Thread: Very good signing: Gary Rogers

Very good signing: Gary Rogers

www.galwayunitedfc.ie

Galway United are delighted to announce the signing of former Meath junior footballer Gary Rogers.
    Rogers, an experience goalkeeper, was part of the under-age setup at Shelbourne and St Francis before moving to Drogheda United where he was the first choice keeper for 3 seasons. Rogers also has had spells at Dublin City, Bray Wanderers and in 2004 was called into the Ireland U-21 squad by Don Givens.

United manager Tony Cousins is delighted with his new signing. "Gary's a top class goalkeeper, has a lot of experience in the eircom League and i'm delighted to add a player of his ability to the team."

Galway United's friendly encounter with Finn Harps takes place at Terryland Park this evening (Friday) with kick-off at 6.30pm.

1,524 Posts
    That is a good signing, and an important one. I remember him having some fantastic games for Drogheda against us a few years back.

Phew! Great News - I understood from gufct earlier in the week that Derek & Shane were our last two signings, so I'm relieved we have a 'keeper of calibre on board. Well done to the boss.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

74 Posts
    I think Tuesday nights game made Tony change his mind.There are also 2 more keepers arriving on trial today.

Galway Francis should update the Squad.

1,524 Posts
    Has that lad that played against Monaghan already got a contract signed?

Wil Rogers be in goal tonight or will it be trialists?

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    that lad that played against Monaghan
    ...has a contract signed if I read the website correctly. http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/squad/brinias-signs.html
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

i think it was him

playing tonight.i came late so didnt hear the team but i didnt recognise him so it had to be him.he made 1 outstanding save midway through the second half.he caught every cross he came for but was also undecided and hesitated for 1 or 2 though that he should have come for.looks like a great signing though.
    chris scored again but we lacked a cutting edge tonight.i know it was only a preseason game.creating chances might be a problem but theres plenty of time to sort it out.
    harps were "overly physical" tonight imo for just a friendly.

Yeah he played the full 90 tonight i was very impressed with him, he's a bit better than dimitri
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

he made two good saves in one game and dimitri didnt get a chance to prove himself, if we'r jumping to conclusions about players Gylnn has played two games and looks a waste of space really!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

A clever marketing ploy by Galway to add some Spice for the Galway Sligo match.......joking of course.Lets just say he will be one of the players who will get extra abuse.Having said that he isnt a bad keeper.
    How did young O'Donnell get on for ye?he was playing right wing for the last 30mins i think?

1,524 Posts
    Harps were certainly competitive, but I think will be a step above that again in competitive outings. Overall I think GU were lucky to get the win to be perfectly honest, most of the chances were for Harps.

have to agree with you - harps had most of the ball - utd only 2 real shots on target - werent firing on all cyclinders

lester still has weight to lose - number 3 made loads of mistakes - but wasnt punished

murph doing a robbie keane and not passing the ball - trying to beat 2 players then losing it

foley very rusty - reggie - looked solid enough as did mckenna
    more water!

o yeah reilly still cant pass - or waits the two seconds and then makes the pass he should have done 2 seconds ago!
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    o yeah reilly still cant pass - or waits the two seconds and then makes the pass he should have done 2 seconds ago!
    so he can pass !!! I take it the number 3 was reilly too. The performance, going on what you tell me, soons like they were thinking more about there trip to spain this coming week rather than the match in hand.

P.S. in saying that the best of luck to the supporters who are going on a much needed training session for the season ahead too, will be looking forward to the pictures on yer return !!!!

think i was maybe going on about james being at number 3!
    either way i thought james would have a bit more composure on the ball
    more water!

oh ok, I thought that james plays at right back, making him no. 2 ?

Much of a crowd lads?

1,524 Posts
    I'd say there was 400 there, not bad at all.

Cheers Mr A

saw the 2nd half of the game last night. rogers looked very good but that was about the height of it from galway. from what i seen harps were the far better team
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."