Page 4 of 19 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Barry Maguire

and he could shut lightning bolts from his aaaahhhhhhrse.

Well done MIM. How did you acquire his email address though?!

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by musicinmouth View Post
    Thanks everyone.

A few weeks ago I contacted Barry Maguire. I said that I didn't know if the FAI had been in contact, but I just wanted to let him know that the Irish fans are really hoping he might consider playing for us. He indicated that he would be interested... but that he hadn't heard from the FAI... so I wrote to John Delaney, who let me know that my e-mail would be followed up on... I got replies from Wim Koevermans and the Director of International Football Operations last week... Everybody was very positive and friendly... Mr. Koevermans let me know that he had been finding it difficult to get in touch with Barry, but that he had now made contact and Barry was indeed very interested in playing for us... and that I could cheer for him in the U21 game against Germany...

So hopefully he will play for us - I am sure it must be a hard decision to make. I'm glad that he's been called up now. It would have been a shame if he had never been asked. We can't afford to lose quality players like that.

I'm also really looking forward to seeing James McCarthy. I think our U21 team sound very strong now.

Fair play mate, excellent work.

But it begs the question what are we paying Koevermans for if he finds it difficult to get in touch with a player playing in his native Holland and you managed it with apparent ease.

Delighted to see him called up, hope he's one for the future!

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    The Future's Bright. The Future's half green / half Orange.

Sorry.

Well done Music...
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

Well done Music!!

Can you email this guy Sean Rooney down under :-) ..

apparently he is eligible

http://www.theherald.com.au/news/loc...c/1383232.aspx

hehe .. well done again.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    and he could shut lightning bolts from his aaaahhhhhhrse.

Well done MIM. How did you acquire his email address though?!
    He was on Bebo of course....jaysus paul get wit da times man

Well done Music man - in years to come I can see you telling a yarn or two about how you backpacked to deepest darkest holland in search of the missing Paddy known as McGuire and singlehandedly you carried him back to the emerald isle on your back..........
    Last edited by Junior; 29/01/2009 at 12:43 PM.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    Well done Music!!

hehe .. well done again.

When I first read it I thought it read Sean Cooney. Not a player I ever had the fortune of seeing tog out at Finn Park but he achieved new heights when it came to been pure pish.

Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    Well done Music!!

hehe .. well done again.
    Someone in the comments section said he's Wayne Rooney's cousin, wonder if there's any truth to that.

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    Not a player I ever had the fortune of seeing tog out at Finn Park...

Try this next time maybe

26 Posts

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    Jesus keep that to yourself will ya.... If Trap sees any of our center midfielders going forward and scoring goals he wont pick them!!!
    Its really not that complicated!!!

574 Posts
    Over on eleven-a-side.com people are saying that Maguire has declined the invitation for the time being. Can anyone confirm this?

On a serious note, I'm surprised this thread didn't make the papers, i.e. a fan contacts an eligible player, gets positive response and suddenly he's in the squad. Great story. On another note, wtf were Delaney and the management team doing while all this was going on? And Brady is really starting to get on my t*ts. First of all talking about recruiting Kyle Naughton after he was called up by the England U-21's and now this. What a pleb.

72 Posts
    http://www.telegraaf.nl/telesport/vo...land_af__.html

Rough online translation

UTRECHT - Barry Maguire van FC Utrecht has rejected an invitation for the Irish selection under 21. The middenvelder wants continue play provisionally for the Netherlands.

„I remain provisional for Oranje game, thus Maguire, which a Dutch and Irish passport has. „Moreover do not mean this that I will play never for Ireland. Only the choice to end up definitively for a another country then the Netherlands, I have postponed. The middenvelder played already interlands for Oranje under 18 and under 19.

36 Posts
    Cant say I blame the guy at all. It really is comical the way Brady and co have handle this and Naughton .Ben Stiller couldnt write a funny satire. Thats him gone now as the Dutch will call him in to their under 21 section.

367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Cant say I blame the guy at all. It really is comical the way Brady and co have handle this and Naughton .Ben Stiller couldnt write a funny satire. Thats him gone now as the Dutch will call him in to their under 21 section.
    What exactly have Brady and Co. done or not done???

36 Posts
    Brady came out with a statement saying that Naughton was as good as in a green jersey while 2 days before hand the lad was in the England squad, That dutch clown that work for the Fai "could not get in contact with Maguire "...Are you joking here...They are all a pack of lazy money grabbing wasters

367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Brady came out with a statement saying that Naughton was as good as in a green jersey while 2 days before hand the lad was in the England squad, That dutch clown that work for the Fai "could not get in contact with Maguire "...Are you joking here...They are all a pack of lazy money grabbing wasters
    If these lads wanted to play for Ireland there wouldn't be any problems.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    If these lads wanted to play for Ireland there wouldn't be any problems.
    Ah would ye stop!!! If the lads were born and reared on the Island you'd be 100% right. But they're not.

He has a dutch mother, dutch friends, went to dutch schools and predominant exposure to dutch family so his natural affinity woul be that way and I wouldn't begrudge him that. However we should be building bridges with him and others like him to create something to counter that. D'ye know what.. The more I think of it an off the cuff mail recieved from a fan he never knew he had representing a group of people (us) wanting him to represent our country may have gone some way to counter it too...

Make these lads want to play for us.....
    Last edited by dr_peepee; 30/01/2009 at 1:51 PM.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

36 Posts
    So what the hell are the Fai paying that clown for if he cant TRY to talk to the lad who is half Irish.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Ah would ye stop!!! If the lads were born and reared on the Island you'd be 100% right. But they're not.

He has a dutch mother, dutch friends, went to dutch schools and predominant exposure to dutch family so his natural affinity woul be that way and I wouldn't begrudge him that. However we should be building bridges with him and others like him to create something to counter that.
    Agreed. And he's not saying that he definitely won't play for Ireland.
    He's 19 and playing a friendly against Germany at this stage of the season,(for a numpty like Givens) is not going to benefit him personally or career wise at this stage.

Direct from FC Utrecht website
    [LEFT]
    FC Utrecht midfielder Barry Maguire is not available for the Irish team under 21. "I remain provisional for Orange play," he says in a comment.
    Barry Maguire is in the possession of two passports, one Irish and one Dutch. He was this week by the Irish Association called for the international practice of the Under 21 team against Germany. "I have been whether it would still be a choice for or Orange or the Irish team. After easily have thought, I decided not to accept the invitation, "said the midfielder. "Moreover it does not mean that I am never going to play for Ireland. Only the final choice for a country other than the Netherlands to arrive, I postponed. "

Maguire has played an international agreement with an Irish jeugdteam, but he came out for Orange Under 18 and Under 19.
    [/LEFT]

Page 4 of 19 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast