Page 18 of 48 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: The Steve Staunton Discussion thread

214 Posts
    we don't have the reputation nor cash to afford anyone decent so we will persevere with Stan until he shames us even further. Sad but true. O'Leary is no better. Bryan Robson would apply and maybe Kenny but that is it.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Any LOI manager would do a better job. ANY

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Stan is our version of Graham Taylor. I hate to say I told you so but even as far back as when we beat Sweden I was saying things were not been done properly.

Is anyone filming the squad behind the scenes? Because that would be comedy gold

Would almost make the whole sorry mess worthwhile
    SIGNATURESCOPE

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    I've voiced my disapproval to Radio 5 via the gift of email
    BBC radio 5 live? They read out an email from an Ireland fan on 606 last night. It started by saying England wouldnt be complaining so much about their manager if they saw how bad Staunton was/is. Was that you who wrote that?

Petition asking for the resignation of Stan

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/stanmustgo/
    "Goin down the Phibsboro Road " "Bohs til I die"

OOOOoooohhhhh, an online anonymous petition...

I have secured some media coverage for the petition and on Monday if there is over 5000 signatures I will make an appointment at the FAI with Media in tow and present it on behalf of all those who signed it.

So I urge you to sign it now and pass it on to others also !
    "Goin down the Phibsboro Road " "Bohs til I die"

131 Posts
    F*ck petitions let's bombard the FAI's mail server with p*ssed off emails asking for Stan's and Delaney's resignation. Maybe we'll get lucky and crash it.

Fair play to Dougdub. At least you're trying to do something. Everyone should sign it. Going down to Merrion Square to make a bit of noise mightn't do any harm either but it's important no one causes any trouble. Loads of noise but no aggro or language. You don't want it looking like a bunch of scumbags on the news. Then we'd have Delaney with his big alter boy head on him making a speech to Charlie Bird about how he won't be intimidated by a small minority of thugs.

no point-internet petitions arent work the pixels they're signed on
    I

Hard to take protests seriously when just a reaction to defeat.

A lot of people predicted the idiocy of appointing a former player who has no management & almost no coaching experience.

Staunton also said he would not have considered his position even if he had lost.

Will cost 2-3m+ to remove Staunton & his backroom team. Add another 2m if want to add Delaney to the package.

Yeah I'll sign it but have a feeling it won't really make a difference. Fair play to ye though, at least give it a shot.

Would like to get down to Merrion Sq at lunch but its a fair ould walk from the office and its bloody freezin outside!

Still not going to take up that ticket allocation (if I get it) - don't have the money to be throwing around on watching a bunch of over-paid players who obviously don't give a $hit about playing for their country....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

we don't have the reputation nor cash to afford anyone decent so we will persevere with Stan until he shames us even further. Sad but true. O'Leary is no better. Bryan Robson would apply and maybe Kenny but that is it.
    Aldo would have jumped at the job. And O'Leary has his faults but to put him in the same bracket as Staunton is ridiculous.

Hes a semi professional, like the FAI. Bunch of amateurs looking after professional people. In saying that some of the players should take blame for last night, Ireland & Finann apart no one else performed.

Bring back Mick!
    All is forgiven

Apologies if this has been posted already

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?...ldid=106416674

The Irish players are the amateurs.Time to let some professional domestic players and management in.

Staunton is Irelands answer to Les Reed,at least he realised he couldn't do the job at Charlton and stood down,Staunton should do the same and Delaney should pay the money to get a proper experienced qualified international manager that the players fear and respect,not some mumbling fool who handed out the bibs at training once and suddenly he fancies himself as the gaffer.SORT IT OUT DELANEY.
    MOT

2,284 Posts
    I was on RTÉ.ie there now and saw the sport headline, "Staunton relieved after last-gasp win". For a minute I thought he'd been relieved of his position, but no such luck.

Delaney's Wiki page.

Staunton - Just copy this

"I just felt that I fell short of what was required in the job. It's a massive job. Lots of the parts I was adequate with and some parts I did very well, but not in the key part of getting players to win football matches.
    "Tactically at this level, results will tell you that I have struggled. […..] So I always felt we had to start this qualifying tournament off well. I knew things were not right (in the first half) but couldn't find in myself a way of solving them I don't want people criticising me because they think I'm inadequate."
    "The fans did more than anyone else to get me this job and I think they felt after this game that it was the time to go."

"The first person I have to be honest with is myself. I have really enjoyed the job and it has been stimulating at times, but there is someone out there who can take it onto the next stage that [I] can't do.
    "They can be successful as the players are good enough and it is an exciting time with a lot of good young players coming through. It requires someone to pull it together in a different way to the way I have as I must be judged on results. My one regret is that I wasn't more successful.
    "I want to spend some time with my family now. They have always been my top team. Then I will think about my future. I wouldn't say I will never be involved in football again, just that I won't be at this level. I didn't want to outstay my welcome."

Kevin Keegan October 2000
    Together with all our hearts.

Good point, i said it on another thread. He would keep my respect if he said this. No doubt he will not. The legend status he had from his playing days have now been destroyed

Page 18 of 48 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast