Page 16 of 17 FirstFirst ... 614151617 LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier Division 2007

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    may i ask where you heard this information regarding the match not being played on the astro turf??

as for last sunday, yes we were missing two players due to suspension but no excuses, we played very poorly as we have been the last couple of games,
    we are missing a number of players on sunday including myself so we will be doing well to even field a team one would think.
    and so the mind games begin!!

Well some results yesterday!! Westport seem to have also had the nerves, Robe once against sh4t the kaks and are not in real trouble of even getting promoted this season. Achill gone it seems.

We beat Swinford 4-0 away yesterday, could have been a few more, they hit the bar with a free kick, bar that is was a good result for us.

Danger here..

Quote Originally Posted by Ron Bergundy View Post
    Fahy are nothing more then a mid table premier division outfit!i do agree with ya on one thing,whoever goes up super this year is going back down
    When it's all to play for in the Premier Division now with Fahy Rovers, that famous Mid-table outfit, hammering early pace-setters Ballinrobe 5-1 yesterday. Last match of the season will decide the title holders as well as relegation places, as Westport B lost to S+F as Bangor won, whilst Swinford lost to Castlebar. We play Westport to see if we can put ourselves in contention for promotion (Westport can secure the title the same day) and Ballinrobe play Swinford to see if they will go up.

It's really hard to call. I think Manulla B will beat Ballyglass and in doing so relegate them. The last round of matches is in November and since Westport B can't play in the Connaught and F.A.I cups I think our match sharpness and the fact that they have never beaten us could see us through. It's going to be a cracker though. As for Swinford/Ballinrobe, it's anyone's guess. Ballinrobe are in freefall and have lost their last three games conceding 13 goals as they did it. Swinford got badly beaten yesterday too. If pushed I would go for Swinford but it's probably out of wishful thinking more than anything else.

We played at half -pace yesterday and still trounced Ballinrobe, who seemed to lose hope and let their heads down after half time. They got a good goal though and have a handy left winger. Their big centre back was useful too, and very physical. Rob Fadden got a hat-trick for us and Gary Goggins bossed the midfield. Both Tomas and Joe Keane should be in contention for the divisional team, as should David Feehan in goal, who was outstanding again yesterday. Anyone willing to predict the outcome?

boy have we blown it, we had such a great start to the season and in fairness whatever happens this season, we went 13 games without a defeat conceding only 3 goals, its just a pity that our form has dropped as we should have the league all wrapped by now,

Looks like deja vu all over again with robe playing swinford in the final game of the season.
    last season we played them knowing that a loss was us being relegated, other way around this year, if swinford are as determined as we were last season, we could be in for a tough match.

Fahy are a good side and possibly could do well in the Super League if promoted, think westport will be a tough game for ye as they have to beat ye for the title,

In fairness, i think its been a very exciting season in the Premier league, lots of surprises and upsets and its nice to see the climax that awaits us with #

Who will be crowned champions?
    Promoted?
    relegated??

Any thoughts?

yea ye have fairly blown it, but if ye were told at the start of the season that if ye win yer last game yel go up, id say yed have taken that!! as for us, i reckon we cud do ok in super league, but itl be very tough ta get anything off westport,we dont mind that they need to win the game, because it could have a reverse effect if they had the league wrapped up cause expectation would be on s then. so either way its all good, itl b day out reguardless ye mite pull together and beat swinford easy, they havnt exactly been goin well either. id love ta wish ye best of luck but.......

Ten Four

boy have we blown it, we had such a great start to the season and in fairness whatever happens this season, we went 13 games without a defeat conceding only 3 goals, its just a pity that our form has dropped as we should have the league all wrapped by now,

Looks like deja vu all over again with robe playing swinford in the final game of the season.
    last season we played them knowing that a loss was us being relegated, other way around this year, if swinford are as determined as we were last season, we could be in for a tough match.

Fahy are a good side and possibly could do well in the Super League if promoted, think westport will be a tough game for ye as they have to beat ye for the title,

In fairness, i think its been a very exciting season in the Premier league, lots of surprises and upsets and its nice to see the climax that awaits us with #

Who will be crowned champions?
    Promoted?
    relegated??

Any thoughts?
    Fair play, very reasonable synopsis. It's going to be a really exciting finale anyway. I agree that Westport will be a tough prospect, especially with the primarily A team players who have signed B. I think Dave Horkan is eligible and maybe Dave Horkan. Dont quote me on that though as I'm not sure. Even without David Horkan, who is a totally class act, they will be tough to beat. I felt they were unlucky against us in the last match and will be determined to win the league. We should have a full squad and plenty of willpower anyway. As for your game, it's even harder to call! Best of luck to ye anyway..

Can anyone tell me what has happened to Ballinrobe they have lost the last 3 games and are really struggling. They were odds on for promotion all season.

Quote Originally Posted by Allornothing View Post
    Can anyone tell me what has happened to Ballinrobe they have lost the last 3 games and are really struggling. They were odds on for promotion all season.
    And we WILL get promoted, no question about that, yes we have faltered badly our last 3 games but still we would consider this a good season in comparison to last season,it is still disapointing knowing that a bit more consistency would see us winning the league but the Super League is where we belong and think that we will have enough to stay up next season, the 2 linesman can make all the difference in games, we have had so many goals disallowed for bad 'offside' calls this season that has cost us, as im sure EVERY club in the division has so its not just us,

few new faces coming back playing next year as long as we get promoted, so the future is still merry,

Love that photo of Dave Horkan and Gavin Dykes in the Mayo News, that photographer earned his wages this week!!

And we WILL get promoted, no question about that, yes we have faltered badly our last 3 games but still we would consider this a good season in comparison to last season,it is still disapointing knowing that a bit more consistency would see us winning the league but the Super League is where we belong and think that we will have enough to stay up next season, the 2 linesman can make all the difference in games, we have had so many goals disallowed for bad 'offside' calls this season that has cost us, as im sure EVERY club in the division has so its not just us,

few new faces coming back playing next year as long as we get promoted, so the future is still merry,

Love that photo of Dave Horkan and Gavin Dykes in the Mayo News, that photographer earned his wages this week!!
    so will these new faces that you're expecting to come back to the fold only come back if yee get promoted?where were they all year when yee needed them?surely if they wanted to play with the club then they should have gotten their act together and put in the same level of commitment this year that every other player has obviously done for the club throughout the course of what has been a great saeson for ballinrobe football club.if ballinrobe do get promoted (and i wouldn't be counting my chickens just yet!!-although you do seem pretty confident-and fair play a postive attitude!!)whats going to happen to all the lads that got yee up then-just cast them to one side??

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    so will these new faces that you're expecting to come back to the fold only come back if yee get promoted?where were they all year when yee needed them?surely if they wanted to play with the club then they should have gotten their act together and put in the same level of commitment this year that every other player has obviously done for the club throughout the course of what has been a great saeson for ballinrobe football club.if ballinrobe do get promoted (and i wouldn't be counting my chickens just yet!!-although you do seem pretty confident-and fair play a postive attitude!!)whats going to happen to all the lads that got yee up then-just cast them to one side??
    yeah we're gonna get rid of the whole team if we get promoted and start from the beginning,

Would ya Go AWAy, would ya!!!

Talking

Ballinrobe are going up super!!!Westport will beat their arch rivals fahy which has been a great 2nd half of the season for them
    your only as good as your last game............................don't be lyn to yourself

Are you on the happy juice again Ron

What did we tell you about counting the chickens

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Are you on the happy juice again Ron

What did we tell you about counting the chickens
    plenty of time for that when the robe go up my friend!if fahy don't go up they will finish fourth,could say round mid table as they have done for the last few seasons,mid table premier division outfit!
    your only as good as your last game............................don't be lyn to yourself

Anyone know when the last fixture's take place.

646 Posts
    Fixtures Handbook has the final Premier Division Games on the 11th of November

as the season draws to a close who can people see being on the premier division team of the year?

Fahy Candidates

Joe Keane for a start. I know he plays for us but I have yet to see a better defender in the league. Missed the first few matches when we capitulated but been outstanding since. Our other candidates would be Gary Goggins, David Feehan and Tomas Keane. From the games I was at anyway. What players would other clubs put forward as their best this year?

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Joe Keane for a start. I know he plays for us but I have yet to see a better defender in the league. Missed the first few matches when we capitulated but been outstanding since. Our other candidates would be Gary Goggins, David Feehan and Tomas Keane. From the games I was at anyway. What players would other clubs put forward as their best this year?
    Tell me are you going to still be in Milebush playing on da astro, if you were promoted, do you think clubs object to playing on the astro

Milebush

Renovator, in the unlikely event of us being promoted I think we would not be allowed to play on Milebush. Every other team would object and rightly so. It's a disadvantage to us playing there anyway, with a serious increase in injuries after constant play, particularly knee and ankle injuries. The sheer size of the pitch would suit the likes of Westport United and Ballina but in truth, nobody wants to play there. Don't get me wrong, we appreciate the league allowing us to play there and all, but the sooner we sort a different place sorted the better.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    Tell me are you going to still be in Milebush playing on da astro, if you were promoted, do you think clubs object to playing on the astro
    i dont think that the other clubs could really argue the point of having to play there to be honest as its been passed by the mayo league to play on.i could be wrong there but i think thats the craic with it.so regardless of if teams didnt want to play there or not i think that they'd have to.again it is a rather big 'if' we get promoted to the super league anyway

Page 16 of 17 FirstFirst ... 614151617 LastLast