Never, never, never. Jack C can do no wrong. Won promotion for the Owls. Took Ireland to 2 WCs and a European Championship and had one of our biggest away victories ever in Belfast (as it happens) under him. Whether his tactics were sophisticated or otherwise interest me not. They were effective as our brethern across the border know only too well
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Healy scored a brilliant hat trick tbs, the second was a cracker the third sublime, the first looked a bit dubious but who cares.
In September Spain look a bit dozy
No implied scorn of big Jack intended, more a copying = flattery thing. A high Bonner punt, a Cas flick on and Quinn nets it, all in 3 seconds, was a thing of beauty. It is no coincidence that Charlton was there at the 3 finals with our team. He was a part of it and made some very good decisions. We already had the backbone of a good team and went nowhere.
Stan our gringo from El Paso reckons we will come good in March.
Fair play to ye - perhaps people can begin to see why we worship the wee man so much. The third goal was, indeed, sublime, but I have to say he's scored better than that for NI, including against Austria from 35 yards and even better, from the same distance against Denmark, with only a certain Peter Schmeichel in goal!
Mind you, his winner vs Latvia a month after the Spain game was none too shabby, either (or Route 1), in a game he insisted playing, despite suffering a severe bout of flu. Like his hat-trick goal vs Spain, note how no sooner has he hit it than he turns away to celebrate, so confident is he in his touch - for me, the stamp of a genuine finisher:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMZlg4S2FMk
And whilst I'm trawling through Youtube, I might as well bring this up again (the flimsiest of excuses always suffices):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUamyEOzaAU&NR
And, of course, that goal is never complete without a wee bit of bouncy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e45-jt7nqAM
I'll go now. Besides, I can't type any more for the tears which are welling up...![]()
We all know why you worship him. You worship him because you have no one better. Simple as that. He's pants.
You only have one player of any quality. Steven Davis. Possibly Evans will turn out to be good but at the moment Davis is your only quality player irrespective of what other delusions you have regarding the rest of your squad.
By the way you were mentioning Michael Duff would get into the Republic team instead of the Champions League winning Finnan earlier in this thread . Have a read of this from soccernet.com regarding Burnley's defeat to Wolves at the weekend and in future stick to your medication:
However, seconds later, Wolves widened the gap to two goals when Ward brought the ball forward and rode an unconvincing challenge from Mike Duff before toe-poking the ball low past Coyne.
Duff was left standing by our world class player Stephen Ward. How many squads has he been in again?
Last edited by youngirish; 19/02/2007 at 5:18 PM.
Aye right, those five Healy goals from the last 18 months (worth nine qualifying points alone, btw) weren't real, just Computer Generated Imagery, I suppose?
And you're right about our other players, as well: nothing to compare with your all-conquering heroes, eh? I mean to say, beating Spain, Finland and Latvia and drawing away to Denmark is one thing, but hardly comparable to the ROI's exploits.
Still, you're nearly right about one thing: we worship Healy because we have no-one better; in fact, we worship him because there is no-one better - on this island, at least!
Or were Texaco taken in by mere goals when they made him their (All-Ireland) Football Sports Personality of the Year for 2006?![]()
Anyhow, the above is all about opinions; you might be advised to get your facts right before you bless us with your opinions. Or have you forgotten posting the following:
"I'm sure you're well aware that him scoring so many goals for NI is irrelevant. The majority of those goals have been against sub standard opposition bar the notable exceptions you have mentioned (mainly due to NI not being able to secure friendlies against decent opposition for a long time due to their lowly ranking)"
"Also EalingGreen when did you beat us when you played us last? Refresh my memory? Because if I remember correctly the last time we played your team competitively in senior internationals we beat you 5-1 over the two legs. Are you that desperate to make a point that you are clinging on to Youth team games?"
Not only has Healy scored more goals in compeitive games versus ranking opposition than e.g. Keane (not to mention Morrison, Stokes, Long or Connolly combined), but in recent years, NI have played friendlies against minnows like Germany, Portugal, Italy and Spain (plus giants like Switzerland and Wales, in preparation for them for their matches against you-know-who).
And you seem to have conveniently overlooked the result the last time our two teams met. Perhaps a wee song will remind you:
"Who put the ball in the Beggars' net?
Super, Danny,
Who put the ball in the Beggars' net?
Super Danny Griffin"![]()
Last edited by EalingGreen; 19/02/2007 at 5:53 PM.
I wasn't comparing Duff with Finnan, who is indeed a fine player. I actually posted that Duff, on the basis of 250 League games, including over 100 in the Championship, makes a better case for playing centre half than McShane, who's still a novice, both at club and international level.
Of course, McShane shows a great deal of potential as a centre half, but if it's potential we're talking about, he doesn't appear to compare with Jonny Evans in that position - that's if Alex Ferguson or, ahem, Roy Keane are any judge of a player.
And remind me what it was soccernet.com had to say about McShane's role in the goal conceded by the ROI versus the mighty San Marino?![]()
Last edited by EalingGreen; 19/02/2007 at 5:54 PM.
Johnny who?
I
Actually Ferguson apparently wanted to keep McShane but felt he wasn't ready for the first team, but McShane wanted first team football and didn't want to hang around waiting for a call up to the first team squad, and requested a transfer to get first team football and further his career (showing more ambition that o'shea), whereas jonny evans seemingly hasn't gotten to that stage of his career. also, in terms of criticising mcshane for the goal against SM had henderson not come out then mcshane and dunne would have dealt with the situation easily, but henderson put them under pressure by coming out which led to them being nervous and not dealing with it properly.
Kingdom Hoop is talking about Doyle (who's from "this island") of course Ealing Green, Just thought I'd let you know, because all your statements smack of ignorance. Statements like that about Healy are completely outlandish. Wait for a steady stream of stats to flow in that perfectly illustrate the truth about this mediocre "superstar" of yours. I never hear you going on about how good he was during that ridiculous goalless streak of the Sammy McIllroy Halcyon days, or why he left United with a whimper, or why he can't get a game at Leeds etc etc. Thought you were maybe making an effort at being humourous with some of your statements, but you lot are devoid of that. Its becoming more and more obvious your relishing our retorts to your nonsensical yarns, must be your form of entertainment. Give up the charade, your flogging a dead horse at this stage, and have beenfor quite a while.
..would you mind not using that term. I've already informed you that its origins are rooted in the famine. You may have used it initially in ignorance (you claimed so), but obviously you still don't feel disinclined to refrain from pitching the insult here.
I'd suggest politely that even the risk of causing offence (whatever you think of its origins) should be sufficient to engender a little moderation in your appproach. I'm sorry it's not, but its no wonder those 6/7 lads decided not to play for you.
You may be having sport, I'm bored with it all.
Once again drivel .... but as you have proved on countless occasions you are the master of drivel. Healy will be an average striker in league one next year but I'm sure he'll remain a hero for you. Because, as is the case in all supporters of international minnows, you take pleasure in the "small victories" as this is seen as justification for your existence.
Passport eligibility prior to the GFA was confined to those whose grandparent was born in Ireland prior to 1922 - no insult intended, but maybe you were too young to have applied for a passport prior to 1998 - which would have omitted future generations from their right to hold an Irish passport if their forefathers hadn't held one (those of Unionist descent). To their credit Irish embassies said b*llocks to that rule. An example was given to me by an official in Chapel St, London of an Indian doctor and his wife in 1994 who got his son an Irish passport, despite him being born in the Belfast.
EG brought up location with livehead. He has other obsessions too. My English birth is obviously understandable as it makes me in his eyes a real Brit rather than a plastic one that he is. (He might not know it in NI, but f*ck me, he'd certainly know it in London) However my rejection of the lottery ticket of life seems to seriously p*ss him off. Aaaaahhhh!!! He also has an obsession with my 'beloved' Spain too. Frankly, who can blame him. She's boootiful.![]()
It's nearer to Windsor Park than the 'Irish Republic' (sic.)
FIFA regs are there to see. Perhaps not what you were expecting. Dear me, what a shame!
They have more bearing on your obsession with us as your 'nearest (sic.) rivals.' From a purely footballing rivalry they would be first choice. However you and your scummy bigoted brethren are inventing a rivalry that is based more on what Sylvo said in his post than football. Your continual use of 'beggar' merely confirms what a pathetic little bigoted sh*te you are.
It wouldn't be if the gutless British government of 1914 practiced what they preached. The fact it is merely confims that the choice of nationalists re NI and Ireland is one of Britain and Ireland. FIFA agree too. Funny, I don't know the muppet's name in the IFA who thinks he's doing a great job stopping Irish people playing for their own country, but ask yourself this, with all this 'we've got the best players this' and 'the better players that', who would you rather have? Gibson et al or the refugee who had never heard of ourweecountry (sic.) Maik Taylor. Because if you are going down that road, perhaps FIFA might start looking at the anomalies of some of the NI players and their lack of connections and residency of the NI. But then that lack of foresight is why I call you and your mates 'ourweeminds'.
I remember the same line about drugs from the army groupie. Great one to use when you can't answer a simple question.How is Marty these days? Tell the w*nker he was pretty prophetic about those US soldiers killing babies. He'll know what I mean by that.
I feel exactly the same reading your cr*p.
Last edited by lopez; 19/02/2007 at 10:26 PM.
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
. Sweeet.
Have you got on u-tube any clips of the three goals scored by Ronnie, Rayo and Cas in 89, Stan's corner in 93, Roy Keane and Alan Mac dancing around the pitch at Windsor park on hearing the news we were off to America, as well as the four goals put passed you in 94 ( I belive the last one of the four was scored to a near empty ground).
Maybe you could show us some clips from u-tube of people being batoned of the streets by the RUC, or clips of them being hemmed into their homes by rows of land rovers, show us some clips of little girls being pelted with everything from pipe bombs to urine while on their way to school as the forces of law and order just let it happen, and then you can see why some people don't feel like playing for or supporting your vile little football team.![]()
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
I believe you already are registered on OWC?
Instead of running back here with tales of the unexpected, I'm surprised that a man of your intellect does not put his case on the OWC Board.
I'm quite sure some of the natives would be only too happy to indulge you in some "sport".
The personal abuse that you frequently dish out to EG, tells me that the match wouldn't last too long tho.
Dishing out personal abuse does you, or your arguements, no benefit whatsoever and portrays you as a very angry man.
Last edited by gustavo; 20/02/2007 at 9:09 AM.
The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
And this is what we sang...
If we're just talking about potential then Stokes, Gibson (United's young player of the year last year ahead of ur mate Evans though you'll probably choose to ignore that), J O'Brien, Garvan, Long, Supple, Mc Geady, Chris McCann, O'Dea, Ireland, Keogh, Clarke, Best, Ward, O'Donovan, S Quinn (I could go on for ever) are all better or at least equally as good prospects as Evans. Then again I suppose you also have Kyle Lafferty (a player who Chris McCann is younger than and rated more highly than at Burnley that gets into the North's first team - McCann as we all know is a regular for the Republic). And if you want to argue whether McCann is rated more highly than Lafferty at Burnley then just have a look at who won their young player of the year last year along with 4 other accolades from the supporters and the club. Here's a clue it wasn't Lafferty, I don't think he got a single one.
You're so biased you no longer inhabit reality as far as football is concerned. Sweden the end of March will give you a reality check if Liechenstein don't manage to do it beforehand. I have nothing against the North personally. I just believe their players are for the most part sh*te and they have been punching well above their weight for the last 3 games. Obviously the 3-0 home loss against Iceland the game before has been long since forgotten by you. Healy was brilliant in that game.
Last edited by youngirish; 20/02/2007 at 9:36 AM.
I'd have thought that if Ferguson really wanted to keep McShane, he'd have found a way. Look, for example, at the way he has loaned Ben Foster to Watford for two full seasons, even signing that keeper from WBA whose name I can't remember (K-something) or spell, as cover for VDS.
Similarly, with Evans himself, Ferguson first sent him on loan to Antwerp, then to Sunderland, where Keane has pitched him straight in.
Remember, Evans is a year younger than McShane.