Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Wexford Youths in

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    The name is their own business - what did the begrudgers want....Strawberry Fields Forever FC????? Boolavogue Celtic?????????? Ferryport Rovers?????????
    Good news for the league. Sh!t name. Stating that does not make you a "begrudger"...

As for "what did the begrudgers want" regarding names - you've had obvious and sensible suggestions already on this thread. Like Wexford Town or Wexford County. But I guess they wouldn't have let you craic your little joke about "Strawberry Fields Forever FC"....

Good to see the league encompassing a completely new territory. I do hope that Wallace isn't going to just continue putting most of his focus on the youth teams, and then just treat the senior team as a new destination point from there. If he makes that mistake they will do nothing in the league, fail to create a fan base, and generally struggle.

Also think they've missed a trick by sharing team colours with Athlone, rather than using their county ones, but can understand why he'd want the senior team to match his other sides.

Looking forward to seeing TV coverage of the first Wexford game !

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paudie View Post
    Also I heard he is Juventus season ticket holder and Juventus is Latin for "Youth".
    Ah forgot about that... hope they make a name for themselves. All black eh? anything's better than their county colours, yellow and purple, the worst county colour combo apart from Carlow.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    the worst county colour combo apart from Carlow.
    Works for Ghana..... !

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Ferryport Rovers?????????
    Not a bad name IMHO

Way to get the Ref on your side - wear his colours

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    430 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AustinoAsprilla View Post
    Any ideas who'll they sign up for this season? Will they start with a selection from the Wexford Youth team they have? Or will just play Shels home and away to keep it fair?
    I posted the preliminary squad here before. It's all local players. Think 4 with some Eircom league experience, almost all played for Wallace Youth teams.

[QUOTE=dcfcsteve;617725]Good news for the league. Sh!t name. Stating that does not make you a "begrudger"...

As for "what did the begrudgers want" regarding names - you've had obvious and sensible suggestions already on this thread. Like Wexford Town or Wexford County. But I guess they wouldn't have let you craic your little joke about "Strawberry Fields Forever FC"....

Steve:
    Sorry my proposed names were not to your taste & just not as sensible as Town or County - I guess I'd feel the same if you entered the league as landonDerry City -

Good to see the league encompassing a completely new territory.

AFAIK, the League only encompassed new territory when they admitted your boys - still not sure how Finn Harps feel about it?

Also think they've missed a trick by sharing team colours with Athlone,

Think Athlone wear the same home kit as Inter Milan i.e. Black & Dark Blue vertical stripes - not what is worn by refs or currently by Wexfod Youths.
    Still - don't let the facts get in the way of your "superior" posting.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Good news for the league. Dont see anything wrong with the name. At least it is different and as someone has pointed out Young Boys Berne.

Fair play to Wallace for putting money into this rather than some crap english club.

Lets hope they get a website up and running. Are there any pics of their ground?

Though I dont envy Wallace in dealing with the FAI/EL.

He's builder/developer, I'm sure he's used to dealing with clueless cowboys.

BTW I applaud the fact they've chosen different colours to the GAA team

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Dont see anything wrong with the name. At least it is different and as someone has pointed out Young Boys Berne.
    What is this notion that, just because an average team in Switzerland have a similar name to 'Wexford Youths', that somehow makes it less of a silly or peculiar title for a senior football team in Ireland to choose ?

Why not 'Wexford Stanley' then ? Or 'Wexford & Diamonds' ? How's about 'Wexford Orient', 'Wexfordonians' or 'Wexford Caldeonian Thistle / Wexford Hibernian Shamrock'........?

I still reckon the name will be changed in the first 2-3 seasons. Football is all about money and support, and key to that is the image and marketability of a club. A name like 'Wexford Youths' for a senior team just won't cut the mustard in that regards.

Quote Originally Posted by paudie View Post
    Also I heard he is Juventus season ticket holder and Juventus is Latin for "Youth".
    That only makes it worse!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    What is this notion that, just because an average team in Switzerland have a similar name to 'Wexford Youths', that somehow makes it less of a silly or peculiar title for a senior football team in Ireland to choose ?

Why not 'Wexford Stanley' then ? Or 'Wexford & Diamonds' ? How's about 'Wexford Orient', 'Wexfordonians' or 'Wexford Caldeonian Thistle / Wexford Hibernian Shamrock'........?

I still reckon the name will be changed in the first 2-3 seasons. Football is all about money and support, and key to that is the image and marketability of a club. A name like 'Wexford Youths' for a senior team just won't cut the mustard in that regards.
    I gave that as an example.

Bit of advise: when someone gives an opinion that you do not agree with try not go berserk like so many of your postings that invariably but not surprisingly end up in the rubbish section.

As for other names why not contact the man himself? I'm sure he has a lot time to deal with someone like you..........

Bohdiddley the anti juve site is sad and smacks of minnowism.

Funny thing is that Steve used examples that are an exact part of another clubs name. Last time I checked 'Young Boys' and 'Youths' were slightly different.

Slight differences can be important, expecially with names

L'Derry???

Serious congratulations to all of those involved with Wicklow football.
    And you really have to take your hat off to Mick Wallace. FINALLY an Irish businessman with some real financial clout willing to invest in our league, and he's gone one better in my book, by starting it up from scratch and in a place that was crying out for some development.

If there is a heaven Mick Wallace will be being served drinks by those Irishmen who have invested in Man Utd, Sunderland, Peteborough, Carslile etc

Now for the next big plan...The Carlow Rastas

Serious congratulations to all of those involved with Wicklow football.
    And you really have to take your hat off to Mick Wallace. FINALLY an Irish businessman with some real financial clout willing to invest in our league, and he's gone one better in my book, by starting it up from scratch and in a place that was crying out for some development.
    that must be the most ironic post i have ever read.

yeah good luck to the Wicklow Youths!!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Bohdiddley the anti juve site is sad and smacks of minnowism.
    I don't know about that, I just think it needs a few adjustments

DEAR FOREING GUEST…

…thank you for visiting Antishels.com.

You might be wondering how in Ireland such a huge number of people can’t stand Shelbourne.
    It’s not something you will understand in a minute or two- it takes a loooong time for Irish people to know how things go in this crazy thing we call “the eircom league”.

And once we understand, there are those who choose to win, no matter how - and they normally support Shelbourne - and those who prefer to be “against”, even winning a lot less than Shelbourne, but with the pride of being fair.

We have decided to be against.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Exactlly what is wrong with the name Wexford Youths?
    Newells Old Boys in Argentina is another similar to the Berne one, I think it's good to see something different.
    As for the Wexford & Diamonds comment, if you'd done some research the name Rushden & Diamonds came about because 2 teams were merged, Rushden & Irtlingborough Diamonds by Max Griggs (owner of Dr Martens) to create a new club to satisfy his ego as his other business's failed he pulled the plug and they have dropped from the 3rd tier of English football to the 5th and are now battling relegation to what would be virtual disaster.

There's nothing wrong with it, some of us just think it sounds crap. I don't know why, it just does. Others disagree. Its no big deal...

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maynard View Post
    Now for the next big plan...The Carlow Rastas
    I like that one though! Isn't the Carlow kit huge in Cameroon or something?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    I like that one though! Isn't the Carlow kit huge in Cameroon or something?
    Every other year there's always a motion put to the Carlow County Board to change the counties colours...always gets defeated!

They are the Rasta County! (an gContae Raistefearach!)

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast