Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Bright New Dawn of FAI Leadership

43 Posts

I love the "you are now entering free DerryCityWeb.net" signage. Quality.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Folks

In light of the new realities perhaps instead of posting these articles on official, semi-official or quasi official websites, we should write any criticisms of the FAI, in unofficial publications such as fanzines and THEIR websites. So maybe we should see Derry City originated criticisms on www.brandyballs.net for example. If it doesn't exist , will one of ye set it up ?

This would mean the club doesn't get fined, and if a fanzine gets fined well most fanzines have no assets so what can they do?

30 Posts
    They are already posted on an unofficial site - look at the URL:

http://www.derrycityweb.net/index.php?blog=2

The arguments over whether derrycityfc.net is unofficial or not is irrelevant! The club were fined for not removing them from the official site when requested to do so.

But they WERE removed immediately and the blog system transferred off derrycityfc.net. The FAI are just p*ssed off, because the article was still online.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Did nobody cop onto this joke of a mistake yet

http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/vi...=110639#110639
    No offence, but this message

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth Penrose
    We have altered the fixtures quite a number of days ago. The FAI and the club were aware and contacted the website and we changed the fixtures. Check these things out re the official fixture listing on the site before jumping to the conclusions wrongly jumped to above.

I know that the fixtures were identified as clashing almost immeidately and they were changed promptly.
    reads a little bit like it was delivered at gunpoint I can understand why Shels, of all clubs, would not want to be accused of criticising the FAI at this time.

As for this

Quote Originally Posted by Crunch02

The FAI were in a rush to set out the fixture list and the leagues and fair play to them for changing it quickly.
    I presume that's meant to be sarcastic - the FAI, by their own admission, delayed announcing the fixture list until the Shelbourne situation was (sort of) resolved. They clearly knew where Shamrock were playing this season - otherwise they couldn't have got a license.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

1,554 Posts
    This hole thing is incredibly worrying. The FAI have gone completley mental at this stage and Delaney seems to think that he can't be removed no matter what he does- and the sad thing is he may well be right.

I feel very, very sorry for Kev who must be hurting badly over this and is a guy who has probably done more single handedly to improve the image of this league than the FAI have in the course of their history. Hopefully Derry's legal team wipe the floor with the FAI and some level of sanity is restored.

I would imagine there will be some very serious security measures at the upcoming matches in Croke Park to try to avoid embarrassment for the FAI, but I have to say I hope some sort of peaceful but prominent protest takes place.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    I would imagine there will be some very serious security measures at the upcoming matches in Croke Park to try to avoid embarrassment for the FAI, but I have to say I hope some sort of peaceful but prominent protest takes place.
    It's being tried at least. http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=53976
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    I feel very, very sorry for Kev who must be hurting badly over this and is a guy who has probably done more single handedly to improve the image of this league than the FAI have in the course of their history. Hopefully Derry's legal team wipe the floor with the FAI and some level of sanity is restored.
    Kev's a smart lad with a good sense of humour - so rather than take it all to heart, I suspect he's finding it hilarious as he's sunning himself in the Melbourne sun....

No doubt he'll be annoyed that the club have got fined, but I suspect he righly views that as being the responsibility of the FAI and not him or the club.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    It's being tried at least. http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=53976
    I will now confuidently predict that fans going to the Wales game will be subject to a T-shirt search upon entry, and any offending items will be confiscated.

I jest yee not.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I will now confuidently predict that fans going to the Wales game will be subject to a T-shirt search upon entry, and any offending items will be confiscated.

I jest yee not.
    I'm fully expecting it - this is the organisation that confiscated bits of paper from supporters. And that was before Uncle John consolidated absolute power at the head of the politburo.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    I'm fully expecting it - this is the organisation that confiscated bits of paper from supporters. And that was before Uncle John consolidated absolute power at the head of the politburo.
    Me too, but if Inter fans can smuggle a Vespa into the San Siro, we can get some t-shirts into the game. Wear another layer boys.

3,492 Posts
    Anyone want the latest in eL fashion?

Edit - didn't notice it linked above. Still, going to put the link here so everyone sees it.

I agree with Steve - it'll be an interesting entrance to Lansdowne!! Still, layers is the key.

it'll be an interesting entrance to Lansdowne!! .
    Yeah it would be an outstanding entrance at Lansdowne while the other 75k plus are across the river at Croker
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Yeah it would be an outstanding entrance at Lansdowne while the other 75k plus are across the river at Croker
    Shh! The Welsh might catch on.

3,492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post

At least I'd get noticed in the stands I suppose...

Reminds me of a time we were playing in Tolka, and one of the lads rang saying the ground was closed. He was in Croker!

What's this about t-shirt protests. I read on the foot.ie Ireland forum* that we were all going to rip up the seats and throw them at Delaney.

*may not be true
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

3,492 Posts
    That's the Welsh/English you're thinking of.

Buy a t-shirt. Wear it. Don't get it confiscated. Try and get on telly. That's the jist.

1,025 Posts
    I say somebody sneaks in with weedkiller and sprays "Delaney Out" on the pitch so it can be read by the cameras. Do it a few days before the game, so the affected grass will be nice and brown by game time.

I'm expecting a knock on the door by the thought police any moment now.

246 Posts
    Nice to see Aidan Fitzmaurice's piece in the Herring this evening highlighting the ridiculous nature of the fine imposed on Derry. More bad publicity for Delaney and his merry men.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

89 Posts

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Kev's a smart lad with a good sense of humour - so rather than take it all to heart, I suspect he's finding it hilarious as he's sunning himself in the Melbourne sun....

No doubt he'll be annoyed that the club have got fined
    Correct

Though there was an tremor here today and I thought for an instance that Don Jelaney had got control of the elements in an attempt to silence me..........

* Please note all characters mentioned and any relation to any persons, living or dead, is merely coincidental.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    * Please note all characters mentioned and any relation to any persons, living or dead, is merely coincidental.
    I genuinely laughed out loud at this.

Good article BTW Kev.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast