Page 38 of 48 FirstFirst ... 283637383940 ... LastLast

Thread: The Steve Staunton Discussion thread

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    We had a damn good manager 5 yrs ago but thsoe delightful bunch of Bloodhounds tore him asunder because he offended the great red majority.
    and were joined by lots of fans at swiss match '02 by booing and chanting keanes name all through the match. as much to blame as the press

36 Posts
    "That was disgruntled Dundalk fans"

Yes sure Fai why would we boo our most famous football son.

Cop out Kings

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DubJohn View Post
    As for booing on Sat, it wasn't that bad, I've heard worse. I think it's being blown out of proportion a bit by the media, same with the chanting after Doyle/Long sub.
    whoever came up with that half time question needs their head read. announcing stans name over the tannoy at ht was only inviting trouble

heard chants of "you dont know what you're doing" when long came on for doyle which just shows how little the fans know as doyle was actually injured when he came off and was largely ineffective anyway

36 Posts
    If you want a good idea to disgrace stan just make a large banner and hang it in
    ard desond in dundalk his family home lol

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    its all a F**king joke - the booing was out of order -

theres a time and a place if u want to make a point

i dont care who is in charge - at the end of the day - its our country and i was dismayed by the ppl who booed on sat

the ppl who booed - u say ye want to make a point - fair enough - but if ye want to make a point on how disgruntled you are with the setup - then dont go to game - the hypocrisy

we should be organising a protest down at the fai instead of taking the easy way out and turning on our team from a seat in the stadium

I was there, I'm not a dub, I booed the useless CLOWN!

I cant help thinking though, the FAI know what public opinion on him is, they must have known there would be that kind of a reaction towards him.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    its all a F**king joke - the booing was out of order -

theres a time and a place if u want to make a point

i dont care who is in charge - at the end of the day - its our country and i was dismayed by the ppl who booed on sat

the ppl who booed - u say ye want to make a point - fair enough - but if ye want to make a point on how disgruntled you are with the setup - then dont go to game - the hypocrisy

we should be organising a protest down at the fai instead of taking the easy way out and turning on our team from a seat in the stadium
    Nobody turned on the team or booed the team. They booed Staunton. He is on 400,000 a year and has the hardest of hard necks and deserves to be "booed" for mistakes he has made. Water off a Ducks back to Staunton. I bet he could'nt care less about the "booing". Delaney as we all know is pulling the strings in the background but has become the invisible man at games. No gathering down at Merrion Sq is going to change that.

503 Posts
    When your paying the ticket prices international football matches now fetch, your entitled to boo, hiss, cheer, clap, blow raspberries, or make any other noises you care to make.

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    whoever came up with that half time question needs their head read. announcing stans name over the tannoy at ht was only inviting trouble
    either very dumb .. which would not be the first time, or a deliberate ploy to gage public opinion of Stan .. not that you need to go to much length to find that out at the moment. Very peculiar.

Whats the story........

Booing - Didnt boo myself but can see where people are coming from. If you took a week off work and spent Euro 3k in Prague and Bratislava to watch a manager on Euro 400k feck up and players on anywhere from Euro 10k plus a week not hold onto a lead they bearly deserved anyway anyone would feel hard done by....thats not even mentioning paying for Cyprus debacale last year.

Ian Dempsey MC - What the f@^&, nice guy and his radio show is good but not an MC for a pre match gee up.

Pis$%^ Dublin fans - Giving out to other fans for not singing moronic songs at Lehman and Delaney just cos they are off their heads and then turning on Irish fans.

Try taking a half day off work driving 3hrs - 5hrs to Dublin for the game to watch that drivel that has been served up under stan, whilst sober not intoxicated and see how chuffed you would be!!

67,00 people at the game - average weekly attendance for League games 14,000....where are all the others coming from Delaney and the powers that be??

The LOI fans are shoved behind the goals whilst the suits get the best seats in the house.

Gaelic heads at games - pat Spillane et al, slate the game on a Sunday, glad to be there on a Wednesday (paid for ticket???).

Oh yes its great being a LOI/ireland National team fan.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    We had a damn good manager 5 yrs ago but thsoe delightful bunch of Bloodhounds tore him asunder because he offended the great red majority.
    Yes, he was so good he failed to notice Spain were down to 10 men for the second period of extra time.
    He was/is not a good managewr, end of
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    Do you not remember the last time an EL fan went to Merrion? Then again I suppose Christmas is coming so get your petrol cans folks were off to the FAI!!!!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    the supporters dont have a proper spokesperson to come out in teh media and counteract this.
    Alan Hunter anyone??

We're all going bananas about TPTB, but saying that Germany could have won the game if they wanted at Croker is a load of blx. We have lost only 2 home Euro Championship qualifiers going back to 1982, against bizarrely enough, Austria and Switzerland. Since then, we've played Belgium, Bulgaria, England, Germany, Russia, Portugal, Yugoslavia, Croatia, Czech Republic, amongst others and have always got something from them. We're about to go another campaign at home unbeaten, and have lost just once in a home qualifier in 5 years. The Germans created several opportunities before ht on Saturday night, but couldn't get past us. Even the most cynical amongst us has to admit, that we do get results at home, regardless of who's pulling the strings. What's let us down once again is our away form. 3 away defeats and a scrape in San Marino, combined with a rubbish boss, tells it's own story.
    Last edited by mypost; 15/10/2007 at 6:41 PM.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan
    Well, I wouldn't. The reason I wouldn't is because I know that I don't know enough about management to be a good manager, and the national place is not the place to start learning. If and when the results took a turn for the worse, it would be my fault as much as anybody else, because I took the job knowing this would happen, due to my lack of ability.

To blame Delaney for hiring his is correct also, but Stan made the decision to take the job, he wasn't forced, and he took it in the knowledge that he had never managed before in his life. He can be held responsible for doing that.
    Giving Stan the top job, is akin to giving the role of Taoiseach, to someone that just won his first (by)election.

Like the Taoiseach, the position of Senior International Coach, is the highest coaching job in the country, and should be given to a highly experienced, multi-qualified football manager, not someone who doesn't understand the difference between a tac-tic and a tic-tac.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Never have booed at any player or team manager in my life
    but to those who did boo Stan, you are all in very good company.
    "Lampard, whose recent international displays have been criticised by some, came on as a substitute against Estonia and was booed by a large group of England fans"

Sums it up perfectly. I don't want our fans to become like their fans, end of.

Anybody see Bobby Robson on Sky Sports, he reckons it's all the media's fault that the fans have turned on Stan and that if the tabloids weren't reporting drivel about him the fans would be content and everything would be Hunky Dorey. He likened the situation to when he was England manager and was hounded out by the 'tabloids'.

I reckon the opposite is true, the media have picked up on the fans feelings and are just reporting the same, I don't even read the tabloids....

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    We have lost only 2 home Euro Championship qualifiers going back to 1982, against bizarrely enough, Austria and Switzerland. Since then, we've played Belgium, Bulgaria, England, Germany, Russia, Portugal, Yugoslavia, Croatia, Czech Republic, amongst others and have always got something from them.
    We drew those matches.

If you don't win your home games - you don't qualify, unless you match the home result with the away one as happened in the case of Belgium.

This time we lost to Germany and the Czechs away.

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic View Post

If you don't win your home games - you don't qualify, unless you match the home result with the away one as happened in the case of Belgium.

This time we lost to Germany and the Czechs away.
    Fortunately we didn't match the away results at home or we would be even deeper in the doo doo

We're all going bananas about TPTB, but saying that Germany could have won the game if they wanted at Croker is a load of blx. We have lost only 2 home Euro Championship qualifiers going back to 1982, against bizarrely enough, Austria and Switzerland. Since then, we've played Belgium, Bulgaria, England, Germany, Russia, Portugal, Yugoslavia, Croatia, Czech Republic, amongst others and have always got something from them. We're about to go another campaign at home unbeaten, and have lost just once in a home qualifier in 5 years. The Germans created several opportunities before ht on Saturday night, but couldn't get past us. Even the most cynical amongst us has to admit, that we do get results at home, regardless of who's pulling the strings. What's let us down once again is our away form. 3 away defeats and a scrape in San Marino, combined with a rubbish boss, tells it's own story.
    against this team yes they would. Good to see no one has gone off topic anyhow.

20 Posts
    yeah the media keep printing the results.....
    seriously not in favour of booing the manager or players as its like kicking someone when they are down. however i take exception to delaneys spin doctoring from the red card protest to fans stayin back after game in prague, so **** him and his puppet staunton. there should be a chorus of "john delaney is a ******" all the way thru the match on wed. altho i wont be there as the pr*ck tried to charge me extra for my tickets on sat cause hed rather have empty seats at matches

Page 38 of 48 FirstFirst ... 283637383940 ... LastLast