Page 30 of 48 FirstFirst ... 20282930313240 ... LastLast

Thread: The Steve Staunton Discussion thread

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Am i the only one that thinks he is doing a good job, .
    IN SHORT YES

Is Delaney going to suck it up and admit he made a massive mistake and stand down taking Stan with him
    or
    is he going to be stubborn and not do anything and dig the hole they are in deeper and deeper bringing the whole of Irish international Soccer with him.

Does it actually come into his stupid head that this is not about him
    Go on Delaney do the right thing and feck off

Quote Originally Posted by Henrik View Post
    No Anto your not the only one who thinks he is doing a good job..... theres you and Delaney....... or maybe your the same person?
    either way get a grip, he is muck, has no tactical awareness, didnt bring those players through - he was forced to and any manager that would have taken the job would have brought them in...
    Tactical awareness care to explian ? because now your sounding like Dumphy

Like when he said Doyle isnt good enough a championship player at best , then when he was unfit and stan left him out up pops Eamo with his Doyle is a top premiership player Stan leaving him out shows he is tactically enept.

HE also slated Andy reid yet when he dropped him he was again tactically unaware , when he didnt play Mcgeady he was jumping up and down saying to give the kids a chance when he does start him and he plays bad again its stans fault because he is "tactically enept"

The only thing i would have changed was i would have started Hunt and pushed kilbane into the middle.

If you take a look at the thread about our current starting 11 you ll see its pretty much what stan is picking yet when they loose its stans fault
    Last edited by anto1208; 13/09/2007 at 10:46 AM.

no i most certainly am not trying to mirror Dunphy, ive seen him jump on and off bandwagons enough in my time...

the only thing you would have changed was hunt... so you would have played kelly left full when the chap cant even kick the ball with his left, time after time he tried ping balls up the line with the outside of his right to try compensate only to give possesion away.....as well as being off the pace. kilbane should have started there....its his position for wigan

you would have also played mcgeady? was bad against slovakia and worse against the Czechs! time after time he lost the ball AND didnt track back. instead of skinning players he was gettin skint! yet he left him on as his head sunk lower and lower

but forget that, the shape of the team was all over the place.... he is tactically inept as in the first 20 minutes the Czechs were tearing us apart coz they had 5 across the midfield, 20 minutes it was before he had the cop on to pull keane back to midfield to help shore things up, even then that was hardly an ideal solution but still..we should have been 2 down at least by then. he sent hunt out to warm up after 2 minutes yet didnt bring him on until he was forced to!!?? hardly shrewd quick decision making is it?

he has no experience to draw on as a manager so what do we expect. yet again the FAI have taken the cheap option on management and it shows......yet again... we need somebody top drawer, no matter what the cost....if they're stuck for a few quid send a collection up to my local...there's more than a few people that would happily contribute...

Stan to finish off campaign, tell the country you were proud to be Ireland Manager. You gave it your best shot, didnt work out as youd have liked.
    Its time for someone new to try something different.

Delaney and his helper monkeys-----fly my pretties fly fly...

Get him the hell out of Merrion Sq....

Quote Originally Posted by Scruttox View Post
    Stan to finish off campaign, tell the country you were proud to be Ireland Manager. You gave it your best shot, didnt work out as youd have liked.
    Its time for someone new to try something different.

Delaney and his helper monkeys-----fly my pretties fly fly...

Get him the hell out of Merrion Sq....
    they'll all be out of merrion square soon..they sold it..moving to abbotstown
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by Henrik View Post
    no i most certainly am not trying to mirror Dunphy, ive seen him jump on and off bandwagons enough in my time...

the only thing you would have changed was hunt... so you would have played kelly left full when the chap cant even kick the ball with his left, time after time he tried ping balls up the line with the outside of his right to try compensate only to give possesion away.....as well as being off the pace. kilbane should have started there....its his position for wigan

you would have also played mcgeady? was bad against slovakia and worse against the Czechs! time after time he lost the ball AND didnt track back. instead of skinning players he was gettin skint! yet he left him on as his head sunk lower and lower

but forget that, the shape of the team was all over the place.... he is tactically inept as in the first 20 minutes the Czechs were tearing us apart coz they had 5 across the midfield, 20 minutes it was before he had the cop on to pull keane back to midfield to help shore things up, even then that was hardly an ideal solution but still..we should have been 2 down at least by then. he sent hunt out to warm up after 2 minutes yet didnt bring him on until he was forced to!!?? hardly shrewd quick decision making is it?

he has no experience to draw on as a manager so what do we expect. yet again the FAI have taken the cheap option on management and it shows......yet again... we need somebody top drawer, no matter what the cost....if they're stuck for a few quid send a collection up to my local...there's more than a few people that would happily contribute...
    Kilbane isnt a defender and he cant tackle, im an Everton fan so ive seen Kilbane play 100+ times believe me Kelly was the better option if we had a left back available he wouldnt have had to play Kelly out of position and he is better than Harte . Wigan have been forced to play him there because they sold Baines in the summer .

The chechs where at home and they dominated for 20 mins what so unusual about that when O shea picked up a knock he was very quick in re organising the team and for the last 15 mins ireland dominated, But he gets no credit for that .

I ment to say that i would have played hunt push kilbane into the middle an dplayed reid instead of Mcgeady i forgot to include the last bit but Mcgeady was very good against Denmark but poor against slovakia he is a kid so you can get eratic dissplays picking him again was a risk he felt was worth taking, Personally i wouldnt have started him i think he is a better sub but i understand the thinking behind it .

He has no experience and i wouldnt have given him the job in the first place but i dont think the stick he is getting is fair for a manager with no experience trying to totally chance the way a team plays and the players on the pitch he has doen a very good job .

So what we didnt qualify for a competition we where never going to get into anyway i dont think any manager would have got us into it he has done well to get us back in with a shot after everyone had us written off before it even started .

A big name manager isnt allways the key look at England with Sven a fantastic Club record and he could do F all with them.

Sven was in it for the truckload of cash that went with the England Job. He didnt give a crap about winning anything. Laughing all the way to the sauna.

He picked his team by reading the last two pages of the Sun, before every match.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    We are all just disgruntled Dundalk fans.

Yeah!! Exactly....

I feel for Stan... I do... But he has to go.... Every squad and almost every team named is greated with raised eyebrows and just plain disbeleif in some cases. Carsley and Andy Reids exclusions at the start. Even down to the continued presence of Colgan at the expense of say Joe Murphy. Sometimes managers see things that us mortals can't, and even while people might disagree with the likes of Ferguson from time to time, you at least comprehend what he's at. But with Stan it's like unfathomable!! We've seen nothing from him to suggest he can turn it around.

Shame his playing career is gonna be tarnished with this.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

386 Posts
    If the FAI is consistent, ie follow the trend they have set in sacking McCarthy and not renewing Brian Kerr's contract, Stan must go.

2,796 Posts
    A big name manager isnt allways the key look at England with Sven a fantastic Club record and he could do F all with them.
    I don't agree. Granted they never impressed at finals but invariably got to at least a quarter final and turned them from a team that always narrowly qualified and missed out now and again to a team that is probably as impressive at qualifying and grinding undreserved away wins in tricky countries as anyone. Their seeding coefficient is through the roof.

I think his record in this regard is underrated.

Kilbane isnt a defender and he cant tackle, im an Everton fan so ive seen Kilbane play 100+ times believe me Kelly was the better option if we had a left back available he wouldnt have had to play Kelly out of position and he is better than Harte . Wigan have been forced to play him there because they sold Baines in the summer .

The chechs where at home and they dominated for 20 mins what so unusual about that when O shea picked up a knock he was very quick in re organising the team and for the last 15 mins ireland dominated, But he gets no credit for that .

I ment to say that i would have played hunt push kilbane into the middle an dplayed reid instead of Mcgeady i forgot to include the last bit but Mcgeady was very good against Denmark but poor against slovakia he is a kid so you can get eratic dissplays picking him again was a risk he felt was worth taking, Personally i wouldnt have started him i think he is a better sub but i understand the thinking behind it .

He has no experience and i wouldnt have given him the job in the first place but i dont think the stick he is getting is fair for a manager with no experience trying to totally chance the way a team plays and the players on the pitch he has doen a very good job .

So what we didnt qualify for a competition we where never going to get into anyway i dont think any manager would have got us into it he has done well to get us back in with a shot after everyone had us written off before it even started .

I grant you Kilbane is no great tackler but he has an experienced head on him in that position not to get caught where he would need last ditch tackles! Also it wasnt Kellys tackling that let him down it was his distribution, everytime he got the ball he tried ping it down the line. Kilbane would have offered us more going forward from left back with his distribution....look where all the Czech attacks, or most decent teams in fact, started from - the full backs. both of ours were usless in that they just gave possession back to the Czechs

No i wouldnt give him no credit for o'shea gettin injured and him changing it around then and us looking more solid.....he was forced into that, luckily for us

I am not doubting that staunton is trying his little socks off in the job but the fact is he is not good enough. he has not done a great job with what he has.... look at scotland, thats doin a great job with what you have....we have underacheived again.
    "So what we didnt qualify for a competition we where never going to get into anyway" - are you for real! ......... that team should have easily won in cyprus, held on the for the home win against the Czechs and beat Slovakia more comfortable like the welsh did....oh and along the way put 7 past san marino....... and any decent manager would have got us those extra 7 points with the Czechs less 1 and then today we would still be 2 ahead of them and talking about last night as just a blip on the road to qualification....

and i really dont think im being too unrealistic with the results we should have got....im sayin we could have lost to Germany and Czechs away and still qualified

2,796 Posts
    when O shea picked up a knock he was very quick in re organising the team and for the last 15 mins ireland dominated, But he gets no credit for that .
    The reality is that the "reorganisation" you refer to was indeed very effective but it was the team (O'Shea for Kelly excepted - but they're like for like) almost EVERYONE was calling for. The squad was threadbare with few credible options from the bench so the change was forced upon him. We wasted nearly 40 minutes of the game due to his stubbornnes. He gets NO credit from me for that.

I actually thought Kilbane & Hunt on the LHS immediately restored balance to that side. You may have seen KK perform poorly at LB for Everton, but haven't we all seen him perform poorly in CM too?

I'd like to think there is some thought going on inthe FAi at the moment. In some ways the easy thing to do would be to sack Stan and that would keep everyone happy. But I'm not sure he should be sacked for 2 reasons:

How bad did we do? - It wouldnt have taken much luck for us to have got 4 points from the last 2 games. This is comparable performance to previous tournaments. I think after Cyprus we all felt we could be finishing behind Wales and also behind Cyprus. It's likely we'll finish 3rd. So there is some improvement in performance. A lo is made about the selecion he made but I think the only change most people would have made was Hunt for McGeady and there werent many calling for McGeady to be dropped before the game. What would Guus Hiddink have done?

What do we do if we sack him? - This is my big concern. Don't sack him to give someone else a managerial apprenticeship. That means dont sack him for Aldridge or Houghton. If for financial reasons or because the job is not that attractive that's the best we can do then we may as well stick with Stan. At least he has 2 years experience under his belt.

Al in all a depressing day, a campaign in whcih we never really threatened to qualify and 12 months until our next match of importance.

Why do we always qualify for tournaments halfway around the world?

USA 94 - Qualified

Japan/Korea-Qualified.

We never qualify for UK / Euro based competitions.

I heard South Africa is lovely.... cant wait

1,928 Posts
    FAI statement, we believe in Stan.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=2407

anto any further evidence, if some is required, of staunton's inability at this level is easily provided by the fact that he promised changes for the czech game due to the heavy pitch in slovakia. he then proceeded with exactly the same team in prague bar the enforced absence of stephen ireland. what do you say to that??
    zombie/thread killer..

“Like everybody else, the FAI is disappointed with the result in Prague but the performance offers a lot of hope for the future. Stephen, his backroom team and the players must continue the work they are doing".

A predictable response.

Time to step aside Stan. Do what Keegan did at England - hold the hand up and admit its time to go.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

We are putting more coaches on the ground to work on the development of the game and our players. The FAI is determined that we improve our success rate in qualifying for major tournaments but the required level of success is created by hard work and patience and not by waving a magic wand.

I say, forget about the hard work and commitment and lets get ourselves one of these wands. Surely that makes more sense?

Stan is learning though, it only took him a game and a half put the right team on the picth. Damage was done by then and 5 points were droppen.

I definetly would'nt leave him drive the train to Cork!!

Page 30 of 48 FirstFirst ... 20282930313240 ... LastLast