Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7151617

Thread: Mayo Premier Division 2007

Hi all,

I hear Westport 'B' are going all out to win the league, was talking to a well known member of the club last night and was told that 3 players have arrived back from America and that a few first team players are eligible to play,

As for our own match against Swinford, we have it all to do aswell and know its not going to be easy.

As for Players of the season, its hard to name any from our team as everyone has given 110%.

We're out of all cups so have it all to play for next week.

Any news on the Swinford camp for Sundays match against Ballinrobe? How are your squad fixed? Have you got GAA boys available? What's the determination like in camp? Personally, I think Donal benson should make the entire squad watch Braveheart the night before, dubbing the word 'England' for 'Ballinrobe' and 'English' for 'Ballinrobians' throughout. Possibly change the word "Freedom" for the catchier phrase "Status in the Mayo League Premier Division". I expect every man-jack of the proud Swinford contingent to arrive on Sunday smeared in face-paint and baying for blood (ok, maybe just victory). So come on, proud men from Midfield and Meelick, from Culmore and Killasser, they can take your lives, but they can't take your status in the Mayo League Premier Division!!!! AARRRRGGHHH!
    (This will look particularly stupid if both Swinford AND Fahy get beaten.)

We're quietly confident of getting the job done on Sunday despite the pressure that is on us, i would strongly fancy Westport to dispose of the ''Mid Table Premier Outfit'' as our mysterious friend Ron Burgundy would call ye!!!
    However we will be taking the match very seriously and have been training well so we will wait and see, i could be red faced on Monday morning but i doubt it very much!!

I live not to far from Swinford and know a couple of the boys down there they're prepared for the game but have lost an awful lot of there main 1st team either through injury or players moving abroad. And FAHY what are you on about "any GAA players available" if thats how Fahy gets through there tough games you should be ashamed of yourselfs. Stick with the players that have played all year and shown committment, not some GAA blown in's

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Any news on the Swinford camp for Sundays match against Ballinrobe? How are your squad fixed? Have you got GAA boys available? What's the determination like in camp? Personally, I think Donal benson should make the entire squad watch Braveheart the night before, dubbing the word 'England' for 'Ballinrobe' and 'English' for 'Ballinrobians' throughout. Possibly change the word "Freedom" for the catchier phrase "Status in the Mayo League Premier Division". I expect every man-jack of the proud Swinford contingent to arrive on Sunday smeared in face-paint and baying for blood (ok, maybe just victory). So come on, proud men from Midfield and Meelick, from Culmore and Killasser, they can take your lives, but they can't take your status in the Mayo League Premier Division!!!! AARRRRGGHHH!
    (This will look particularly stupid if both Swinford AND Fahy get beaten.)
    Brilliant! Good laugh to start the day. nice one FF. Good luck sunday

Quote Originally Posted by Allornothing View Post
    I live not to far from Swinford and know a couple of the boys down there they're prepared for the game but have lost an awful lot of there main 1st team either through injury or players moving abroad. And FAHY what are you on about "any GAA players available" if thats how Fahy gets through there tough games you should be ashamed of yourselfs. Stick with the players that have played all year and shown committment, not some GAA blown in's
    we've used the same lads throughout the entire course of the season.there are a couple of dual players who have played with us during the season but they haven't just turned up for the tough games.wouldn't do that to the lads that have stuck with us all year,unlike other teams but we'll get on with what we have to do on sunday and see how we get on.fingers crossed we can get a result and hope that swinford could do us a favour

Quote Originally Posted by Allornothing View Post
    I think it's a fair enough question to ask to any club who have a big Gaelic team in their area (such as Crossmolina, Charlestown, Swinford and some of the Belmullet teams like Inver). I'm not advocating reliance on dual-players, just acknowledging that they can be the difference for some of these clubs. It's certainly not how we get through our big games, as Cloggs just mentioned, but it's a vaild question.

Results

Any results lads. How did Brobe do against Swinford?

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    Any results lads. How did Brobe do against Swinford?
    The robe won 1-0
    The port drew 1-1
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Good match yesterday between Fahy and Westport, Fahy should have taken it really, hit the bar and had two cleared off the line, whilst their goal was a gift from our keeper. Fair play to Westport though, they have the league title and are a good team, they weren't intimidated by the physical side of Fahy's game yesterday, and have some young players who will push for the A team soon. We are happy enough in a way too, considering we were bottom of the league half way through the season we did alright when we had our full team. Hoping to be contending for promotion next season and should have some players back too...

Match Report up on website regarding Swinford Vs Ballinrobe.

Was not in the humour to be particularly gracious on Monday's post (Season-sized hangover), so today I'd like to congratulate Westport United B on winning the league, and Bangor and Ballinrobe in achieving promotion. It was a strange season, with predictions going just about as awry as possible. Ballyglass and Achill were not really considered for relegation and Swinford were seriously disappointing. With Glenhest, Crossmolina, Urlaur and Kilmore entering the division it's going to be hard to call next year too. Interesting to see that only three points separated Fahy and both S+F and Manulla B, who defied odds to do so well and should consolidate that position next year. Will the current trend of newly-promoted teams doing well continue with Kilmore or Urlaur contending for the title next year? Both Claremorris and now Bangor have managed to go straight up twice on the bounce.

On Sunday's game, there was a few points I wanted to make. Firstly, I Damian Mc Grath had a really good game and seems to have developed his player-communication skills considerably. He was always in control of what was a fractious, high-tempo match, scattered with incident and tough calls. There was quite a few bookings, but I felt they were all justified and dealt with well. He explained his actions constantly and often diffused aggression in situations where other referee's tend to exacerbate it. Mc Grath has been criticised in the past of being arrogant, condescending, overly authoritive and inflexible in his imposition of the rules, but I think he got it spot-on Sunday. He had all the player's respect anyway. Say what you like, but surely we would all prefer to have officials who keep up with the play, are consistent with their decisions and are professional enough to remain totally unbiased?

In terms of Westport, I was impressed by Lee Keegan in midfield, he's very assured on the ball and seems ready to play at a higher level. Micheal Gibbons is a great addition to the team in goal too. I felt sorry for some of the younger players who either missed out on playing, or missed the squad entirely due to the inclusion of a few A teamers, but I'm sure the cup made up for that. They seemed happy enough drinking out of it in Walshe's that night anyway!

Lastly, it's great to see a decent crowd at a match in our division. Westport have a great following and they all turned out to support their B team Sunday, complemented by a strong Fahy contingent (although I didn't spot those 600 sheep who were supposed to make guests appearances!). The atmosphere was appropriate for a local derby which was hotly-contested. For Fahy, I thought Richard Needham was excellent in Midfield, winning almost everything he challenged for and working tirelessly throughout, whilst Joe Keane was flawless again at centre-half, controlling his area implaccably and showing his versatility and comfort in the air or on either foot.
    Last edited by FahyForever; 14/11/2007 at 4:10 PM.

Well done to Utd B on becoming the third B team to win the premiership. Unlucky to Fahy the best team in the division along with Bangor.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Well done to Utd B on becoming the third B team to win the premiership. Unlucky to Fahy the best team in the division along with Bangor.
    I don't know what makes fahy one of the best teams in the division, they had a very poor start to the season whereas we went 13 games undefeated but towards the end of season, its fair to say both teams luck changed which seen us throw away winning the league, considering we were nearly relegated last season, i think robe have had quite a good season in comparison.

What do ye make of the Team of the Year??

Was expecting Joe Keane from Fahy to make it.

Premier Division Team of the Year 2007

Michael Gibbons
    Westport Utd. ‘B’

Colin Cameron Johnny Jordan Mark Basquill John Hennelly
    Westport Utd. ‘B’ Straide & Foxford Utd. Manulla ‘B’ Manulla ‘B’

Michael Docherty Gary Goggins Alan McDonnell Paul Karluto
    Bangor Hibs. Fahy Rovers Straide & Foxford Utd. Ballinrobe Town

J.P. O’Gorman Brian McHale
    Ballinrobe Town Bangor Hibs.
    Last edited by juan pablo; 19/11/2007 at 12:01 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    I don't know what makes fahy one of the best teams in the division, they had a very poor start to the season whereas we went 13 games undefeated but towards the end of season, its fair to say both teams luck changed which seen us throw away winning the league, considering we were nearly relegated last season, i think robe have had quite a good season in comparison.

was expecting him to aswell.was surprised that two lads from manulla b made it.how was the team decided in the end?in fairness to yee,i have to agree with your summation of both fahy's and ballinrobe's fortunes this year and as roy keane might say 'all creadit to yee' for reaching the super league.the division was well contested for the year and it was good to see that so many teams had something to play for at the end of it.haven't a chance to do so yet so just wanted to congratulate westport on winning the league title this year-we had a good knees up with them that night in westport!and also congratulations to both ballinrobe and bangor on getting promoted.heres hoping that next years as enjoyable!!

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post

It's nuts that the best player in the division doesn't make the team of the division. Make's you wonder how they select them. Westport A players who watched the match two weeks ago would tell you he is a different standard altogether, let alone some committee. Fair play to Edwin Mc Greal at the Mayo News for noticing the "glaring omission" as he put it himself.

As for JP and his endless put-downs of Fahy Rovers, it's time to give it a rest. Do the talking next year. It will be interesting to watch your season unfold. In the same way that it would be interesting watching a toy tractor entering a grand prix..

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    It's nuts that the best player in the division doesn't make the team of the division. Make's you wonder how they select them. Westport A players who watched the match two weeks ago would tell you he is a different standard altogether, let alone some committee. Fair play to Edwin Mc Greal at the Mayo News for noticing the "glaring omission" as he put it himself.

As for JP and his endless put-downs of Fahy Rovers, it's time to give it a rest. Do the talking next year. It will be interesting to watch your season unfold. In the same way that it would be interesting watching a toy tractor entering a grand prix..
    What exactly have i said that is a put down to Fahy rovers????, I was clearly stating that after ye're poor start to the league how ye bounced back and finished stronger than any team in the division, fair observation i think.

And i also do agree with you that Joe Keane should have been selected but that is just the way it goes, at least ye have one player that was selected in Gary Goggins so take a chill pill and relax like a good lad

6 years later- enjoyed reading back on that season!!

Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7151617