Page 37 of 48 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast

Thread: The Steve Staunton Discussion thread

this board reminds me of that monty python sketch, where they all sit round and complain and talk about doing something but never actually do anything.

There must be something that can be done. We shouldnt have to put up with this. We are becoming a laughing stock. that is the 4th ****ing game in this campaign that Stan has spouted the same **** after the match that we deserved 3 points. He also did it after both Czech matches and the Slovak one. His tactical knowledge is embarressing at times...............we dont deserve to put up with this. We have a manager that is one of the top 10 paid international managers in the world and yet i would have more trust in my old under 12s manager from my town

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    this board reminds me of that monty python sketch, where they all sit round and complain and talk about doing something but never actually do anything.
    hats the big big problem with Irish fans. I cant see anything coming from this because so few are willing to do anything, most are just talk

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Its killing me watching my hair fall out
    Ah I wouldn't worry about that....just get on to Stephen Ireland...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

75 Posts
    Im sick of all this media driven bull****.Its been going on for five years and where has it got us. Booing our own Managment,Players and Team even when they play well. I had to listen to Marion ffing Finucane and Ivan Yates talking through their respective asses yesterday morning about how great it was to see how "modern Ireland" is so great because some clowns in Croke park think they know better than everyone else.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

It was nothing like the booing at McCArthy during the Swiss match, but it could get worse if the Cyprus match turns into one of those boring slogs.

Most fans want Stan to quit but he is deluding himself into thinking it is only a small core of fans who are never satisfied. So booing him on Saturday might get it through his thick skull that we have had enough.

1,928 Posts
    Never have booed at any player or team manager in my life
    but to those who did boo Stan, you are all in very good company.
    "Lampard, whose recent international displays have been criticised by some, came on as a substitute against Estonia and was booed by a large group of England fans"

Im sick of all this media driven bull****.Its been going on for five years and where has it got us. Booing our own Managment,Players and Team even when they play well. I had to listen to Marion ffing Finucane and Ivan Yates talking through their respective asses yesterday morning about how great it was to see how "modern Ireland" is so great because some clowns in Croke park think they know better than everyone else.
    Not sure what way you are thinking here, but it sounds like you are happy with the current situation. Fair play to ye, but I just dont understand it or see where you are coming from at all. That match on saturdday meant nothing, for the last 5 years how many times have we done that? countless times to be honest, and it hasn't got us anywhere in 5 years. If we were any good we would be wining games like that 2 or 3 - 0, and we could be oh so good. The germans would have beaten us had they needed too, if we had to avoid defeat to qualify yesterday we would have lost. Its as simple as that. I am extremely angered and frustrated that a few jumped up monkeys who would have crap jobs and crap salaries if they werent working for the FAI staying on in power, and treating people who go to games who travel abroad and spend thousands on their team being treated like crap. And thats what it is, delaney going on about the fans staying behind in czech is a fine example of this, but yet the supporters dont have a proper spokesperson to come out in teh media and counteract this. Something needs to be done than just going on and being happy go lucky best supporters in the world.

has stan commented on it? has he been asked in public about it?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    See, I've never understood the arguement that he's not at fault, because he doesn't know how to manage.

A lot of posters here have said that if they were offered the Irish job, of course they'd take it.

Well, I wouldn't. The reason I wouldn't is because I know that I don't know enough about management to be a good manager, and the national place is not the place to start learning. If and when the results took a turn for the worse, it would be my fault as much as anybody else, because I took the job knowing this would happen, due to my lack of ability.

To blame Delaney for hiring his is correct also, but Stan made the decision to take the job, he wasn't forced, and he took it in the knowledge that he had never managed before in his life. He can be held responsible for doing that.

As for booing him, I think booing is an acceptable form of criticism.
    Exactly, great point. If Stan was an sort of a man he would realise he's not cut-out for this job and he would do the decent thing and resign.
    I would never advocate the booing of the players, thats the pits but the fans have a right to vent their frustration at a man who is jointly responsible for the demise of our international team. Delaney step up.
    Stan was a true legend as a player but surely he knows not one fan has faith in him as a manager.
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrtndvn View Post
    Same crap songs, same unloyal fans, same dubs, same problem!
    I assume you're a WUM, possibly even an FAI employee (which is a little paranoid, but they've earned it).

The people who booed Staunton went on to cheer for their team for 90 minutes. We made our point - it's possible to support the troops but oppose the war.

85 Posts
    It's not nice, it's a sad state of affairs on a man who served us so well as a player. and i didn't boo... BUT as a fan Booing has been reduced to the only medium. They (FAI) don't akcnowledge the media in any cappacity and clearly pay no attention to any attempts at correspondance. There has been clear deflection of any accountability on the part of the FAI for this situation..

"Irish fans exptectations are too high we. We don't have the squad we had ten years ago."

"That was disgruntled Dundalk fans"

"The media are going to drive players to retire early."

"The media are turning fans aginast the team."

And so on...

The actions and words from the fAI over the last year have been insulting to the inteligence of the Irish fan.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    - it's possible to support the troops but oppose the war.

That's it in a nutshell!!!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

75 Posts
    We had a damn good manager 5 yrs ago but thsoe delightful bunch of Bloodhounds tore him asunder because he offended the great red majority.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

112 Posts
    Was anyone else booing Mary McAleesse ?

Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Was anyone else wooing Mary McAleesse ?
    there...i corrected it for ya
    Bring back the plank

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias View Post
    he says he overheard them saying this...can he speak german?...fair play to him..a man of many talents....football management is not one of them
    Anyone familiar with "The Day Today"? The German finance minister anyone?

I'm actually not one of the ones who wants Stan out but I don't see any problem with people booing him.

I wasn't able to make the match, but if I were there and heard people booing I probably would have cheered. At least it would create a bit of banter.

Booing is what fans do/ it's like a part of our weaponry. As long as it's not secterian or racist I don't have a problem with it.

Maybe in the context of a question about his playing career it was a little ill-timed but some people are quite obviously very angry with the guy and he is the manager now not a player.

Quote Originally Posted by mattie View Post

Booing is what fans do/ it's like a part of our weaponry. As long as it's not secterian or racist I don't have a problem with it.

Maybe in the context of a question about his playing career it was a little ill-timed but some people are quite obviously very angry with the guy and he is the manager now not a player.
    is the correct answer
    Bring back the plank

131 Posts
    What has the world come to when you can't even boo a man who has dragged your beloved national team into football's dark ages while stubbornly refusing to admit he's nowhere near capable of performing the job he was tasked to do.

Page 37 of 48 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast