I think the Republic going above Northern Ireland after their abysmal performances in the last few months( the Republic I mean) proves the rankings
are what the Sex Pistols asked us to Never Mind all those years ago....![]()
I think the Republic going above Northern Ireland after their abysmal performances in the last few months( the Republic I mean) proves the rankings
are what the Sex Pistols asked us to Never Mind all those years ago....![]()
First if he's Irish regardless of which one of our 32 counties he's from then he's eligible, I belive the good friday agreement covers this little matter. Maybe you can take up this up with the passport office, no need to get in touch with the main one in Dublin, theres one in Belfast which I hear is most helpful from our fellow fans from the Northern part of the country.
Second you moved to Ealing from Ireland. Not the same country. Sorry to break that news to you. Really I couldn't care where you live.![]()
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
Find me the clause in the GFA which refers to football generally, or international eligibility specifically. I'd be most interested to read it.
Secondly, when I moved from Northern Ireland to Great Britain, I don't recall crossing any frontiers, so I am pretty sure I remained in the same country. (The name "United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland" in my Passport is a clue, not that I had to present it to anyone)
And forgive me for thinking you might be interested in where I live. I must have misunderstood your post from earlier today, when you asked:
"Anyway EG go on tell us how you ended up in Ealing..."![]()
P.S. Did you enjoy the "pub football" clip I posted?![]()
The thing is Ealing, YOU don't decide what is posted in this thread. There are mods to do the job. If you don't like that, go back and play with the little boys on ourweeminds.
As Scotland's coastline is nearer to Saxe-Coburg-Gotha Park than Dundalk, you've played them perhaps fifteen more times than us, they've stitched you up more than once over 'security', and we won't even mention the BC, the reason we are your 'nearest' rivals is not geography but bigotry. In fact, I'd say the only justification for us being your nearest rivals in the empty space between your ears is the two minute drive from the Village to the Botanic Inn on the Malone Road, which the last time I was there was filled to the rafters with supporters watching the real Ireland team, while the fake one was warming up to play down the road.![]()
http://www.fifa.com/documents/static...09_2005_EN.pdf
We've gone through this before. Article 15 of 'Eligibility to play for Association Teams.' Pretty clear cut. FIFA does the football. The GFA allows anyone in Ireland to get an Irish passport. Until the recent referendum, for some it was the only one of the two they could get (so much for more the knowledge of your own 'country's' - which one is it today? - citizenship laws.)
I'd like to say I've got a tape from SCGP 94, but a small country like us hammering someone 4-0 away really isn't something worth keeping. Especially a team that isn't a real country. Even youtube don't have it. No one can be bothered posting it. Frankly, a video of the union jack waving inbreds leaving at half time would be the only memorable moment from that game. (Boooo-hooo!). Were you one of them? I'd imagine your obsession with us would have meant that that scoreline was particularly hard to stomach.
I'm thinking of having that as a signature. The delicious irony of that statement is splitting my sides.
LOL: There's no need for Prozac when you're around.
Last edited by eirebhoy; 18/02/2007 at 12:45 PM.
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
Passport eligibility precedes the GFA by decades.
AFAIK, FIFA's articles on eligibility have only been clarified and entered into their statutes since the early 70's (Mancini, the first ?) and furthur clarified/ ammended to cover for the likes of Troussier and Oman.
couldn't care?Second you moved to Ealing from Ireland. Not the same country. Sorry to break that news to you. Really I couldn't care where you live.![]()
His location has been questioned again and again. The obsession about this irrelevant location issue nearly equals EG's obsession with things Ireland.
As has been said, it respects peoples rights to be whatever nationality they want to be. Ratified by the majority of people all across Ireland. I belive there was politicans from Ireland, Britain and America involved in it. So the basic story is people born in the North can class themselves as Irish (Strange that hey, seeing it is Ireland after all) and hold an Irish passport. Which in turn means their able to play for Ireland. Sorted.
But if your talking about Eligibilty regarding people born in your fake country here's some things that people from the Nationalist side of your so called country weren't entitled to for so long.
Equal opportunities in jobs which resulted in no vote if you were unemployed, Less funding for schools, Respect for national identity and culture ( I belive a lot of that was a criminal offence to display forms of Irish culture), huge election boundaries so they could never get any form of power, marches by a bigotted organisation forced through their areas against their will.
Things they were eligible for was discrimination and harrassment from a police force which was like the ss, which also aided and abetted Loyalist death squads in their murder of Nationalists. ( there was some proof provided as recent as three weeks ago to back that up so no need for me to check).
So in the real context of things seeing the wonderful civil rights record that your so called country has shown to its Nationalist population, that if theres one team that Darren Gibson is not eligible to play for is ''YOUR F**CKING SHOWER OF SH1TE''.
I look forward to seeing Darren getting his first senior cap, I think you lot have a nerve to even question and interfere in the selection of one of our own countrymen for our national team.
Didn't check out the pub team clip, couldn't download it, whats it about does it show you lot in action.
Yes maybe a passing interest, seeing we live in a third world country according to him, a country which so many people have come too and make it their home, I just can't see why someone like him would then want to leave our so called land neigbour which seems like such a superpower according to his songs.![]()
Ealing Green's non-stop postings to a forum dedicated to the Republic Of Ireland senior team are a pretty clear indication of his fear of the South and his insecurity as a Northerner. We in the South may have cast off the yoke of history but our Northerner brothers are still well and truely burdened by the past. Take it easy on him now.
How many of the NI squad were born before the last time they were in a major competition ?
It shows the North scoring 3 goals against a currently ranked 4th seeded team at WP. I suspect that the goalkeeper in all innocence blessed himself and got distracted by the rumpus behind him.
I think the point of the clip is to demonstrate that the obsession with things Southern goes way beyond EG's sphere. Two of the goals are so Charltonesque that they could be a replica of scenes from our Charlton years.
So, to sum up:
1. Scotland is nearer to NI than the Irish Republic;
2. You are the authority on FIFA's Regulations, not FIFA;
3. SFA/IFA relations from over 30 years ago, and a match which took place nearly 13 years ago, together have more bearing on the respective merits of the NI and ROI teams than matches which have taken place in the last 13 months;
4. GB and NI are not both part of the "UK of GB & NI".
I don't know whether Prozac would do you any good, but you should stay away from the LSD...![]()
How curious that amongst those most "obsessed" with my location have been Livehead1 (living and studying in Nottingham), and Lopez (English born and bred)!
As for my own "obsession" with "Ireland" (I assume you mean the Republic of Ireland football team), I would merely point out that the overwhelming majority of my posts on this Board have been in the following threads:
Dermot Aherne's call for a single Irish team, which would mean the end of the NI team I support;
The Gibson thread, which concerns the eligibility or otherwise of NI-born players for NI or the ROI;
This thread, which covers the respective merits of NI vs the ROI team.
In case you've missed it, I've highlighted the common thread to my "obsession"; as an NI fan I think I'm entitled to an opinion, whether you find it disagreeable or not.
As for the dozens of other threads on the ROI team, other than when I have a particular interest (Robbie Keane, Cian Hughton, Steve Hunt etc), I have generally avoided commenting, since I have no great desire to intrude upon private grief.![]()
That's one interpretation. Another would be that it's film of NI twice coming from behind to beat a team ranked in the top 15 in the world, by virtue of a hat-trick from their No.9, in what was arguably the best individual display of finishing seen in an international match anywhere in the world in 2006.
P.S. I'm surprised at your implied scorn for the methods of Jack Charlton; do you prefer the tactical sophistication of Stan, then?![]()