Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier Division 2007

Quote Originally Posted by r.rover View Post
    robe need to win one more game to go up, we(fahy) will be hopeful to beat them anyways, but we may not, wev celtic robe and port left and are confident of wining all three
    its a big ask off ye,whatever about robe and celtic b,westport will be a tough assignment and also they'll need the points for the league,having said that ye have shown great form in the last 6 or 7 league games so ya never know,alarm bells i hear are ringing in ballinrobe and i'm sure they'll get back on track with a win over S and F,be some finish tho if ballinrobe are visiting ye just four points ahead!

shake up

i guess were jus happy the b in the shake up, at the start of the year thought we mite go down, westportb havent ever beatin us, so we hope it goes to a final day of season jus for the craic and banter wel have with them, but sumthin tells me theyl have it wrapped up by then

Hey lads, not been online in a while and thought I might give my tuppence-hapenny worth on the season. I know this will sound very biased but I think that with their full squad Fahy are the best team in the division. The result against Bangor wasn't a shock to me in the slightest. We lost three games in a row early in the season which effectively lost us a promotion chance and in those games we were without our keeper (David Feehan, who has been outstanding since his return) and best player (Joe Keane, who absolutely has to make team of the season, being head-and-shoulders over every other back in the division). In those three matche we conceded 12 goals. We have only conceded 11 in the last eight games. I know every team has injuries and has to deal with them, but I honestly feel we lost it ourselves.

As for the others, Westport were the best team I saw, and deserve to win the league in my opinion. they play by far the nicest football in the division and have a good mix of young players and more experienced ones. Chris Ryder impressed me a lot last time I saw him and I think he can realistically break into the first team soon. I never watched Bangor and so can't really comment but I hear their striker is a handfull. Ballinrobe were under par the first time we played them but will surely beat S+F to gain promotion.
    No offence to either team, but I still struggleto see them stay up in the Super League without serious recruitment. It's been a good season though, in that it's come down to the wire. Best of luck to all involved in the last few games.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Hey lads, not been online in a while and thought I might give my tuppence-hapenny worth on the season. I know this will sound very biased but I think that with their full squad Fahy are the best team in the division. The result against Bangor wasn't a shock to me in the slightest. We lost three games in a row early in the season which effectively lost us a promotion chance and in those games we were without our keeper (David Feehan, who has been outstanding since his return) and best player (Joe Keane, who absolutely has to make team of the season, being head-and-shoulders over every other back in the division). In those three matche we conceded 12 goals. We have only conceded 11 in the last eight games. I know every team has injuries and has to deal with them, but I honestly feel we lost it ourselves.

As for the others, Westport were the best team I saw, and deserve to win the league in my opinion. they play by far the nicest football in the division and have a good mix of young players and more experienced ones. Chris Ryder impressed me a lot last time I saw him and I think he can realistically break into the first team soon. I never watched Bangor and so can't really comment but I hear their striker is a handfull. Ballinrobe were under par the first time we played them but will surely beat S+F to gain promotion.
    No offence to either team, but I still struggleto see them stay up in the Super League without serious recruitment. It's been a good season though, in that it's come down to the wire. Best of luck to all involved in the last few games.
    your right its completely biased!i'm sure westport,bangor and ballinrobe would all think that they would have won the league ages ago if not for injuries and players returning and so on!welcome to the world of football its not scripted!!!Best teams usually finish first and definately not fourth!not 5 or 7 points off getting caught in a relegation battle!!!fahy are nothing more then a mid table premier division outfit!i do agree with ya on one thing,whoever goes up super this year is going back down

Celtic B lost 2-0 to Fahy, had a good first half a lot of chances which should have been taken but Fahy took over and deserved their win.

Robe, what were ye at? Fahy are screaming down your neck now

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Celtic B lost 2-0 to Fahy, had a good first half a lot of chances which should have been taken but Fahy took over and deserved their win.

Robe, what were ye at? Fahy are screaming down your neck now
    s&f were way to strong for the robe according to the supporters, s&f took charge from the start and had it under control right through. it seems that s&f had there strongest team out all year. they might have had a different season if they had that team out all year.

still looking like the robe are going up. but cant see them lasting or bangor. there just not good enough.

anyone any toughts on the second team to go down, looks like achill already gone!!! its pretty tight !!

We wud want to get the finger out, 2 points off the drop now, have Swinford and then Achill

Id say Ballyglass to go down with Achill they got Bangor and Manulla left cant see them winning either. I was talking to Swinfod about there 4-0 loss to Manulla and they were missing half the first team. I think they'll pull through but they got tough games against Cbar & Ballinrobe. Whats everone else think.

i hope swinford have their full team for last day of the season!!! and beat robe(no offence robe) but ya know how it is...
    that ways if we beat ye and even draw with wport b (i tink!)wer up! havin said that, im sure itl b a good game this sunday against ye!

Where is that match on Sunday, what games have ye left now?

i heard las nite that were playin it in the sports park, cause ballinrobe dont wanna play in astro turf, which is fair enuf, were happy to go along with that, might not be true though. were playin westport b on last day of season then, and ballinrobe have swinford, who need points!!

Well if you are to do it, it will be the hard way!

thats for sure!!! cant really see it happenin but who knows...

i heard las nite that were playin it in the sports park, cause ballinrobe dont wanna play in astro turf, which is fair enuf, were happy to go along with that, might not be true though. were playin westport b on last day of season then, and ballinrobe have swinford, who need points!!
    dunno if thats true,ballinrobe down training on the astro turf pitch in castlebar last night
    your only as good as your last game............................don't be lyn to yourself

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    anyone any toughts on the second team to go down, looks like achill already gone!!! its pretty tight !!
    achill gone and ballyglass to follow,some of the ballyglass team are not even on speaking terms
    your only as good as your last game............................don't be lyn to yourself

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    i'd have to agree with the general consensus that it has to be achill and ballyglass.neither were up to much all year and look to have a serious rebuilding job on their hands to even think about a promotion push back to the premier.hopefully we won't be round in the division to play them!whats the word on the grapevine in the ballinrobe camp jp?is it true that we're down to play yee in the sportspark on sunday next?heard that yee had a lot of suspensions when yee played straide last sunday-any truth in that?huge game sunday between ourselves and ballinrobe-how do people see it going??

Quote Originally Posted by Ron Bergundy View Post
    dunno if thats true,ballinrobe down training on the astro turf pitch in castlebar last night
    jus got confirmation there, the fahy-robe game is on alrite in the sports park! 11am

may i ask where you heard this information regarding the match not being played on the astro turf??

as for last sunday, yes we were missing two players due to suspension but no excuses, we played very poorly as we have been the last couple of games,
    we are missing a number of players on sunday including myself so we will be doing well to even field a team one would think.

Quote Originally Posted by juan pablo View Post
    may i ask where you heard this information regarding the match not being played on the astro turf??

as for last sunday, yes we were missing two players due to suspension but no excuses, we played very poorly as we have been the last couple of games,
    we are missing a number of players on sunday including myself so we will be doing well to even field a team one would think.
    was talkin to the westport utd lads las nite and thats what they were sayin, then heard it from a few of our lads tday, mayb its all bull****, wel soon know i guess!

Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast