Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Why do Ireland fans....

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    You appear to be unable to differntiate support for the Irish National Team and supporting Irish Football as a whole entity, I agree that they are intertwined but they it's possible to do one without the other, there are lots of EL supporters who don't care about the national team.
    That seems to only exist in Ireland, where the culture of football support is understood by few but purported by many.
    This is evident nowhere more than at International games, when sterile atmosphere emanates from the thousands who've gone there to be entertained, Sky Sports style.

I've already said to you that very few eircom League fans stick their club name on an Ireland flag. Having said that, Cork City FC has supplied more players to Ireland teams, in recent times, than Chelsea, that's for sure! We don't strive to imply some tenuous link between our clubs and our country. We don't need to. Everyone know's we're Irish.

This is an old argument and divides people roughly into those who have never had to deal with emigration and those who have.
    Búllshít. lived in london for 6 years and in the states too. never would i write the name of any british team on an irish tricolour. if you want to show you are irish just bring a tricolour to the match but why do you want to do that anyway? you are going there to support your favoured club not to support ireland or as a promotion of your own irishness!

chelsea or spurs or any of these lads do not represent ireland and therefore why do you want their names on our flag?

how ridiculous would a union jack with cobh ramblers written on it look!
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 14/02/2007 at 2:28 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    how ridiculous would a union jack with cobh ramblers written on it look!
    They'd get away with their traditional name though, Queenstown Ramblers!

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12 View Post
    Exactly,so you can't start knocking Irish supporters who have followed an English team and Ireland all their life and are maybe in an Irish branch of the teams supporters club and want to put thier club name on a tricolour.It's been going on for years and it will go on for years because it's no big deal except for a small minority of people who like a good ol whinge,and theres plenty of them knocking around Ireland these days.
    fair enough dublin12 but i found it embarassing that keith wood stated he had 3 dreams as a boy; to play rugby for ireland, play in croke park and score in the FA CUP FINAL!!! why not play for ireland or score for ireland?

our most senior politican (a dub) is a man utd supporter and a portion of our internarional supporters have british clubs sprawled all over our national flag.

do you not see a problem with any of these?? are we irish?? is our national team representing Ireland or is it representing Britain??

You cant say they are no longer your team just because you live abroad. A club is for life no matter what the circumstances.
    You seriously need to get a life.

You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.
    Your probably one of those who hangs your flag from the railings in your holiday apartment in the costa to make you more irish.

As someone said above you not have to support the EL to support ireland, thanks god because I dont know what I'd do then. I suppose I'd try as I know you have to take s**ty medicine to get better.

As for the flag issue, each to their own as long as they dont cause trouble.
    I dont even wear a scarf, I go I shout I support, thats it.

Ahh feck it why am I getting so riled up...

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ainsie View Post

You have some nerve ,does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.

As someone said above you not have to support the EL to support ireland, thanks god because I dont know what I'd do then. I suppose I'd try as I know you have to take s**ty medicine to get better.

Agree with this except the bold part. Eircom leagus is a real league, not a great one, but a real one.

ainsie thinks that by following a foreign club and sticking their name on an Irish flag, that he's somehow a better supporter. The truth is, you and your ilk don't understand football and can't follow the National League because it's not spelled out for you on Sky Sports or on the back pages of a tabloid.
    We don't care who you "support" because it's your life to waste, but don't think that displaying the name of some foreign club, at International games, will get you any respect from the people who drive the game in Ireland.
    Thankfully, my travels around the world have given me the ability to see just how good I have it at home.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    ainsie thinks that by following a foreign club and sticking their name on an Irish flag, that he's somehow a better supporter.

I disagree. I think his opinion is that it doesnt make you a worse supporter.

Your probably one of those who hangs your flag from the railings in your holiday apartment in the costa to make you more irish.
    Actually he hangs his SRFC flag at the World Cup with his real English football following mate
    MOT

You seriously need to get a life.

You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs. I have lived away from this country and am now back and have travelled the world supporting the Irish Team( the team where most of the players play in real leagues) and will continue to follow them, but your assumption seems to be that if a person does not have any interest in second rate soccer and decides not to pay his hard earned money to watch a second rate product he is not a true supporter.

Ahh feck it why am I getting so riled up...
    On that basis then have you given up supporting Ireland.Because what the produced in San Marino was some way off even being second rate

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I disagree. I think his opinion is that it doesnt make you a worse supporter.
    Back to the original argument, what's the point having Chelsea on an Irish flag? Looks like someone just trying to draw attention to themselves, if you ask me.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    fair enough dublin12 but i found it embarassing that keith wood stated he had 3 dreams as a boy; to play rugby for ireland, play in croke park and score in the FA CUP FINAL!!! why not play for ireland or score for ireland?

our most senior politican (a dub) is a man utd supporter and a portion of our internarional supporters have british clubs sprawled all over our national flag.

do you not see a problem with any of these?? are we irish?? is our national team representing Ireland or is it representing Britain??
    Its not really any of you business what Keith Woods dreams were as a kid!

Football in England had more exposure and as such football in England has a greater presence even in Ireland. The faults of the EL are of the FAI's own making so tough ****e really. And although the team is supposed to be representing Ireland the fact is that nearly all of our players come from British clubs and as such to a degree we are representing Britain, like it or not. In an ideal world our own league would be good enough but the FAI have managed to **** it up for so long that unfortunately people are turned right off and now they have SKY to switch their minds off to. Its a pity but thats life. And I'm an EL supporter but I don't think anyone supporting a British club is any less of an Irish fan, I can understand why they do it but they could still make the effort at home in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Nailer77 View Post
    Its not really any of you business what Keith Woods dreams were as a kid!
    He shouldn't have gone on national television, telling everyone about it so then.

Quote Originally Posted by Nailer77 View Post
    In an ideal world our own league would be good enough but the FAI have managed to **** it up for so long that unfortunately people are turned right off and now they have SKY to switch their minds off to.
    Not an ounce of fact in your little rant.
    The FAI have only just taken over the running of the league, for the first time in its history. You'd have known that if it was on Sky Sports though, I suppose.

That seems to only exist in Ireland, where the culture of football support is understood by few but purported by many.
    This is evident nowhere more than at International games, when sterile atmosphere emanates from the thousands who've gone there to be entertained, Sky Sports style.
    I've already said to you that very few eircom League fans stick their club name on an Ireland flag. Having said that, Cork City FC has supplied more players to Ireland teams, in recent times, than Chelsea, that's for sure! We don't strive to imply some tenuous link between our clubs and our country. We don't need to. Everyone know's we're Irish.
    I have always watched local football wherever I've been, jesus I even went to a game in South Africa which is not for the faint hearted I 100% agree that supporting your local team is the best and most enjoyable way of supporting football.
    I disagree that the differentiation bettwen supporting a national team and supporting an entire footballing structure is unique to Ireland,
    Australia was virtually identical until they repackaged their local league. I know loads of club fans in England who felt no affiliation to the national side(especially during the Sven years) they consider themselves supporters of football but not England.

You have some nerve , just because you support some farty little club with no ground (hopes to get one from the County Council) does not give you the right to judge other peoples clubs.
    Ah, the glorious sight of of that not-so-rare species the olé olér throwing his leprachaun-shaped rattle out of his Italia 90-themed pram. I salute you.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

I disagree that the differentiation bettwen supporting a national team and supporting an entire footballing structure is unique to Ireland,
    Australia was virtually identical until they repackaged their local league. I know loads of club fans in England who felt no affiliation to the national side(especially during the Sven years) they consider themselves supporters of football but not England.
    I'm talking about the reverse. There are plenty National League fans who don't throw away money on the National Team. What I'm talking about is people who run down their National League, while throwing money at foreign teams and claiming to be love the game.

Here's the difference. They're Ireland Fans and I'm a Fan of Irish Football!

3,501 Posts
    I'm talking about the reverse. There are plenty National League fans who don't throw away money on the National Team. What I'm talking about is people who run down their National League, while throwing money at foreign teams and claiming to be love the game.

Here's the difference. They're Ireland Fans and I'm a Fan of Irish Football!
    That doesn't make either of ye more, or better, of a football fan. Both are fans of the game, both choose to display their allegiance in different ways. One is not necessarily better than the other.
    Live and let live.

ainsie thinks that by following a foreign club and sticking their name on an Irish flag
    Can you read, on the flag issue I said
    I dont care about flags, I just care that the team I support wins.

Back to the original argument, what's the point having Chelsea on an Irish flag? Looks like someone just trying to draw attention to themselves, if you ask me.
    First of all why would I want to bring myself to your attention.??
    Secondly its not me that brought up the whole "if you dont support Eircom league " your not a supporter issue.
    And my last point was on the original argurment, that as long as they dont cause trouble then who cares how they support.

The truth is, you and your ilk don't understand football and can't follow the National League because it's not spelled out for you on Sky Sports or on the back pages of a tabloid

Read my mail, I cant be bothered, dont care, dont give a s*it, dont care if its shoved down my neck. and your ILK are too narrow minded to let other people have any other opinion than yourself. I respect people who support the EL because aint got much to support and they keep on doing it.

We don't care who you "support" because it's your life to waste, but don't think that displaying the name of some foreign club, at International games, will get you any respect from the people who drive the game in Ireland
    I dont!!, read my post...geeezz

Thankfully, my travels around the world have given me the ability to see just how good I have it at home.
    But not made you less norrow minded.

Lastly, this is a forum, a forum is a place by defenition where people can voice their opinion, and that is mine above, good luck with yours.

how ridiculous would a union jack with cobh ramblers written on it look![/QUOTE]

Wouldn't ANY flag with "Cobh Ramblers" on look ridiculous?

I dont care about flags, I just care that the team I support wins.
    Then perhaps you shouldn't have posted in this thread. After all, that's what it's about.

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast