Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: Barry Maguire

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wangball View Post
    You have a look at the above post too.....this sort of guff is nothing short of pathetic

Whats wrong with wanting the best players available/eligible to play for your country? Would you rather we sent out a team of cloggers from Finn Harps and Kilkenny to get horsewhipped??
    Relax yourself dude.I thought the tongue-in-cheek jibe at 'Irish culture' was funny. It's harmless, but not pathetic.

I haven't seen Maguire play, so I don't think I should sign the petition yet. He might not be good enough to play for Ireland, for all I know.

I am however, all for players born outside of Ireland, but with Irish parentage, playing for Ireland - if they're good enough and passionate about it.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Relax yourself dude.I thought the tongue-in-cheek jibe at 'Irish culture' was funny. It's harmless, but not pathetic.
    i agree - i thought it was hilarious!!

Wangball:
    get a grip and crawl back into whatever LOI thread you clawed your way out of, there's raffle tickets that need selling
    unnecessary, a quick look at the "LOI" people posting here will reveal quite a lot of them supporting "Maguire for Ireland".
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    If his first choice is Holland he should probably play for Holland. Ireland shouldnt be the "second choice" team even if we had to resort to that in the past.
    He is a dual national. He has the right to play for either Holland or Ireland..
    It is his football civil right.
    Barry can decide for himself what he wants to do. Both of his choices are perfectly legit, regardless of a possible current preference.

Funny stuff lads, honestly.

Lads, if Maguire wants to play for Ireland I'd be delighted, if he proves to be a good international player I'll be even happier.

Fact is, he's is well able to decide what country he wants to represent himself. He can familiarise himself with Irish culture in any way he sees fit...if he wants to, that is.

Petitioning him to play is embarrassing. Where is the pride in the jersey gone like? Personally, I think its depressing stuff.

Oh, and Wangball, this is an internet forum, people are going to disagree with it, get some manners and learn to deal with it.

After all, nobody is making you post here either. I'm entitled to my opinion, even if you disagree with it.

LOI jibe was out of order too, in keeping with the rest of your post though I must say!

Quote Originally Posted by joema View Post
    After all, nobody is making you post here either. I'm entitled to my opinion, even if you disagree with it.
    why arent we entitled to our opinion that a petition is the way to go? instead of you making people out to be pathetic when we clearly just want whats best for the team and will try anything to achieve that.

50 Posts
    LOI jibe was out of order too, in keeping with the rest of your post though I must say!
    Well I'd hate to disappoint you
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

253 Posts
    I honestly think anybody against the petition is just misunderstanding what we're doing.

When I read that a petition was started, I laughed it off, but once I read the actual wording of the petition I decided to sign it.

This is not an example of begging, but merely a welcoming invitation from (some) supporters. I think there's a difference.

Quote Originally Posted by richieos View Post
    why arent we entitled to our opinion that a petition is the way to go? instead of you making people out to be pathetic when we clearly just want whats best for the team and will try anything to achieve that.
    You are entitled to your opinion, I never said otherwise. Fact is, I disagree with your opinion, simple as that.

Oh, and I want whats best for the team too. Ever seen Maguire play?

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    I honestly think anybody against the petition is just misunderstanding what we're doing.

When I read that a petition was started, I laughed it off, but once I read the actual wording of the petition I decided to sign it.

This is not an example of begging, but merely a welcoming invitation from (some) supporters. I think there's a difference.
    I understand that. I just don't think it is necessary, in any way.

After all, the word "petition" does mean to request something. So, in this case it could be argued that ye are requesting that Maguire choses to play for Ireland.

Having said that, I understand what you mean. I just disagree with it.

Well I'd hate to disappoint you
    That's better. Good lad. Glad to see you've calmed down
    Last edited by joema; 21/04/2009 at 10:01 PM.

You are entitled to your opinion, I never said otherwise. Fact is, I disagree with your opinion, simple as that.

Oh, and I want whats best for the team too. Ever seen Maguire play?
    i've only seen a few clips of him, but thats completely irrelevant as all people are trying to do is let maguire know that he'd be appreciated. i dont care how good or bad he is, if he or anyone else is chosen to play for ireland i'll support them 100% and thats the reason i signed the petition

228 Posts
    We should just petition everyone who's eligible to play for Ireland then, just as a reassurance that we'll support them...

I jest.

i've only seen a few clips of him, but thats completely irrelevant as all people are trying to do is let maguire know that he'd be appreciated. i dont care how good or bad he is, if he or anyone else is chosen to play for ireland i'll support them 100% and thats the reason i signed the petition
    So in that case, how many other players have you signed such petitions for? Are you going to set up a few ones yourself?

Make a petition for me sure, and let me know that I'd be "appreciated" (seems a strange word to use - I normally appreciate the most talented players the most like!)

I'm pretty good anyway. I can show you a few clips.

Oh and send me on the link to those clips of Maguire so willya?

228 Posts
    I think this a clip of him playing : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCrnpJTJiuU&feature=fvst

(Brilliant song by the way)

253 Posts
    Actual clip of a goal:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=GB&h...eature=related

He has scored 6 goals in 66 games, not bad for a 19 year old defensive midfielder/defender.

So in that case, how many other players have you signed such petitions for? Are you going to set up a few ones yourself?
    how many half irish players is there playing on the continent who have never lived here?

the fact is, this petition was a nice idea, the lad is clearly struggling with his decision at the moment after rejecting the callup to our under 21 squad. This is simply a nice gesture from ireland fans to try and relieve some of the pressure on his young shoulders and let him know that we support him regardless of his decision.

i cant believe some of the posters on here would be so harsh as to dismiss something that was simply intended as a gesture of kidness and support to a young footballer.

2,796 Posts
    What's the downside of this petition?

The upside is obvious, if a little fanciful.

You have a look at the above post too.....this sort of guff is nothing short of pathetic

Whats wrong with wanting the best players available/eligible to play for your country? Would you rather we sent out a team of cloggers from Finn Harps and Kilkenny to get horsewhipped??
    What? I signed my name to the petition. I'd love if he played for us, and was good enough. Perhaps we could have an Ajax player(if he's good he might join them) for the first time since Stapleton(was it?)

I was just making fun of the 'irish culture' comment.

2,796 Posts
    I thought your take on Irish culture was quite funny. I frequently go to the Irish newspapers' and RTE's websites to see what's going on in sport and entertainment and I see nothing I wouldn't get on BBC. RTE's homepage gives extraordinary prominence to UK soaps.

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    What's the downside of this petition?

The upside is obvious, if a little fanciful.
    Exactly!

Well there's the argument that what is best for the national team in the short term isn't neccessarily best for Irish football in the long run, or even best for the Irish national team in the long run

As it is internet petitions in the sporting world are absolutely useless. Anyone who gets worked about them either way needs to rethink things. Completely harmless though

Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast