EDIT
Garda Club Booked out
Open To Suggestions Folks
Not a serious meeting anyhow, more a meeting of minds![]()
The idea was to have one once a month so the next meeting will take place on 16th of Febuary in the Garda Club time to be confirmed.
Items up for discussion will basically be up to those attending
A chance to elect a comittee for the year
Another chance to get involved
Come on Folks![]()
EDIT
Garda Club Booked out
Open To Suggestions Folks
Not a serious meeting anyhow, more a meeting of minds![]()
I suggest the STILL HOUSE![]()
I'll get my crippled self there, but as I'm on a case of 5 different types of medication at the moment I shan't be able to join in the drinking, although you all may look at that statement in hindsight as a bit of a blessingAny ideas on the venue so lads?
Lads what's the venue, 16th is tomorrow night.......
Just wondering, what has happened to this committee I volunteered myself to?
I presume there's no meeting tonight, as I have received no notification.
I think it is bad that a whole month has passed since the last meeting without anything being done.
No meeting was confirmed for the 16th, lack of replies of interested parties for the 16th was maybe why it didnt go further, we do however need a meeting to iron out a few details regarding the commitee and such, im sure it could be done in any public house and wouldnt need a hall such as the "agents of the state's" playhouse. Im suggesting Wednesday 21st or Monday 26th, any other suggestions on times,dates,venues and what suits you?
Do Something so..............
Spot OnNo meeting was confirmed for the 16th, lack of replies of interested parties for the 16th was maybe why it didnt go further,
Couldn't agree morewe do however need a meeting to iron out a few details regarding the commitee and such
Whenever suits folks..........
I volunteeered myself to be on this committee at the meeting in the Garda Club (now one month ago). This committee, as far as I am aware, has not met yet. This, I think, is a bad situation. (I'm sorry if I've upset anyone for expressing my view on this.) But surely the way to convene a committee meeting is to use the contact details given at the previous meeting, suggest a time and place, and based on person-to-person responses, make any necessary adjustments. However, somebody has to take responsibility for convening the meetings. I would suggest that initially this should be the person holding the list of contact details (this apparently is not the person I initally thought it was).
I had expected to receive a phonecall/text/email sometime during the week following the meeting to organise the first committee meeting. But I have never been contacted about any meeting (tentatively suggested or otherwise). Having occassionally looked in on this forum over the last two months or so as a guest, I didn't think I would have to resort to signing up for an account here in order to get involved in the committee I put myself forward for at a meeting that actually happened in the real world! I have been involved in many committees in my time, but this is the most bizarre method of organisation that I've seen since my involvement in the students' union in UL nine years ago.
In my opinion, committee meetings should not be organised over some public web forum, but by direct communication between the committee members (preferably by phone, since you can't guarantee that people receive texts or emails immediately). So, can the person with the list please do a ring-around to find out when is the best time and date for a committee meeting. Once that's sorted, it's just a matter of deciding which pub to meet in.
I would also suggest that someone decide unilaterally the location (democracy doesn't really work here - as everyone says I don't mind and everyone has a different preference). Redron's points are very valid IMO.
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
Although im not directly involved in the SC this year, the Supporters Club COMMITTEE will meet an hour before club launce at a venue (for them to decide) At the club launch, the SC will be taking new memberships. A full meeting will then be called (by them) a week or two later in our new clubhouseCommittee members shall be notified by e mail or text at the latest tomorrow.
Indeed you didI volunteeered myself to be on this committee at the meeting in the Garda Club (now one month ago). This committee, as far as I am aware, has not met yet. This, I think, is a bad situation. (I'm sorry if I've upset anyone for expressing my view on this.) But surely the way to convene a committee meeting is to use the contact details given at the previous meeting, suggest a time and place, and based on person-to-person responses, make any necessary adjustments.
If you listen to everyones input on a meeting place than you get even less done then we have so far
Democracy good not always
Muggins here picks the list up on the way out the door and he's somehow responsible??However, somebody has to take responsibility for convening the meetings. I would suggest that initially this should be the person holding the list of contact details (this apparently is not the person I initally thought it was).
I'm a (relatively) busy man these days
I of course pm'ed you my phone number if you wanted to text and sort something out. Can't ring because my phones speaker only works periodically. Ask gael.......I had expected to receive a phonecall/text/email sometime during the week following the meeting to organise the first committee meeting. But I have never been contacted about any meeting (tentatively suggested or otherwise).
Now rather than make any contact with me you'd rather come on here all "militant". Fair Enough but it's not very productive now is it.........
Foot was used to put out feelers because surprise, surprise many of the above mentioned comittee post here. If they're not interested in a meeting than frankly it's pointless going ahead with one.Having occassionally looked in on this forum over the last two months or so as a guest, I didn't think I would have to resort to signing up for an account here in order to get involved in the committee I put myself forward for at a meeting that actually happened in the real world!
Explained my phone situation above, why would I have given you my number if I had no intention of getting back to you??In my opinion, committee meetings should not be organised over some public web forum, but by direct communication between the committee members (preferably by phone, since you can't guarantee that people receive texts or emails immediately).
Hour before the club launch in the Greenhills. Will text around all the "comittee" members tomorrow should I stumble across a fiver for creditSo, can the person with the list please do a ring-around to find out when is the best time and date for a committee meeting. Once that's sorted, it's just a matter of deciding which pub to meet in.
Anyways you'll be pleased to know that after said meeting I shall be washing my hands completely of all SC business save the most mundane of tasks. The amount of whinging, moaning and bitching that has gone on with absolutely zero in the way of positive action, suggestion, idea etc is quite quite frankly as soul destroying as it is to be expected in any comittee
Trevor Beacom
John Devane
I salute you
Obviously two far more tolerant human beings than I could ever hope to be![]()
Lads, what's the big rush with a committee meeting? I can't wait to see what certain posters on here have to offer at the next meeting cos they're calling for meetings like there's no tomorrow
The football club is only being launched on the 28th Feb. The SC have already got our committee in place, all there is to do is confirm key positions in that committee and then elect a rep to liase with the club. Also a discussion on what direction the SC will take this year. Having our meeting on the 28th is plenty of time, having one before then would make little or no difference. What's the big rush? Unless of course some of ye have huge ideas that need bringing to the table asap?
Lim till i die, take no notice.......
Last edited by 4tothefloor; 19/02/2007 at 10:24 PM.
Maybe I'm getting all worked up over nothing, but I think that the SC can play an important role in the building of the new club (whether or not it has a full voting seat on the board). The club itself seems to have been working flat out for the last few weeks in pulling everything together. I just thought that by likewise preparing and organising ourselves, us supporters could play an important supporting role in helping the club find its feet (eg. having a significant presence at the official launch).
While individually supporters can play important roles in helping out the club, in the long run, I think the best way for supporters to help the club is by building up the supporters' club. How best to do this is a matter for discussion. But rather than waiting, and then being under pressure to decide on a certain course of action, I thought that early preparation (by the committee at least) would allow for more thorough discussion, with proper time for consideration of options, and therefore better decision making than often happens under the pressure of impending deadlines. In other words, if we have some time, we should use it wisely, rather than squander it.
Any criticisms I have of the way things have been done are merely my opinions on these matters, and not personal insults. I have no grudges against anyone here, or anyone who is or has ever been involved in the SC (not yet anyway). I wish I had taken gombean's advice, and signed up here sooner (but the internet is at least as addictive as the telly, and I don't want to leave myself open to getting sucked in
).
This is madness.
I am forming my own breakaway supporters club. I will call it the Judean Peoples front... or the Peoples Front of Judea.. either way works for me.
Last edited by Poloman; 22/02/2007 at 12:43 PM.