Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Why do Ireland fans....

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by magic moments View Post
    are u sure? is it not the ivory cost flag??
    I think it is. The guy who puts it up is a legend tho. A dyslexic legend but a legend none the less.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fingal hoop View Post
    I think we should all chip in for a "davey keogh is a muppet" flag
    I reckon you should stick it on a tricolour, then watch as some arteries pop

both of your senses of exclusionism amaze me. I will bow out of this one as i have no reserves of vitriol and bitterness that you lads obviously posess in bucketfuls.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

"I think we should all chip in for a "davey keogh is a muppet" flag "

"I reckon you should stick it on a tricolour, then watch as some arteries pop"

ah feck , you made me laugh there !!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Next time I'm at an international, I'll deface a few tricolours for the sake of the league

Quote Originally Posted by Fingal hoop View Post
    I think we should all chip in for a "davey keogh is a muppet" flag
    What next? A foot.ie flag? Oh wait

And while I'm at Mick Byrne is just as much a national embarrassment.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    What next? A foot.ie flag? Oh wait

And while I'm at Mick Byrne is just as much a national embarrassment.

You scoff but unfortunately you never leave.....

Guy I know went to the Kop in his Ireland jersey, couldn't understand for the life of him why people were giving him abuse. Got into loads of rows but lucky not to be on the receiving end of a few beatings I reckon.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

There was some idiotic bird trying to find the Chelsea flag at the match, being directed by some mates back home in the boozer. Don't know who's worse. Suppose now isn't the time to admit to nicking an Everton tricolour in Basle a few years back and dumping it in a bin.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Flag with "Davy Keogh says give us a lift from San Marino"
    heh heh

Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    There was some idiotic bird trying to find the Chelsea flag at the match, being directed by some mates back home in the boozer. Don't know who's worse. Suppose now isn't the time to admit to nicking an Everton tricolour in Basle a few years back and dumping it in a bin.
    Now this man is a legend! Brilliant. Hope you had a vicious dump on top of it too

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    The word Chelsea on an Irish flag? Devo would turn in his grave. Surely this should be a capital offence.

I'm going to get some Union Jacks and write the Mun, the Bock, Tallah and the Queen's German on them and fly them at the next England game.
    Youngirish, just how young are you? 'Coz I feel your showing your age.
    But with your attitude you should probably fit in with the contingent of England fans you're trying to upset!

Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years , as irish supporters go he is a legend.
    are YOU davy keogh?

i thought he himself was the only person on the planet who thought he was a legend!!

anyway,

as for names on flags, english club supporters were the first to do it in the 70's, AFAIK, when supporting their club. liverpool fans would write 'Liverpool' on a jack...etc. then the supporters would bring these flags to the international games. started a kind of fashion.

why or why does someone need to write an english club name on an irish flag? what is the purpose?
    why even bring a tricolour to stamford bridge, old trafford, highbury...etc the clubs are in no way irish and do not identify themselves with irishness.

and as for bringing a flag with an english club crest or name to an irish international??

i personally don't agree with the tricolour being defaced at all but i can understand it when an eL club is represented or if the place you are from is identified. but as for the chelsea,l'pool, man u tricolours

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Not advocating that either but it's easier to comprehend.
    I've always believed that the lack of an emblem on the Irish flag, was facilitating the problem.
    If the state crest was on it, it would be more unique and less likely to be defaced.
    The Spanish and Portuguese flags are classic examples.
    You never see them defaced!
    With Spain, they put the same stuff on but do it to flags without the crest. Best one of the World Cup was the big Spanish badgeless flag with 'Bilbao' on it. It's like the tricolour at Euro 88 with 'Coleraine'.

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    has anyone noticed now at chelsea games some **** can be seen waving the irish falg behind the goals

i think no british teams should be on the flag, its ireland your should be supporting, not some bloody british team that you have no connections with
    I think it's an Ivory Coast flag too. Makes some sense. Bit dangerous bringing either to a Chelsea game I'd have thought.

Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years...
    B*ll*cks. He wasn't in the Faroes.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    are YOU davy keogh?

i thought he himself was the only person on the planet who thought he was a legend!!...
    I've heard he has a little clique goes around with him. In Macedonia '99 - a game he did make - someone interuppted him, and his bodyguard said: 'Shuddoop....Davy's tarkin''.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

I didnt read all of the thread, but im sure its just for the craic lads, having your own flag made, and it looks better on the irish flag than on a plain white one.......

But yes, i do agree it is disrespectful.
    Cmon County!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by magic moments View Post
    are u sure? is it not the ivory cost flag??
    ha, actually never thought of that! just wouldnt be surprised if it was a thick paddie though

Whatever about Chelsea, there is always an Irish flag at Spuds matches.

Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post

he he, whats it with you with flags and away trips?? first erverton then Delaney out??
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

well lads i have read some tripe on some forums in my time but this beats all.
    Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years , as irish supporters go he is a legend. This is a very poor thread started by psuedo-patriots.
    What, Moi???

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    B*ll*cks. He wasn't in the Faroes.

Or Finland.

I've heard he has a little clique goes around with him. In Macedonia '99 - a game he did make - someone interuppted him, and his bodyguard said: 'Shuddoop....Davy's tarkin''.
    And the clique he has are as bad as him if thats possible. Direct qoute from the clique in Liechtenstein the first time to Cliftonville fans there: "Lads why dont ye support northern Ireland?"

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast