Page 5 of 19 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Barry Maguire

367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Ah would ye stop!!! If the lads were born and reared on the Island you'd be 100% right. But they're not.

He has a dutch mother, dutch friends, went to dutch schools and predominant exposure to dutch family so his natural affinity woul be that way and I wouldn't begrudge him that. However we should be building bridges with him and others like him to create something to counter that.
    If he wants to play with Holland that's all well and good, and I wish him good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Make these lads want to play for us.....
    That goes against the grain of what international football should represent.

Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    So what the hell are the Fai paying that clown for if he cant TRY to talk to the lad who is half Irish.
    You can read about his brief here

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...787862760.html
    Last edited by ifk101; 30/01/2009 at 2:01 PM.

1,912 Posts
    Saucy Jack posted

McCaffrey “held discussions” with Dutch youngster

February 8, 2007

Republic of Ireland youths boss Sean McCaffrey has revealed that he spoke with Dutch international youngster Barry Maguire about the possibility of representing Ireland.

Maguire, 17 and born in Holland, is a regular at first-team level for Dutch league side Den Bosch and made his under-18 debut for the Dutch AGAINST Ireland on Wednesday night.

He qualifies for Ireland through his Dublin-born father – and even donned the green for a friendly at under-15 level – but now looks destined to slip through McCaffrey’s net.

The Irish chief told the Irish Daily Star: “I had discussions with Barry about playing for us and I thought he was going to declare for Ireland.

“I’ve had scouts over to Holland to watch Barry play for his club and the reports were excellent. If he doesn’t want to play for us, that’s his decision and good luck to him

114 Posts
    I don't understand why they named him in the squad!

36 Posts
    There is another lad attached to 1 of the other dutch clubs callded Adam Maher beinf tracked

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    I don't understand why they named him in the squad!
    It's not that difficult.
    The FAI contacted him, he said yes.
    He then had second thoughts and pulled out.
    The second thoughts could have been inspired by any number of possibilities, himself,the Dutch FA, family, friends, club.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    It's not that difficult.
    The FAI contacted him, he said yes.
    He then had second thoughts and pulled out.
    The second thoughts could have been inspired by any number of possibilities, himself,the Dutch FA, family, friends, club.
    OK- it was not crystal clear that he said yes - the McCaffrey quote is certainly inconclusive - fair enough if thats the case.

1,912 Posts
    It is the most likely scenario, until proved otherwise.
    Barry says he has rejected an invitation to join up but postponed a final decision.

Sure the 2 year old McCaffrey quote is inconclusive.
    The McCaffrey quote is evidence that the FAI had watched him and approached him 2 years ago.

I know internet petitions are normally laughed at, but in this case it might be of some use.
    Send around a link to sign a petition offering the support of the Irish people to Barry Maguire if he would play for Ireland.
    Im sure we could get a good few thousand to sign it easily.
    Then get MusicinMouth to send it on to him.

I know Id be impressed if I got a petition with thousands of people asking for me to play for Ireland (Unfortunately Im not in the boots of a young talented footballer).
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

Quote Originally Posted by bawn79 View Post
    I know internet petitions are normally laughed at, but in this case it might be of some use.
    Send around a link to sign a petition offering the support of the Irish people to Barry Maguire if he would play for Ireland.
    Im sure we could get a good few thousand to sign it easily.
    Then get MusicinMouth to send it on to him.

I know Id be impressed if I got a petition with thousands of people asking for me to play for Ireland (Unfortunately Im not in the boots of a young talented footballer).
    I for one would not be signing any such petition. We should'nt have to beg a player to play for us. Most Irish people would give their right arm to play for Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by colster View Post
    I for one would not be signing any such petition. We should'nt have to beg a player to play for us. Most Irish people would give their right arm to play for Ireland.
    Agreed. As I've said before, if he was English-born everyone would be against begging him to play for us. I don't see why it's different because he's Dutch.

I still think there's a reasonable chance he'll turn out for us though.

Quote Originally Posted by colster View Post
    Pretty much agree with that, he's eligable for us, he eligable for the dutch, he has been asked. If he feels more Dutch than Irish - no hard feelings and wish him all the best

Punta Arenas, Puerto Montt & everywhere in between
    37 Posts
    i'll imagine he'll wait till just before his 21st birthday if he chooses to play for ireland, as it'll come down to whether or not he believes he will be good enough to regularly make the Dutch senior squad when he gets older.
    "U've figured how to work the Google on the internet machine"

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Pretty much agree with that, he's eligable for us, he eligable for the dutch, he has been asked. If he feels more Dutch than Irish - no hard feelings and wish him all the best
    Totally understand where ye are coming from, I think I phrased things badly.

I suppose I just meant the petition as a show of the support he would have in Ireland. Its unlikely that he would get such support in Holland and I thought that could be the deciding factor.

I guess I would give anything for the team to be successful and he sounds like a player with great potential.

20 Posts
    Internet petitions are not worth the paper they're printed on.

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Internet petitions are not worth the paper they're printed on.
    Neither would sending an email to a guys bebo website you would think.

646 Posts
    Hey musicinmouth, if you have the time get onto this lad

Paddy John

He was born in Liberia, and has Dutch nationality but he's clearly a Paddy.

Ok, so there is an article in the Sunday Times about Barry Maguire... sounds like Don Givens messed up again... he promised Barry that he would still be able to switch back to holland if he played for our U21 team up to the age of 21... that wasn't true as you can only switch once... Givens insisted he was right, when he was not... He did something similar with James McCarthy recently... The article mentioned that Givens believes he has a lot of admirers for not taking any nonsense from players... It also mentions he has been manager for NINE years and we have slipped to fourth seeds in the U21 competitions...

Barry Maguire is too good a player for us to miss out because of Don Givens.

It sounds like Barry would really like to play for us - I have a really strong impression that that is the case...

It's very frustrating that Givens seems to be so reckless with the young players... I don't understand how he is still the manager...

Petition is up. Not sure if I got the wording right - even the word 'petition' is regrettably inadequate - as people have written above I don't want to be seen to be begging anyone, but rather than do nothing I would like to let the guy know that there are an awful lot of people here who hope that he does declare for us.

http://www.petitiononline.com/lysaghtb/petition.html

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by musicinmouth View Post
    He did something similar with James McCarthy recently
    After we played Portugal Givens went on record as saying he had thought that had tied McCarthy to Ireland. How a guy in his position isn't aware of the rules is astonishing.

Givens' influence on Irish international football, underage and senior, is causing damage.

How on earth is he held in such high esteem?

462 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TerryPhelan View Post
    Petition is up. Not sure if I got the wording right - even the word 'petition' is regrettably inadequate - as people have written above I don't want to be seen to be begging anyone, but rather than do nothing I would like to let the guy know that there are an awful lot of people here who hope that he does declare for us.

http://www.petitiononline.com/lysaghtb/petition.html
    I think a Don Givens to be removed might have more success as a petition.

Page 5 of 19 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast