Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier Division 2007

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    alright lads,
    think its time to start talking about the weekend ahead in the premier division,

should we start some end of season prediction's??

ballyglass & S&F to go back up with achill & bangor to go down,

ballinrobe could also be a good bet to hit the drop also.
    i know its a footballing cliche thats used far too much but i honestly think its going to be tough league with all teams taking points off one another.think celtic b will be top and and one of swinford or ballyglass to push for the other top spot.could possibly see fahy struggling this yearafter losing a couple of influential players during the winter.s and f could well be on a downward spiral.played them last year in a friendly and didn't think they were that great at all.however in the heel of the hunt i think manulla b and balinrobe will be relegated to the first division.famous last words eh??

Achill vs banger = draw
    ballyglass vs S&F = ballyglass
    Celtic B vs Port B = celtic b
    Manulla B vs Ballinrobe= manulla b
    Swinford vs fahy = draw

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    i know its a footballing cliche thats used far too much but i honestly think its going to be tough league with all teams taking points off one another.think celtic b will be top and and one of swinford or ballyglass to push for the other top spot.could possibly see fahy struggling this yearafter losing a couple of influential players during the winter.s and f could well be on a downward spiral.played them last year in a friendly and didn't think they were that great at all.however in the heel of the hunt i think manulla b and balinrobe will be relegated to the first division.famous last words eh??
    Ya you could be right about S&F but i think there still good enough to climb out of the league. im sure this weekend will throw up some surprizes.

Achill vs banger = Draw
    ballyglass vs S&F = Away win
    Celtic B vs Port B = Home win
    Manulla B vs Ballinrobe= Draw
    Swinford vs fahy = Swinford

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Achill vs banger = Draw
    Manulla B vs Ballinrobe= Draw
    fahy your not showing much faith in your own side against swinford at all??although admitedly fahy always seem to struggle to get anything out of swinford especially in swinford.think i'm letting my heart rule my head over my prediction for the match and hoping for a draw!!

51 Posts
    Achill vs bangor = Bangor Hibs
    ballyglass vs S&F = S+F Utd
    Celtic B vs Port B = Port B
    Manulla B vs Ballinrobe= Manulla B

Celtic to win the league back...

i think the premier division will be very competitive this year, with s/f , ballyglass, swinford strong teams however i think Celtic B will be the one's to beat im so confident they will do well this year id put a bet on they could go the season unbeaten, 2 years ago they won the cup and i think it was only 1 defeat to ballyglass away, with them running away with the league, against ballyheane recent freindly i could see a revival of the team with hursty back in the middle and nig to come back from injury couple months, macca,joe and barry red coaching mixed with the youth comming through they will pose a powerful, also have to mention the likes of eamon creane, sean reilly and fintan Mchale all A players who will be playing B, id put my morgage on them winning back the title.....

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    i think the premier division will be very competitive this year, with s/f , ballyglass, swinford strong teams however i think Celtic B will be the one's to beat im so confident they will do well this year id put a bet on they could go the season unbeaten, 2 years ago they won the cup and i think it was only 1 defeat to ballyglass away, with them running away with the league, against ballyheane recent freindly i could see a revival of the team with hursty back in the middle and nig to come back from injury couple months, macca,joe and barry red coaching mixed with the youth comming through they will pose a powerful, also have to mention the likes of eamon creane, sean reilly and fintan Mchale all A players who will be playing B, id put my morgage on them winning back the title.....
    would agree, should have a serious side this season,they also seem very hungry for it this year ?

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    would agree, should have a serious side this season,they also seem very hungry for it this year ?
    I think it maybe a case of a lot of boyz out of their comfort zones this season, last season there was v little competition for places, this season from the goal keeper out, there is at least 2 players edging for each position.

Fintan and Sean prob will be A, Creano will probably be B alright
    Last edited by irishyop; 29/03/2007 at 10:55 AM.

Cool

Achill vs bangor = home
    ballyglass vs S&F =away
    Celtic B vs Port B = home
    Manulla B vs Ballinrobe= ayay
    Swinford vs fahy = home
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Fahy

fahy your not showing much faith in your own side against swinford at all??although admitedly fahy always seem to struggle to get anything out of swinford especially in swinford.think i'm letting my heart rule my head over my prediction for the match and hoping for a draw!!
    I know. It's bad form alright! Not sure we ever bet Swinford did we? Plenty of draws anyway. And a good few losses! Missing players is a big problem for us; the spine of the team is gone with James Wright the keeper and last year's player of the year away, Joe keane at centre-half injured, Darren Creaby, the midfielder who played U21 for Mayo last year away and Dave Feehan, top scorer, apparently committed to gaelic. Looks like I'm going to have to lend some much-needed experience to the side eh? With myself and new, lightening-fast signing Mickey "Blue Eyes" Cawley we may just pull off a few surprises! Or just pull a few hamstrings..

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    I know. It's bad form alright! Not sure we ever bet Swinford did we? Plenty of draws anyway. And a good few losses! Missing players is a big problem for us; the spine of the team is gone with James Wright the keeper and last year's player of the year away, Joe keane at centre-half injured, Darren Creaby, the midfielder who played U21 for Mayo last year away and Dave Feehan, top scorer, apparently committed to gaelic. Looks like I'm going to have to lend some much-needed experience to the side eh? With myself and new, lightening-fast signing Mickey "Blue Eyes" Cawley we may just pull off a few surprises! Or just pull a few hamstrings..
    true i've heard quite a lot about the mickey 'blue eyes' cawley alright.apparantly he's showing quite well in training according to reports (although i think that most of these reports are coming from the man himself!! )and dont think fahy have ever beaten swinford in any game so a draw would be a decent result if we can get it!!what do think swinford??surely yee must be delighted and pretty confident of getting all three points on sunday?was there many of the first team playing when we played yee in the freindly a couple of weeks back?thought i recognised a few faces

51 Posts
    true i've heard quite a lot about the mickey 'blue eyes' cawley alright.apparantly he's showing quite well in training according to reports (although i think that most of these reports are coming from the man himself!! )and dont think fahy have ever beaten swinford in any game so a draw would be a decent result if we can get it!!what do think swinford??surely yee must be delighted and pretty confident of getting all three points on sunday?was there many of the first team playing when we played yee in the freindly a couple of weeks back?thought i recognised a few faces
    what match was that? if your talking about the b team - them lads are playing with the b team at start of season. with regard to the a team this weekend - it be a tough game as it is always when your playing fahy! - should be a good match.

Achill vs banger = home win
    Manulla B vs Ballinrobe=home win
    Swinford vs fahy = home win

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    what match was that? if your talking about the b team - them lads are playing with the b team at start of season. with regard to the a team this weekend - it be a tough game as it is always when your playing fahy! - should be a good match.
    the match i'm talking about was against the b team in milebush a few weeks back.surely nigel sweeney amonst a few others is fit for the first team in swinford??i agree that the game will indeed be a tough one in swinford tomorrow at high noon.may the best team win(hopefully it will be the team in black and white!!)

51 Posts
    the match i'm talking about was against the b team in milebush a few weeks back.surely nigel sweeney amonst a few others is fit for the first team in swinford??i agree that the game will indeed be a tough one in swinford tomorrow at high noon.may the best team win(hopefully it will be the team in black and white!!)
    Well the A team won 2-1 against Fahy and the B team won as well with Nigel Sweeney scoring a goal!

Anyone got the results from the Premier Division yesterday? Be interested in taking a look at them. Cheers.

51 Posts
    here fahy;

Achill 1 vs banger 3
    ballyglass 0 vs S&F 0
    Celtic B 0 vs Port B 0
    Manulla B 1 vs Ballinrobe 2
    Swinford 2 vs fahy 1

Achill vs banger = draw
    ballyglass vs S&F = ballyglass
    Celtic B vs Port B = celtic b
    Manulla B vs Ballinrobe= manulla b
    Swinford vs fahy = draw
    think i was a wee bit out with ALL of my predictions!just as well that i didn't have any money on any of them!!

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Well the A team won 2-1 against Fahy and the B team won as well with Nigel Sweeney scoring a goal!
    yeah fair play to yee.credit where credits due.felt we were a little hard done by for the second goal as there was a decidedly dodgy offside decision that didn't go our.felt that we probably merited a draw over the course of the game but thats football for ya!no sour grapes.

Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast