competition where Irish clubs were getting to the semis and there was a lot of excitement about it. Then if an Irish club did manage to knock Celtic out they'd have to take a long look in the mirror and ask themselves why the hell they were supporting a Scottish club over their local club all along.
    It's a bit of a dream allright, but if such a competition existed then at least Irish clubs would have a chance to prove themselves. The matches would also be very interesting, especially with travelling fans over from Scotland and vice versa.

Originally posted by COLM
    I can't really see why people would think this is down to Murphy. He is a complete l@nger and is responsible for a lot of the bad things which happen to our club but this is nothing to do with him.
    The previous Cork City managers were no great shakes either. Dave Barry knew when to get out. I think the club has done really well to follow a local policy, and fair play to the fans when they pack out Turner's Cross ( but only when City are doing well ).
    If Cork had the same financial backing that Shels have then they would be unbeatable.

Does anyone know when the SPL winter break ends?

In future the eL will begin at the start of March & although looks like our pre-season & their mid season don't match up might be scope for pre-season tournaments between the leagues?

Originally posted by dalo
    try to go for hogmanay
    What's Dalo on about?
    Look here

Originally posted by pete
    might be scope for pre-season tournaments between the leagues?
    Wont that defeat the purpose of their winter break?

P.S. There's no truth in the rumour that I'll be in Dalymount tomorrow.

Originally posted by Peadar
    P.S. There's no truth in the rumour that I'll be in Dalymount tomorrow.
    pity that guess you'll miss your fav team winning so then

any news?