Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: Why do Ireland fans....

Your selective arent you, the line before stated that as long as a person does not cause trouble then each to his own.

Are you just reading bits of the post and then using it to debate, are you a politician cause you seem like one using the parts that support your arguements and disgarding the rest?

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    That doesn't make either of ye more, or better, of a football fan. Both are fans of the game, both choose to display their allegiance in different ways. One is not necessarily better than the other.
    Live and let live.
    Woo Hoo The truth is out there

Quote Originally Posted by ainsie View Post
    Your selective arent you, you politician. you like arguements

i think you'll find a lot of people on here act like politicans - who said the art of discussion was dead!!

Your selective arent you, the line before stated that as long as a person does not cause trouble then each to his own.

Are you just reading bits of the post and then using it to debate, are you a politician cause you seem like one using the parts that support your arguements and disgarding the rest?
    I can't quote what you've quoted in your post.

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Woo Hoo The truth is out there
    Take no notice of Tets. He's just in a weird place, ever since his team collapsed.

You seriously need to get a life.

You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.
    Your probably one of those who hangs your flag from the railings in your holiday apartment in the costa to make you more irish.

As someone said above you not have to support the EL to support ireland, thanks god because I dont know what I'd do then. I suppose I'd try as I know you have to take s**ty medicine to get better.

As for the flag issue, each to their own as long as they dont cause trouble.
    I dont even wear a scarf, I go I shout I support, thats it.

Ahh feck it why am I getting so riled up...
    Quality stuff and I need to get a life? This post invalidates everything you will ever say in future. Go back to sky sports sonny.

You probably are one of those knobs who brings his leprechaun suit and plastic hammer to the costa.

Thanks for coming.

Ouch, an intelligent answer, oh come on surely you could do better than that. Calling me a knob.

What do you mean

This post invalidates everything you will ever say in future
    I gave an opinion. Yours was a well worn out rant,that we'll see in the next arguement and the next and the next. Why dont you just cut and paste. At least I tried to back up my opinion up.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    He shouldn't have gone on national television, telling everyone about it so then.

Not an ounce of fact in your little rant.
    The FAI have only just taken over the running of the league, for the first time in its history. You'd have known that if it was on Sky Sports though, I suppose.
    Rubbish and blind rubbish at that. The FAI are the Football Association of Ireland, thats what it stands for son see. They are the administrators of the game in this country, thats their job. If the merge is only happening now then thats their problem. They've managed to make a balls of this game for 50 years now. If you think that the administrative body for football in this country is free from blame then you're deluded boy. Its their job, they haven't done it.

And it doesn't matter who Keith Wood told its still none of your business as to what you think 'his' dreams should be, thats why they're his not yours, can you get your head around that.

Ouch, an intelligent answer, oh come on surely you could do better than that. Calling me a knob.

What do you mean

I gave an opinion. Yours was a well worn out rant,that we'll see in the next arguement and the next and the next. Why dont you just cut and paste. At least I tried to back up my opinion up.
    Read the topic of this thread. It is about flags. You came on and started a rant about "second rate soccer" and Rovers being "a farty little club" which is pathetic.

And I need to get a life? So yes your original rubbish invalidates everything you will come up with because you are a WUM who cannot debate.

Found your rattle yet?

Quote Originally Posted by Nailer77 View Post
    And it doesn't matter who Keith Wood told its still none of your business as to what you think 'his' dreams should be, thats why they're his not yours, can you get your head around that.
    keith wood, in his capacity as a pundit on television, stated his 3 sporting dreams as a youngster. it is brought into the public domain. not a secret little dream or secret that is being 'outed' on this forum.

grow up.

it is embarassing, that an irish man would rather score for an english team in their national cup final than score a goal or represent his own country. he had 3 dreams - one for rugby, one for soccer and one for GAA. the 3 biggest team sports played on this island. one of them involved representing a team from another country - why not his own. BTW i'm not having a dig at wood here just the general impression given off by a lot of people in this country who seem to bow down to those accross the water when it comes to soccer and then profess undying love of their own in the international arena.

can YOU get your head around that?

would every one calm down...we'll be grand...we're good in march anyway.....

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    would every one calm down...we'll be grand...we're good in march anyway.....
    It's actually in todays paper giving the statistics of when we get the most wins and March was actually the highest with a 58% success rate.

What's sad is that Staunton must have actually researched that before saying it in an interview...he really was clutching at straws

thats an understatment! had to laugh but also felt a bit sorry for him when he made that comment!

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Take no notice of Tets. He's just in a weird place, ever since his team collapsed.
    I've been in a weird place a lot longer than that boyo
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 15/02/2007 at 2:00 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    Looking forward to hating CCFC again and a few trips to the Cross this year. In fairness the Kilcoyne Our Hero banner was good.
    The finest creation my backgarden ever did produce

Very much looking forward to hating Rovers again too, all that clapping ye off to the first division love in stuff is so passé

I can handle 2nd G fans putting their local club on a tri-colour (around our trips in Europe some English City fans even had St. George's flags with Cork City FC written on them) but companies doing it is shockingly poor taste IMO.
    Oh no not them again

ainsie: if you're not a follower of 'second rate soccer' (sic) why do you support the Republic of Ireland? How could that bunch of useless micks ever be worthy of your fantastic support?

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    keith wood, in his capacity as a pundit on television, stated his 3 sporting dreams as a youngster. it is brought into the public domain. not a secret little dream or secret that is being 'outed' on this forum.

grow up.

it is embarassing, that an irish man would rather score for an english team in their national cup final than score a goal or represent his own country. he had 3 dreams - one for rugby, one for soccer and one for GAA. the 3 biggest team sports played on this island. one of them involved representing a team from another country - why not his own. BTW i'm not having a dig at wood here just the general impression given off by a lot of people in this country who seem to bow down to those accross the water when it comes to soccer and then profess undying love of their own in the international arena.

can YOU get your head around that?

What are you? The thought police? It might be embarassing for you, its not for me and not for most reasonabily minded individuals. Thats what Keith Wood wanted, he's entitled to think as such not how you want him to!

And if someone wants to support and English club let them, it doesn't make them any less of an Irish fan, especially given that the vast majority of those representing the international teams ply their trade for those very same english clubs. Would it better if they went to their local teams? Yes course it would, doesn't make them any less of a national team supporter, despite what you'd like to think. The game in this country is in dissaray, I still go out of principal but to say otherwise is blind and therefore I can understand the negative attitude towards the game here.

What are you? The thought police? It might be embarassing for you, its not for me and not for most reasonabily minded individuals. Thats what Keith Wood wanted, he's entitled to think as such not how you want him to!

And if someone wants to support and English club let them, it doesn't make them any less of an Irish fan, especially given that the vast majority of those representing the international teams ply their trade for those very same english clubs. Would it better if they went to their local teams? Yes course it would, doesn't make them any less of a national team supporter, despite what you'd like to think. The game in this country is in dissaray, I still go out of principal but to say otherwise is blind and therefore I can understand the negative attitude towards the game here.
    The reasons people put forward for not supporting Irish clubs all exist in relation to the national side - so why do people support Ireland but turn their noses up at the notion of supporting Irish clubs?
    As for Keith Wood, well he's entitled to his dreams. The simple fact is that Irish football is off the radar for most Irish people, and his choice merely reflects that reality.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post

grow up.

it is embarassing, that an irish man would rather score for an english team in their national cup final than score a goal or represent his own country. he had 3 dreams - one for rugby, one for soccer and one for GAA. the 3 biggest team sports played on this island. one of them involved representing a team from another country - why not his own.
    If Wood had said he'd dreamed of e.g. winning the Wimbledon final, would you be embarrassed at his not preferring to represent Ireland in the Davis Cup?

He was a kid who dreamed of playing in an FA Cup Final, just like kids from all over the world. I think it's you needs to "grow up".

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    The reasons people put forward for not supporting Irish clubs all exist in relation to the national side - so why do people support Ireland but turn their noses up at the notion of supporting Irish clubs?
    As for Keith Wood, well he's entitled to his dreams. The simple fact is that Irish football is off the radar for most Irish people, and his choice merely reflects that reality.
    Yeh thats fair enough and its a damn shame that people turn their noses up at domestic Irish football but thats the way it is and its been that way for some time largely through the fault of the administrators of the game in this country. Now they have to make it attractive again, its their job, they ballsed it up and now they need to get it right. You can't just expect people to go 'oh well I'll stop supporting United/Liverpool/Leeds etc and watch Rovers/Shels/Bohs because you or I think its right. People have seen how badly things have been screwed around and lets be honest, this business with Shels isn't exactly good press now is it?

I'd love nothing more than to see 15,000 at games around Ireland each week, it'd benefit the country as a whole in so many ways but I'm not going to admonish people who choose not to support it because frankly its not difficult to become dissillusioned with how the game is run in this country.

You can't just expect people to go 'oh well I'll stop supporting United/Liverpool/Leeds etc and watch Rovers/Shels/Bohs because you or I think its right.
    Fair enough point but if these same people support Ireland that makes them hypocrites.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast