Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Back above Northern Ireland

that davies/davis lad is the only one i'd let near our team as sh!te awful as we may be right now
    I

Jesus when will people realise it's not about indiviudals , sure the NI team mightnt earn as much as our players or play in as high profile clubs but they are a far better team than ours at the minute , all this condescending "I wouldnt take any of their players" attitude is pointless.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Jesus when will people realise it's not about indiviudals , sure the NI team mightnt earn as much as our players or play in as high profile clubs but they are a far better team than ours at the minute , all this condescending "I wouldnt take any of their players" attitude is pointless.
    Which, although the likes of "As I Say" might not recognise or admit it , is reflected in the difference between a moderate player in a crap Championship team (Healy) scoring a hattrick against Spain, and a top player in a decent Premiership side (Keane) scoring* a hattrick against San Marino.

Anyhow, from the severely depleted NI team that played Wales last Tuesday, Taylor, Hughes, Gillespie, Duff, and Davis would all have strolled into the ROI team the following night (not counting Healy, Johnson and Evans, who were injured).

* - Or missing a hattrick, as in the game out there

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    As for the rest, people can "declare" all they like, but until FIFA determines, neither you nor I knows who's eligible and who's not.
    FIFA have determined what it takes to be eligible for an Irish citizen to change associations, it's just some commitee checks the validity of an application to change associations before approving the declaration. They couldn't possibly just take JD's word on it.

386 Posts
    Anyhow, from the severely depleted NI team that played Wales last Tuesday, Taylor, Hughes, Gillespie, Duff, and Davis would all have strolled into the ROI team the following night (not counting Healy, Johnson and Evans, who were injured).
    Let's not get carried away ....

gustavo agree with ye, it seems the west of ireland ppl have a little more thought about what they say...

Imagine how bad the likes of Gillespie, Duff, Healy and Johnson would be if managed by Stan.

Quote Originally Posted by liaml View Post
    Couldn't give a rat's arse what position we are to the North TBH
    Exactly. Despite the best efforts of Ealing Green, I can't say that I've been moved into getting out my poncho and sombrero and shooting my two colts in the sky. He might think we're his biggest rivals. I prefer someone like England as ours. And unlike NI, we are still 22 years since they last beat us: Not 2 years.

Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    We're not Brazil, we're Stan Stefano.

Why have Southern Ireland had delayed starts recently? Because no-one starts playing until five-to.
    Jaysus. I thought you were hibernating with the bears. I txtd you on tuesday as I was passing your old haunt in Titanic town on the bus up to the castle, but got no reply. I must say it makes what I grew up in as very des - res.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

284 Posts
    Originally Posted by EalingGreen

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Let's not get carried away ....
    Hardly.

Are you saying Taylor wouldn't have got in before Henderson?
    Aaron Hughes has made over 250 Premiership appearances at full back or centre back, plus half as many again in cup matches and internationals. No room for him, eh?
    Keith Gillespie, outstanding in NI's resurgence over the last three years, has been one of Sheffield Utd's best players in the Premiership this season.
    Michael Duff (29) has made 350 League appearances, including 100 in the Championship for Burnley, where he is enjoying his best season at Centre Back. Or would you prefer Paul McShane?
    Steve Davis: whatever O'Neill may think, absolute quality. Will make it to the top, whether at Villa or elsewhere.

131 Posts
    Is that statement a joke or are you serious? Only Taylor and Davis would have got near our first 11 the rest wouldn't have a chance. Gillespie? Don't Stephen and Alan Quinn get their games at Sheffield Utd before him and neither get near our team. Healy? Morrison, Connolly, Stokes and Long are all doing better than him this season and the first two don't even get into our squad anymore.

Anyway, as they say, don't let the facts get in your way before posting one of those silly, biased, pro NI, EalingGreen statements we all know and love.
    Last edited by youngirish; 15/02/2007 at 6:10 PM.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    Imagine how bad the likes of Gillespie, Duff, Healy and Johnson would be if managed by Stan.
    Don't have to imagine it - I saw what they were like under McIlroy!

(Fair point, though)

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    Exactly. Despite the best efforts of Ealing Green, I can't say that I've been moved into getting out my poncho and sombrero and shooting my two colts in the sky. He might think we're his biggest rivals. I prefer someone like England as ours. And unlike NI, we are still 22 years since they last beat us: Not 2 years.
    Once again, you misrepresent me What I posted was that the ROI are our "nearest" rivals - I even supplied a map of the island to demonstrate this, but perhaps you suffer from the average Englishman's ignorance of matters Irish?

And as for your seeing England as your rivals, as someone who has lived in England for years, I can assure you that England couldn't give a rat's ass (to borrow a phrase) about the ROI. But then again, you might be expected to know that...

Still, on reflection, I think I can understand your resentment at the NI football team. Let me see, the last time we played the land of your birth and upbringing (England), we beat you. The last time we played the land of your ancestry (ROI), we beat you. And the last time we played your beloved Spain, guess what? Yep, three out of three!

Never mind, though, there was never more than a goal in it...

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Is that statement a joke or are you serious? Only Taylor and Davis would have got near our first 11 the rest wouldn't have a chance. Gillespie? Don't Stephen and Alan Quinn get their games at Sheffield Utd before him and neither get near our team. Healy? Morrison, Connolly, Stokes and Long are all doing better than him this season and the first two don't even get into our squad anymore.

Anyway, as they say, don't let the facts get in your way before posting one of those silly, biased, pro NI, EalingGreen statements we all know and love.
    Fair enough, you will have been typing the above simultaneously with my typing a further elaboration on this issue (Post #49). When you read it, would you care to respond?

Though it appears you originally overlooked the fact that I was comparing the (depleted) NI side that played Wales last Tuesday with the (depleted) ROI side which played SM the next night, on a man-for-man basis.
    That is why, for example, your comparison of Gillespie with Geary or Quinn misses the point. Also your disparagement of Healy, who was injured for the Wales game.

Though on the subject of Sir David, whatever you think of his club career, his international record is outstanding. His record of 24 goals in 54 matches is marginally more prolific than e.g. Thierry Henri's, for a team which has frequently been mediocre.
    And unlike e.g. Robbie Keane, a high proportion of his goals are in competitive matches and against top opposition (e.g. England, Denmark, Spain, Germany etc).
    And his current form is as good as ever, seeing as he's scored 5 goals in five matches so far this season, including a hattrick against Spain. Does the international record of Morrison or Connolly really compare with that?

Anyhow, I'll leave you to pick the bones out of the rest of it, if you can!
    Last edited by EalingGreen; 15/02/2007 at 6:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    All six counties of Northern Ireland are within the Province of Ulster - therefore it is wholly appropriate to chant "Ulster" at Northern Ireland games -our Donegal born supporters like it too.

"Northern Ireland" can be a bit of a mouthful for some chants - you'll understand that point, given that ROI fans like to shorten things to "Ireland" -incidently, a not uncommon chant amongst Northern Ireland fans right up to the 1970's.
    you know you can still fly from the dirty south to freidrichshafen with ryanair to get to the game for about €50. It's about as far away as Zurich, so not too bad. plus you can rent a car from travelsupermarket for about £30. The only problem is you can't fly back til tuesday morning.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

No big thing getting back above NI - if you were allowed to play San Marino every match, that is!

And as for our "confusion" over Mexico, I think you'll find this is a reference to "South of the Border", a song written by Ulsterman Jimmy Kennedy. Although ostensibly a love song about an American who enjoys a brief flirtation with a Senorita down South, in reality, it is an Allegory of the dangers which can follow for a World Superpower should it get embroiled in the affairs of a Third World neighbour... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_o...der_(1939_song)

Glad you cleared that Mexico mystery up for me, it looks like being a Northern Ireland fan sounds like laugh a minute stuff. After all you get to spend god knows how long watching your team go without scoring a goal never mind winning its no wonder you would spend your time focusing on other things like Mexico/ USA relations, (I bet you've also talked about paint drying also at pub team games) not to mention worrying about what your hated rival are up to and who they are playing or which one of their own citizens their trying to pinch from you. I bet you have some right characters on your trips following yourweepubteam..

As for San Marino, I take my hat off to them, after all they caused us more problems then your pub team have done in some of our matches all those years ago. Plus they are a country unlike you.

No big thing getting back above NI - if you were allowed to play San Marino every match, that is!

And as for our "confusion" over Mexico, I think you'll find this is a reference to "South of the Border", a song written by Ulsterman Jimmy Kennedy. Although ostensibly a love song about an American who enjoys a brief flirtation with a Senorita down South, in reality, it is an Allegory of the dangers which can follow for a World Superpower should it get embroiled in the affairs of a Third World neighbour... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_o...der_(1939_song)

Like the third world neighbour bit, that made me smile. I take it the reason you live in Ealing was because your sectarian little plastic state was too much of a superpower for you.
    Last edited by gustavo; 16/02/2007 at 9:11 AM. Reason: can be done
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Once again, you misrepresent me What I posted was that the ROI are our "nearest" rivals - I even supplied a map of the island to demonstrate this, but perhaps you suffer from the average Englishman's ignorance of matters Irish?

And as for your seeing England as your rivals, as someone who has lived in England for years, I can assure you that England couldn't give a rat's ass (to borrow a phrase) about the ROI. But then again, you might be expected to know that...
    Well your description is very much what I'd describe how Irish fans feel about your puppet state team. Irish fans from the O6C may differ but then they have to live with bigots like you, so I'll forgive them for that. Then, you wouldn't have thought In-ger-land would feel any different seeing the difference in our rankings (let's forget the last time they beat us for a minute). But still they can't stop singing songs about us though, so your post is more of your usual sh*te.
    Still, on reflection, I think I can understand your resentment at the NI football team. Let me see, the last time we played the land of your birth and upbringing (England), we beat you. The last time we played the land of your ancestry (ROI), we beat you. And the last time we played your beloved Spain, guess what? Yep, three out of three!
    And my God! All three are still ahead of the muppet state in the FIFA rankings. Brings you down to earth a bit that.

...Are you saying Taylor wouldn't have got in before Henderson?...
    Not interested in him. Only players that are eligible to play for Ireland would I consider whether they could get into the team or not. B*llocks about your ringers are all conjecture. To use one of your well worn favourite statements, 'it's irrelevant horlicks.'

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave View Post
    you know you can still fly from the dirty south to freidrichshafen with ryanair to get to the game for about €50. It's about as far away as Zurich, so not too bad. plus you can rent a car from travelsupermarket for about £30. The only problem is you can't fly back til tuesday morning.
    All sorted already, thanks SuperDave.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

whats going on in the north is how a bunch of elder journeymen at the twilight of their careers and youngsters playing at a low level can be inspired by a great man motivator such as sanchez.

Technically and talent wise, man for man, I would have none of them in our team except for davis who is clearly an oustanding talent. Sproule has pace but he's clearly a knacker so you're welcome to him.

as usual "ealing green" is wearing his "orange tinted specs" thinking that 2 great results against england (last campaign) and spain (fair enough) will mean anything when this season is over.

i'll be putting some cash on spain to put 4 past the north in the return game as they have a history of hammering minnows at home who have upset them away.
    I

131 Posts
    Though on the subject of Sir David, whatever you think of his club career, his international record is outstanding. His record of 24 goals in 54 matches is marginally more prolific than e.g. Thierry Henri's, for a team which has frequently been mediocre.
    And unlike e.g. Robbie Keane, a high proportion of his goals are in competitive matches and against top opposition (e.g. England, Denmark, Spain, Germany etc).
    And his current form is as good as ever, seeing as he's scored 5 goals in five matches so far this season, including a hattrick against Spain. Does the international record of Morrison or Connolly really compare with that?
    Anyhow, I'll leave you to pick the bones out of the rest of it, if you can!
    I'm sure you're well aware that him scoring so many goals for NI is irrelevant. The majority of those goals have been against sub standard opposition bar the notable exceptions you have mentioned (mainly due to NI not being able to secure friendlies against decent opposition for a long time due to their lowly ranking). The phrase big fish in a small pond immediately springs to mind.

Kiatisuk "Zico" Senamuang that well known Thai international striker has 63 goals in 117 international games a far better record than both Healy's and Henry's. He plays his football for that world renowned club BEC Tero Sasana in the Thai professional league. I think I'd pass on replacing Doyle or Keane with him if he suddenly found out tomorrow that he had an Irish granny and FIFA gave him a special dispensation to allow him to switch countries.

So as you know and as we all know those stats you quote regularly regarding Healy are pointless. Long, Stokes, Doyle, Keane and even Morrison are all better players and would get into any team before him (even NI). He's a similar player as far as I'm concerned to Connolly, a decent Championship striker who has found his level but will never be good enough to play regularly in the Premiership.

Also EalingGreen when did you beat us when you played us last? Refresh my memory? Because if I remember correctly the last time we played your team competitively in senior internationals we beat you 5-1 over the two legs. Are you that desperate to make a point that you are clinging on to Youth team games?

P.S. I personally couldn't care less that we are above NI in the rankings. NI have found their level (in fact some could argue that they are exceeding it). With the players we have we should easily be a top twenty team. How many countries boast a full starting 11 (and some of our subs to boot) that ply their trade exclusively in one of the top 3 leagues in the world ? Not 20 anyway.
    Last edited by youngirish; 16/02/2007 at 9:52 AM.

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast