Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Delaney Out Banner

there was several involved from different clubs. a bohs fan brought it. pats and rovers too
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Believe there's a Rovers fan involved with the banner!

Two things Dolan has come out over the years I've always agreed with:

1. You cant support 2 clubs.

2. In order to get change at Merrion Square everybody must be chucked from top to bottom.

On the second one it is now time for this. Think there is some sort of incompetent virus raging through everybody there. Everybody out from receptionist to the CEO. Their incapacity for self criticism is astonishing.

Appoint football people. No more jobs for the boys e.g. a PFAI employee suddenly getting a job in the FAI.

Do you know who works in the FAI? Have a look at the structure and you will see it is run mostly by "football people". Mind you, "football people" run most of the LoI clubs and we've seen what a mess they've made of that.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

230 Posts
    I heard someone stole it!
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Do you know who works in the FAI? Have a look at the structure and you will see it is run mostly by "football people". Mind you, "football people" run most of the LoI clubs and we've seen what a mess they've made of that.
    can you explain to me what "football People" credentials john delaney has?

True but read between the lines of my earlier post.

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    can you explain to me what "football People" credentials john delaney has?
    I suppose one has to ask what does "football people" mean and I did say "mostly" ? I wouldn't be a fan of Delaney's but he has implimented large scale change in an organisation which was crying out for it as we all know. How this change will work out remains to be seen but at least something is being done or tried. However, as I said before, I cannot understand why a 4 year contract was awarded to Stan and Father Time when, if it was a disaster, the FAI would have to fork out a million plus to get rid of them both before their time. What does that leave for a new decent manager ?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

I suppose one has to ask what does "football people" mean and I did say "mostly" ? I wouldn't be a fan of Delaney's but he has implimented large scale change in an organisation which was crying out for it as we all know. How this change will work out remains to be seen but at least something is being done or tried. However, as I said before, I cannot understand why a 4 year contract was awarded to Stan and Father Time when, if it was a disaster, the FAI would have to fork out a million plus to get rid of them both before their time. What does that leave for a new decent manager ?
    Good point, Owls fan. They've compounded a dodgy appointment with a contract that has an overly generous time frame.

Nothing wrong with one campaign at a time re contracts. If they're doing the business its an amicable sign up. Everybody's happy.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    How did they know things were going to go soooooooo wrong?
    It was made (by Bohs fans, NBB to be precise) towards the end of last year and has made a few apperances at different games, including the FAI cup final and is not just about Delaneys handling of national team but also his treatment of and bull****ting about the eircom league.

115 Posts
    Monkeys Delaney
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

does it matter what club they support?

good job im behind the flag in the picture
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CavanBohs View Post
    It is not just about Delaneys handling of national team but also his treatment of and bull****ting about the eircom league.
    And you think the previous handling of the League of Ireland was working well? What's your solution then if you think his proposals are so faulty?

What a joke tha Delaney has tried to say it was Dundalk fans bitter about their treatment by the FAI. I think the Flag held by the lads said what a lot of genuine fans think about the running of the FAI. Fair play lads. Glad the picture was not bigger or my ugly mug would have been on it.
    In Trap we trust

And you think the previous handling of the League of Ireland was working well? What's your solution then if you think his proposals are so faulty?
    No the old way did not work well but many believe (fear) the new way will be worse. Clubs have not been run well, the league has not been run well, it was not great package overall but with **** All Interest incharge, that is not going to change and may well in fact get worse.

Delaney hasn't a clue about football let alone running a whole league. His incompetence and stupidity is abysmal. He goes against FIFA reccomendations and should not have the power he does have as a chief executive of a fa but since these minor issues get in his way, why not just ignore them?

He gave himself a new 6 year six figure a year salary. Money well spent? I don't ****ing think so. He is a good man for 'jobs for the boys' aswell, people who are not up to the job but as long as Delaney keeps his friends happy I can't complain really.

Look at the league at the moment, it's in a mess but the FAI aren't doing much to help the situation or even instill a bit of confidence in the fans that they will sort it out. Fran Gavin and John Delaney have not once given a straight answer about Shels and their affairs but pull out the old "it's a new league which is moving forward and improving and we are part of it and driving it forward". But I can't really blame Delaney, I wouldn't want him to hurt his good friend, Ollie's feelings.

All I can see the FAI doing is throwing a bit at money at us and hoping it will shut us up. Yes, money is badly needed in the league but it is by no means the only thing. What about the promotion of the league? Yes they have given each club an allowance for a promotions officier but what about the simple things as getting the name of the eircom league out on TV, radio, in Ireland match programmes. The FAI need to promote the league as a whole and clubs can promote their individual clubs.

What about stopping kids going over to England at 15 and 16 for a tiny percentage to make it and the rest to fade away and out of football. How about a bit of initiative in this area of Irish football which would definately improve the eircom league and would more than likely improve the national team but sure there's always a down side to everthing.

Also Delaney is one of the barstoolers who populate this country and so as a Man United fan has a conflicting interest. He supports team from a different country, a team as a fan he would want to see do as well as they can so any threat to his side doing as well as possible would go against his best interests in his team. I wouldn't like to see another league improve if it was going to negatively effect my team and this is a very real potential with the eircom league and Man United. Of course you are going to come back and say, he is a professional and would not do this but even if it happens subconciously, it is going to effect the eircom league with the chief executive of the fa incharge of our league not giving it his all to improve our league.

As we well know (hopefully) Delaney is not one to handle critisism very well and I can see him dishing out fines here, there and everywhere.

Delaney is a fond admirer of the English approach to football, prawn crackers and so on. This is something I would hate to see this way of doing things introced into the eircom league. It rips the soul and passion out of the game, makes football a business more than a sport, makes atmosphere a distant memory and caters for those who give the least **** about the game, the corporates.

The national team will always take priority for Delaney, while the league will be like a little side project, something that he can have a little fun with maybe. Most time, money and effort into the national team as Delaney has more interest in that. Ireland going of to America for a nice holiday and a bit of a kick around one or two of the days while Delaney and the lads will no doubt have a good time for themselves over there aswell.

I think I've given you enough to show you why Delaney and the FAI are not the people to bring our DOMESTIC league forward.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    There was one pictured with it apparently. At least you didnt put BSC or BHS on it..............

We put NBB on it. Bottom right-hand corner...

How did they know things were going to go soooooooo wrong?
    Oh dear... the innocence...

Check out this thread for starters... and this is only the tip of the iceburg.

http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=51764
    Last edited by LukeO; 10/02/2007 at 12:31 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by LukeO View Post
    ...Oh dear... the innocence... ...
    I was taking the p*ss.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

I was taking the p*ss.
    Poor Luke is a bit like dcfcsteve, he gets caught up in things and doesn't always get sarcasm...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Poor Luke is a bit like dcfcsteve, he gets caught up in things and doesn't always get sarcasm...
    To be fair, if you asked anyone during the day, they would never have admitted to 8 seconds from a draw. 2 -nil possibly was the most pessimistic result I heard predicted. However, I was at away games long before many people in San Marino were born and this is the worst I've seen. Staunton and the person who put evrything on the Staunton-Snowflake partnership need to go...NOW!!!!
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Why is there only one Delaney out banner? They should be all over Croker next Month.

Quote Originally Posted by Bomb Landsdowne View Post
    Why is there only one Delaney out banner? They should be all over Croker next Month.
    They'd be confiscated going in, no question
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast