Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why do Ireland fans....

Why do Ireland fans....

Feel the need to deface the Irish flag with all manner of crap. Names of pubs, restaurants, their own name (Who the fupp is Davy Keogh)

Some of them are pretty embarresing:

"Bournemouth Fighting Irish"

Also whoever had Chelsea flags at an Ireland match is a moron of the very highest calibre

It's a faaarrrccceeeeee

Quote Originally Posted by Soper View Post
    It's a faaarrrccceeeeee

Feel the need to deface the Irish flag with all manner of crap. Names of pubs, restaurants, their own name (Who the fupp is Davy Keogh)

Also whoever had Chelsea flags at an Ireland match is a moron of the very highest calibre
    don't really agree with you too much LTiD but you're spot on here. that chelsea one in particular really takes the biscuit

That one with "Foot.ie on tour" was particularly displeasing....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

112 Posts
    The Monaghan Boys on Tour one annoys me. What the hell do Homer and Bart Simpson got to do with Ireland?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Because the muppets have no clubs of their own to support so they deface the flags with the name of their local boozer. Pathetic beyond belief.

There's nothing wrong with Shamrock Rovers, Cork City or Bohemians etc on a tricolour, that's what every other nation's fans do. But our self-hating olé olérs don't even follow their own clubs.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    The Monaghan Boys on Tour one annoys me. What the hell do Homer and Bart Simpson got to do with Ireland?
    Careful your going to start up the whole 2nd generation argument again

It should be a criminal offence like burning the flag in the USA.

Think of how many people died so we could fly our flag.

eh bit of an over reaction there lads...
    I

Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say View Post
    eh bit of an over reaction there lads...
    Eh, I have an aversion to my fellow countrymen embarrassing me wherever they go. Apologies for that.

1000% correct. Anyone who defaces an Irish tricolour with an english club should be put down. Include davy keogh in that. Absolute embarrassment to humanity.

What WAR says is spot on.

A tricolour with fcuking chelsea on it? For the love of christ what is wrong with these vermin?

Ah sure Premiership is our local league

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post

What does the KOH that yourself & We Are Rovers use represent ???? You hardly both have the same initials, do you ????

Please note section 17 of
    Government Guidelines for use of the National Flag

17 The National Flag should never be defaced by placing slogans, logos, lettering or pictures of any kind on it, for example at sporting events.
    but

The following guidelines are to assist persons in giving due respect to the National Flag. Observance of the guidelines contained in this booklet is a matter for each individual because there are no statutory requirements. It is expected, however, that the National Flag will be treated at all times with appropriate respect by those who use it.
    The Department of the Taoiseach has general responsibility in relation to the National Flag. This responsibility is primarily concerned with the protocol for the flying of the flag. The Department’s role, therefore, is an advisory one
    SO its not against the law
    Last edited by Eire06; 08/02/2007 at 12:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Chippy View Post
    What does the KOH that yourself & We Are Rovers use represent ???? You hardly both have the same initials, do you ????
    It stands for "Keep On Hoping" as that's all they have to hang onto, these days.

Rovers heads will tell your that it was the salutation on their recorded helpline message, "Keep On Hooping!"

We all know the truth though.

131 Posts
    San Marino. Now there's a country with a bit of respect for its flag. I'm supporting their football team from now on.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    It stands for "Keep On Hoping" as that's all they have to hang onto, these days.
    Jaysus, that's poor Peadar. Looking forward to hating CCFC again and a few trips to the Cross this year. In fairness the Kilcoyne Our Hero banner was good.

As for "that's all they have to hang onto, these days" - we made a profit last year, won some silverware, kept our talented young squad together and are looking forward to this season more than any in a longtime. How are Cork City doing financially these days? kept many of your squad?

Yes this is the biggest problem with Irish football, sort it out and it will be all roses

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    How are Cork City doing financially these days? kept many of your squad? KOH
    New investment, new sponsor, new stand, new players, new league, biggest active fan base in the country. Welcome back to a competitive league. Hope your partime kids & miniscule budget can cope...
    Looking forward to seeing your defaced Tricolours back at The Cross.

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast