Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers Tallaght

Quote Originally Posted by Erstwhile Bóz View Post
    Saying that the GAA are "bigots" and referring to them as a "vile organization" is as pathetic as saying everybody who calls the GAA "bigots" is a "bigot"
    Listen - I don't need a lecture on the language and terminology I should or shouldn't use. As long as the GAA continue to try to grab the Tallaght Stadium - without so much as having a clear idea as to what they would actually use it for - then the only conclusion is that the BIGOTS want to keep soccer down as much as possible in Tallaght.

Once the courts tell them where to go - they become a complete irrelevance, so you won't have to worry about my GAA terminology in future.

Bizarre how some people - who's club's very existence is far from being threatened by such wanton bigotry - want to divert the debate to something so trivial as the terminolgy used on forums.

43 Posts
    It's obviously hard for some people here (Erstwhile Bóz) and those who also play and support GAA as well as football to accept that some members of the GAA are bigots and the anti football mentality still runs throughout the GAA hierarchy. It may be hard to accept but that doesn't make it untrue. Facts are facts, Thomas Davis with the backing of GAA president Nicky Brennan are engaged in a bigoted campaign against Shamrock Rovers getting to Tallaght. That is the one and only explanation as to why the issue was heard in the High court today.

Don't agree with Tallaght takeover bid.
    Calling other people bigots shows a comparable level of ignorance as those we are alluding to and an incomprehensible lack of cop-on - no need to ape the antics of your supporters.

David Kennedy, the main man in Thomas Davis, is on record as saying that in a battle between Shamrock Rovers and the GAA 'the GAA will be the last man standing'. The fact that they have the unamimous backing of the Dublin county board says it all. They hate football and have no faith in their own games and demand preferential treatment in order to protect dying sports.
    Bigots create bigotry. An inferiority complex merely adds to the mix.
    Without prejudice I'd supported the GAA for three decades but, as a Shamrock Rovers fan first of all, I cannot support an organisation that is deliberately trying to kill the club I love. It's goodbye to the Hill (and Parnell Park) for me.
    No loss when the Dubs are playing an All-Ireand semi but a different story when the hurlers (there's a great game that they're killing because they don't know what to do with it) are playing in front of a man and a dog. What are the GAA doing to promote handball? Another great game they've destroyed at the expense of the worst gaelic game of all, gaelic football.
    My eyes have been opened by this experience. I now despise the GAA and see their bigoted bogeymen as the sporting neo-facists that they clearly are. Culture me arus. There's one game of football worth talking about and it ain't yours.

82 Posts
    I'm a Gaelic fan but im 100% behind rovers on this one. What Thomas Davis are doing is wrong and shame on the Dublin board for backing them. But not everyone in the GAA are bigots or anti soccer. I understand where the rovers fans are coming from and would feel the same if someone was trying to destroy my club.

I am 100% behind Rovers on this and certainly don`t know the ins and outs of what has gone on behind closed doors but is anyone surprised that the GAA are trying to get in on the act?

FFS the stadium has been sitting out there in disarray for years and has been an embarrassment to football, Rovers and the FAI, does anyone think the GAA would of taking that long to build a half stadium like that?

Typical of football in this country, just look at the joke that is dalymount and tolka will be gone altogether in the next year or so. Again would the GAA let their grounds run into a state like that....no.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    I'm a Gaelic fan but im 100% behind rovers on this one. What Thomas Davis are doing is wrong and shame on the Dublin board for backing them. But not everyone in the GAA are bigots or anti soccer. I understand where the rovers fans are coming from and would feel the same if someone was trying to destroy my club.
    Of course not all of the GAA are bigots. However the GAA are the only sporting organisation that have a significant minority of bigots that they allow to spout their nonsense.

However Rovers fans who have no exposure to the GAA other than these lunatics in TD would naturally assume that the whole organisation is full of bigots.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Of course not all of the GAA are bigots. However the GAA are the only sporting organisation that have a significant minority of bigots that they allow to spout their nonsense
    This goes all the way to the top of the GAA. They support the move on Tallaght - and laughably claim that "opening up" Croke park for a couple of years should give them the right to play in Tallaght forever - having first torn down what's there and then re-building a GAA stadium.

What planet do these BIGOTS live on?????

They really think that the GAA is above the law. Fact.

The Govt. should just take Croke Pk off them and fcuk them all out of Dublin in classic 70's South American manner. Give the cnuts something to whinge about. They live in the 70s anyway, the fcuking 1870's.

Great stadium but a shower of cnuts.

You're a credit to your sport. Is your middle name 'ultra' by any chance?

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic View Post
    The Govt. should just take Croke Pk off them and fcuk them all out of Dublin in classic 70's South American manner. Give the cnuts something to whinge about. They live in the 70s anyway, the fcuking 1870's.

Great stadium but a shower of cnuts.
    whatever about the TD & SRFC situation and peoples views on it (and i support rovers) your above post shows your IQ to be less than your age and i would think you would have to be in your early teens with a post like that!

the GAA have an amature sport but it is run by professionals. there are quality grounds in every one of the 32 counties in this island with the jewel in the crown being croke park.

the FAI is a TOTALLY amature organisation running a professional sport. there is no stadium throughout the country owned by any soccer club or organisation with a capacity greater than san marino or even half the population of san marino. that is despite soccer being the highest participation sport in the country. soccer have had to go cap in hand to use the rugby ground for 30 years and now has to go on bended knee to the GAA.

before you critise other sporting organisations in this country just look at the morons who run soccer in this country. and that includes local, national and international soccer!

fair enough the GAA have received government funding for these stadiums but if you think that the majority of monies spent came from the govt. then you are deluded. the GAA is without equal on this island when it comes to raising funds and providing facilities to players and supporters alike.

rant over..... best of luck rovers on tuesday

70 Posts
    Thanks for the support lads! The rest of the court case will be herd on tuesday and hopefully the judge will make the right decision...
    This is essentially football verses bigotry orientated nonsense, lets hope football wins...

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    the GAA is without equal on this island when it comes to raising funds and providing facilities to players and supporters alike.
    that is totally untrue
    and the GPA are doing their bit to drag the the GAA'S stance on the welfare of its players into the modern era

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    .. fair enough the GAA have received government funding for these stadiums but if you think that the majority of monies spent came from the govt. then you are deluded.
    110 million PUNTS is no delusion my friend.

I also happen to have first hand experience of the workings of the GAA and local council with my own schoolboy 'soccer' club regarding the construction of facilities. Unfortunately I cannot divulge names or details at the moment as the legalities are at a crucial stage but I will gladly do so in the future (hopefully 3/4 weeks). The corruption and coercion between the GAA club, local residents, local businessmen through local council level will shock you. Luckily An Bord Pleanalla and the lotto treated us right.

I used to be open minded but I have become cynical by our plight. We have been awarded lotto funds and planning permission over three years ago but we have still not laid a brick. We were forced to turn a bit 'Goodfellas' if you know what I mean and play them at their own game.

Believe me when I say that you will be reading about this in the papers in the months to come, especially with the forthcoming election.

48 Posts
    Sports Minister spoke out against the GAAs actions in Tallaght yesterday. Fair play.

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic View Post
    110 million PUNTS is no delusion my friend.

I also happen to have first hand experience of the workings of the GAA and local council with my own schoolboy 'soccer' club regarding the construction of facilities. Unfortunately I cannot divulge names or details at the moment as the legalities are at a crucial stage but I will gladly do so in the future (hopefully 3/4 weeks). The corruption and coercion between the GAA club, local residents, local businessmen through local council level will shock you. Luckily An Bord Pleanalla and the lotto treated us right.

I used to be open minded but I have become cynical by our plight. We have been awarded lotto funds and planning permission over three years ago but we have still not laid a brick. We were forced to turn a bit 'Goodfellas' if you know what I mean and play them at their own game.

Believe me when I say that you will be reading about this in the papers in the months to come, especially with the forthcoming election.
    According to the Minister, the figure is €114m. The GAA have been trying to deflect attention from this by splitting hairs over the fact that most of it came from lottery funds, rather than from the exchequer. But they do not seem to be disputing the fact that €114m of public money has been lavished on them. Have to say, John O'Donoghue has gone up in my estimation in this affair. It takes a brave Kerryman to confront the GAA.
    NB Edit:
    John O'Donoghue has gone up in my estimation in this affair.
    But not enough to make up for trying to shaft Bohs on Dalymount!
    Last edited by BohDiddley; 18/03/2007 at 12:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    It's obviously hard for some people here (Erstwhile Bóz) and those who also play and support GAA as well as football to accept that some members of the GAA are bigots and the anti football mentality still runs throughout the GAA hierarchy. It may be hard to accept but that doesn't make it untrue.
    If that's the justification for the terminology then sure look at the football side: the majority of football fans love other sports but there's a minority amongst us that despise anything got to do with the GAA, to heroic levels of hysterical paranoia, and there is an anti-GAA mentality in the official FAI hierarchy. It certainly goes both ways. Does that mean, though, that "bigotry" is a useful or proper word to describe the petty "North Stand/Hill 16" crap on the tickets or the "stick your GAA up your arse" song on the plane years ago? Would incidents like that, going by the above standards, not entitle GAA people to refer to the FAI/football people as "BIGOTS"?

The friction and bitterness from both sides is undeniable, but the term "bigot" is itself extremely divisive with heavy historical connotations; it's very unedifying to see that it has become fashionable shorthand for GAA people amongst football fans, with those connotations deliberately invoked.

Rovers are in the right (and it's unfortunate that you're now at the mercy of judges and lawyers) but when you're throwing the virulent anti-GAA stuff about, mouths foaming, it makes you look as bad as you're screaming that they all are.
    Last edited by Erstwhile Bóz; 18/03/2007 at 2:05 PM.

Support shams all the way and hope that we get the first game with them, like the last game at Milltown.

I cant say how you can say that there is bigotry towards the GAA from the FAI hierarchy when just 2 weeks ago Packie Bonner, John Delayney & a slew of other top FAI told Monaghan County Council meeting that it is very important for kids in particular to play both codes and that they should be working together to give the kids the best chance at sports. Packie says he wouldnt have been half the footballer he was if he hadnt played GAA too.

If anything the FAI are too sympathetic to the GAA, some of whom are trying to block Monaghan getting a Development Officer.

C'mon the Rovers.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Erstwhile Bóz View Post
    If that's the justification for the terminology then sure look at the football side: the majority of football fans love other sports but there's a minority amongst us that despise anything got to do with the GAA, to heroic levels of hysterical paranoia, and there is an anti-GAA mentality in the official FAI hierarchy. It certainly goes both ways. Does that mean, though, that "bigotry" is a useful or proper word to describe the petty "North Stand/Hill 16" crap on the tickets or the "stick your GAA up your arse" song on the plane years ago? Would incidents like that, going by the above standards, not entitle GAA people to refer to the FAI/football people as "BIGOTS"?

Very good question...........I'll add the use of the word "Bogball" to the mix.

Doesnt the use of these terms constitute the same kind of behaviour, which is termed bigotry here, as we accuse of the GAA?

Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast