Thread: Does anybody fear

good man ( or woman ) sumac, great post.

here jerry there were way more than just mick galway, moss keane is another well known example. btw what player who started last sunday won an all ireland medal in croke park? and its not shane horgan. same amount of players playing rugby, if not mre at the moment, were big into the gaa than the soccer lads.

anyhow make sure ye give anyone causing trouble a slap and make sure everything passess of ok like elroy suggests.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    btw what player who started last sunday won an all ireland medal in croke park?
    Sebastien Chabal?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Sebastien Chabal?
    Gimme dat

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    here jerry there were way more than just mick galway, moss keane is another well known example. btw what player who started last sunday won an all ireland medal in croke park? and its not shane horgan. same amount of players playing rugby, if not mre at the moment, were big into the gaa than the soccer lads.
    Woods is another one, don't know if to any great level though

Fucck rugby, it represents everthing i despise about modern ireland...

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    It's hardly new to us though, is it?
    And why dispise 'modern Ireland'?

I too rue the day rugby rolled off the ferry with the SUVs, the second homes in the Algarve, the Ipods and the Salsa classes.

No wait ...I'm talking garbage
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

ok maybe it was a bit of a sweeping statement had a few beers last night when i wrote it, but ireland is slowly but surely loosing its character

Listen i work in D4,to me Rugby represents to me elitism and snobbery, cultural and historical neglect (irelands call, and pretentious american sounding accents that appearred out of no where in the 80s), They try and move away from anything whatsoever that is quintessentially irish.....
    before ye say it i know munster rugars are different

agree with citizen erased 100%. the ruger crowd are a false, prretentious, shower of dikk heads. I to speak from experience. I moved from the country to a well know rugger school in late 80's. Was a mad gaa and soccer player, and i will share a short story. we entered a gaa team, and drew another team from the same town in an open cup comeptition, without sharing details, the powers that be would not allow the lowering of the cross bar or marking of the rugger field to play the gaa game. Class shower. was an impressionable 16 year old at the time. Few years older now, but you want to talk about a crowd of bigots. We played away and got hammered of course. agree with the sentiment - fook rugby.

reder
    I have nothing against them really. They are harmless. Their game is ultra-posh and attracts all these wannabe posh types and corporates that we dont have to entertain but on the whole they are good people.

I sincerely hope all goes ok for them next weekend given that RSF have arranged pickets on Croke Park. I would genuinely hate to see the name of rugby people dragged through the mud as a result of the actions of these people.

57 Posts
    A couple of different issues here.

I am concerned that an incident will happen soon to damage the good reputation of our fans. There is an agrressive element that has come to the fore in the last couple of years. The venom of the abuse in San Marino. the fighting in the stand. Ditto for some elements in Cyprus and even Stuttgart. I don't think it would take much to spark off trouble. I think it is more likely to happen away than at home.

The GAA can't really renege on the current deal up until 2009. If there was an incident in Croek Park the anti brigade would of course try to use it. They will use anything they can.

One potential issue is if we draw Northern Ireland in the World Cup qualifiers. The current hype over GSTQ being sung next saturday would seem like a storm in a teacup at the prospect of it being played for NI.

reder
    Was GSTQ played the last time we meet in Lansdowne? It was that friendly where about 20,000 turned up cos there was a glasgow derby on at the same time.

The GAA can't really renege on the current deal up until 2009. If there was an incident in Croek Park the anti brigade would of course try to use it. They will use anything they can.
    oh, gspain they will.

Ihonestly believe the wales game is the real slice of history on this island. The French rugby game was a huge deal but this is the real thing. When GAA people talk about other codes it is rarely rugby they are thinking about.
    Also American Football was played at croker. March 24th is the Real Deal.
    Soccer comes to the GAA HQ.
    Can't wait!!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

ok maybe it was a bit of a sweeping statement had a few beers last night when i wrote it...
    It would be a good idea if we took a breathalyser before we posted on here, me no exception.

Personally I can appreciate yours and others hostility to rugger in your part of the world. I nearly put the boot through the telly last year before the Leinster v Munster game. I was all set to support Leinster. Dad's from Dublin and Conchita's inexplicable hatrede to all things of the capital and fanatical support for the men in red meant there was no other option. Then up popped this, how would I describe him, hmm, complete f*cking w*nker. Stated something about the Munster boys being 'boggers' in this fake posh Dublin accent which I believe is known as the D4 bullsh*t accent. If that had been someone English we'd be furious. This c*nt thinks he can get away with that sh*te. Needless to say I was as chuffed as Paul O'Donnell and Conchita when they got hammered.

Don't think things are as bad in Limerick, although there are a few ar*eholes rented out to heads in Cork.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    ...I am concerned that an incident will happen soon to damage the good reputation of our fans. There is an agrressive element that has come to the fore in the last couple of years. The venom of the abuse in San Marino. the fighting in the stand. Ditto for some elements in Cyprus and even Stuttgart. I don't think it would take much to spark off trouble. I think it is more likely to happen away than at home...
    Most of that recent aggression is born from the poor results and sh*te performances. The trouble is likely to be Irish v Irish. I can't see the Welsh being part of it. Trouble could be in Cardiff, but unlike with the Tans, I've never known of trouble with our previous visits there or Wrexham with the Welsh. I saw Derry City play Cardiff in 1988. There were songs about the IRA - 'IRA, IRA, IRA' to that American army tune that 'Ing-er-land' is also sung to - but it has to be said that it wasn't Derry City fans that were singing them. So much for the BNP element amongst yet another band of overrated hooligans.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

1,025 Posts
    to me Rugby represents to me elitism and snobbery, cultural and historical neglect
    Quote Originally Posted by billybunter View Post
    the ruger crowd are a false, prretentious, shower of dikk heads. I to speak from experience.
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    I Their game is ultra-posh and attracts all these wannabe posh types and corporates that we dont have to entertain but on the whole they are good people.

Lads have you ever been to a game in Limerick, which truly is the (spiritual) home of Irish rugby? Limerick gets a lot of abuse on this forum, as does every other city, but I've never seen the any of the above words used - snobbery, posh, elitism, pretentious.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    Don't think things are as bad in Limerick
    Lopez - the voice of reason!!!

before ye say it i know munster rugars are different
    Ok never mind.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Lopez - the voice of reason!!!
    Not noted for that.

I've never been to Limerick city, but I read the book recently 'Stand Up And Fight!' Mainly about the All Blacks victory of 1978 but touches on the discrimination of the IRFU prior to this time to Limerick rugby. Unfortunately with Irish rugger, the classism stems from the schools that play it. Few non private schools play the game, and while private schools are spread more widely across the population than here in England, the elitism remains. At my state comp school in England, my year was the first to play the game, yet we played just against other comprehensives and never against private schools.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

osarusan they have an even more elitist attitude in limerick when it comes to rugby. the players walking round in niteclubs in tracksuit bottoms and tops fFFS for a start....

Quote Originally Posted by billybunter View Post
    agree with citizen erased 100%. the ruger crowd are a false, prretentious, shower of dikk heads. I to speak from experience. I moved from the country to a well know rugger school in late 80's. Was a mad gaa and soccer player, and i will share a short story. we entered a gaa team, and drew another team from the same town in an open cup comeptition, without sharing details, the powers that be would not allow the lowering of the cross bar or marking of the rugger field to play the gaa game. Class shower. was an impressionable 16 year old at the time. Few years older now, but you want to talk about a crowd of bigots. We played away and got hammered of course. agree with the sentiment - fook rugby.
    I too was in probably the biggest rugby school of all in the late 90's and early 00's.
    That is actually what put me totally off ruger. It was compulsory to play it. Not that it was really the most popular sport in the school because soccer was but when this was put to the principal to higher the profile of soccer in the school, he declined saying that it was the sport of private schools. That is complete ape shiite.

RUgby fans are completely false.

Over 50% of the fans at the french match were brought through corporate hospitality and they all thought it was brilliant so they could say they were at the 1st non - gaa match.

Well on the 24th we will see the first non - gaa real sport in Croker. It will be memorable and I assure you there will be no trouble. Why would Welsh fans give a sh#t about Croker?

Bring it on!!! - with real fans

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    RUgby fans are completely false.
    All of them, or just some of them?

one thing we wont stand for here at foot.ie is shameless generalisations of any kind, we just want fair, balanced, logical debate.